We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous family safari experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashnil Samburu Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous family safari experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here (two adults, two children aged 10 and 15) for two nights as part of the Somak Cheetah safari. Everything was just about perfect - our welcome into the camp, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, the accommodation, the peaceful setting and the brilliant wildlife. There aren't many better views from a hotel room than giraffes, elephants and baboons! Rooms were comfortable, clean and well-equipped, with great views of the river and opposite bank. Food was good and varied, public areas very comfortable and the staff very welcoming and friendly, particularly to the children. Game drives were great - loads of elephants, giraffes etc, plus a leopard. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetS02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    73
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
71
151
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everyone was so friendly and helpful, we all agreed that they were the most friendly staff we have ever come across in any hotel, and we have traveled a lot to many places and hotels. They really went out of their way to meet our needs and make us have a great stay. They work very hard and they make the difference between a pleasant hotel stay and a place that you want to return too! You can see a lot of wildlife right outside the tents too. The tents were clean and spacious. It is a very nice place to stay in Samburu.

Room Tip: We went to a Masai village nearby and it was worth it to have the photos of us dancing with them and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Loved both the camp and the park. As soon as we checked in we opened the curtains to see an elephant facing us! Food and staff was great, room was lovely and clean. Saw a leopard on our way in too! If you're going to Samburu then this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Ashnil Camp is a super place as centre for the game safari in the Samburu park. The accommodation is super, the people are friendly and helpfull. The food is good and very enjoyable. We enjoyed our stay there. Certainly a place to go back. Good things do not need many words.

Room Tip: All rooms are situated with view over the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pekrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh,NC
Level Contributor
312 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here for one night after spending a week in Maua, Kenya visiting AIDS orphans as part of a church mission trip. The Camp is amazing. The staff is very warm and friendly. I stayed in tent # 12A. They use this number instead of 13. It is about a 4 minute walk from the lobby/restaurant area. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was amazing. I was there during the last week of July and it was very windy at night so the tent roof kept blowing up and down. If you are a light sleeper this may wake you quite a bit. The food is very good at the restaurant. We ate dinner and breakfast there. We had a private driver for our safari drives which was amazing.

Room Tip: Most of the tents face the river. Some are set towards the reserve. River views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family and I travelled to samburu after a night at The Ark hotel.
Ashnil Hotel....what can I say...a beautifully designed and very comfortable hotel with fantastic views from your bed and also from the pool. We had a herd of elephants watching us swim ;).
The staff were helpful and the food delicious.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to go to samburu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aamena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the Ashnil Samburu Camp for 2 nights on our Somak Cheetah Safari and were stunned by how luxurious our "tent" was. The accommodation is wonderful and the pool is beautiful. The restaurant and food was excellent with a small A la Carte Menu the first few meals, served at our table and then buffet on the other occasions. The camp was right by the river which had a resident herd of elephants who spent the day splashing about in the river. The camp also has resident monkeys who do not bother you but will take advantage of anything left lying around, (including my morning toast from my breakfast table) There is a staff member with a catapult but sometimes the monkeys are quicker. The accommodation does have a tented roof so therefore it can be a little noisy in the night if the wind gets up but for us it all added to the experience. Fantastic Camp would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samburu National Reserve
3.2 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
13.1 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
5.7 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu
Sentrim Samburu
#13 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sekenani Camp
Sekenani Camp
#66 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashnil Samburu Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashnil Samburu Camp

Property: Ashnil Samburu Camp
Address: | Buffalo Springs Reserve, Samburu National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Samburu District > Samburu National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Samburu National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashnil Samburu Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashnil Samburu Camp sits in Buffalo Springs Game Reserve which takes its name from an oasis of crystal clear water at the Western end of the reserve. It is separated from samburu National Reserve by Ewaso Nyiro River and is less hilly and dense yet equallly very attractive. After a gruelling game drive you can take a dip in our pool which is a wonderful viewing deck of the Ewaso Nyiro River and laze around in the calm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ashnil Samburu Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashnil Samburu Camp Hotel Samburu National Reserve
Ashnil Samburu Camp Kenya/Samburu National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing