We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury but keeps you grounded.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Dream of Africa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Diamonds Dream of Africa to your Saves list
Diamonds Dream of Africa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Casuarina Road | P.O. Box 68, Malindi, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Malindi
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxury but keeps you grounded.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a week here. We took our 9 year old with us. He is pretty good with just a pool/ocean to swim in so if your children need a kids club maybe think twice as the hotel next door Sandies was shut so no kids club at all this time of year.
Firstly in was low season there so at the very most there was only ever 20 ish guests while we were there. However the staff could not do enough for us. A la carte for lunch and dinner and a beautiful breakfast as well. Room cleaned daily, evening turn down service. The room was huge as was the bed. Fully equipped with TV, tea/coffee, hair dyer, safe, air con, towels and toiletries. The outside veranda had 2 sun loungers and a wooden table and 4 chairs. Remembering this is a poor part of the world it's not 5 star European but it is defiantly 5 star in Kenya. There was lime scale on the taps in the bath, the bathrobe had a little hole in it but so what, it didn't impact on our stay.
The outdoor space is beautiful the pool not overly big but warm and 20 meters from the beach/Indian ocean. Pool towels provided every day. Palm trees everywhere a real paradise.
There are beach boys that others have mentioned on here but so long as your firm and polite they leave you alone but to be fair to them, a lady we met from a couple holidaying there went to the beach boys/girls huts to shop with me (so 2 women) and although it was a bit daunting they where actually lovely and we had good fun trying on all the sarongs and handbags. The guard at the stepped entrance from the resort knew where we were but to be honest there was no need to worry. They sell some lovely wooden craved
animals and all manner of other things.
We did a day Safari whilst there called the Red Elephant Safari. We returned the same day we left and saw more than some people who had done 3 days safari. Please don't think you can't safari if you don't book before you go as you can book it all over there with your first choice rep. We wish we took stuff for the locals. There is a lot of poverty there and if we go again we will take sweets, pencils, paper and toothpaste/ toiletries for the locals. When someone asks you to trade a t-shirt for a wooden animal you know they don't have much, trading happens during the low season as they will take anything they can get for their wears but not so much in the high season so we were told. We loved it there not only was it paradise it also made us very humble. TIA DOA,the Harrisons. X

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pipmonster71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hull, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned home from the first of our two planned trips to this amazing hotel this year, and as always we have had a perfect holiday. From the moment you step into the reception at the hotel to the moment you leave, you can be sure of first class treatment from each and every member of staff who cannot do enough to ensure a truly memorable holiday. A special mention this year to Roxy and Giuseppe who were managing the hotel in the absence of Alan;they did an exceptional job, and were present every day to ensure the smooth running of the hotel, and took time to spend with the guests.

This hotel offers a perfect retreat for those who want to be able to relax and enjoy the wonderful location in plush grounds, and luxurious accommodation, with great food, and company, nestled on the Indian Ocean, and "away from the crowd". The hotel also has a superb spa for those who like to be pampered.

We will continue to return to this hotel again and again, and can't wait for or next trip in October this year.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieHull_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malindi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The resort has an amazing team of Staff who are always out and willing to listen to you, The service right from the reception, Restaurant, Rooms, Beach is absolutely amazing. The Mvua spa is one of the best, the Gym is well equipped and at the sea front, the boutique is well stocked with variety of latest items on it's shelves, the Garden is ever green and healthy.

Room Tip: The Suites especially S 2 is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodgersVele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This resort was absolutely amazing. The staff was the friendliest we have ever encountered, and went out of there way to make our stay very very special. They organised for us to have dinner on the beach and we saw all the preparation happen. From guys climbing the palm trees for the palm leaf gazebo to raking the beach before dinner. We were able to do a lot of excursions and prices were very affordable. I will recommend this resort to absolutely anyone.
The only negative I had is that the people walking up and down the main beach tries selling stuff over the edge and it becomes a bit irritating after a while.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zamildp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We drove around Malindi looking for a good spa...by luck we ended up here.I got the opportunity to spend at the mvua spa..was a lovely experience. calming serene environment and the beach volleyball was interesting. definately will use the spa again. also Samuel (pool attendant hope I got his name right...dressed white in shorts) was an interesting chap....please make the cappuccino glass bigger?!

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maithya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is an hotel called / titled small luxury hotel of the World.

it is to me a very very very very tiny luxury as can be a 2*, we had a 1 week stay and everything went wrong from the begining.

the Receptionist is unprofessional, reading news paper or playing with mobile phone, you feel like you embaressed to disturb them as they even dare look at you

Room clean and spacious but obviously not renovated, scratched taps,loosing painting jacuzzi outlets, noisy AC, unefficient Fan, snatched mosquito net...

empty buffet room, huge room but small food ,the set a la carte is terrible, always potatoes and pasta, service to the minimum, difficult to get a sincere smile, you can feel theysmile as they only expect tips, you even have to call them to get served.

Bartender unprofessional, always speaking behing the bar with an other staff while you have to wait for your drink for more than 20 minutes outside. And still when you have to go yourself to the bar to ask the ordered beverage you feel again disturbing them...

it is an AWFULL feeling to be a guest, and feeling disturbing the staff every time you ask something. they do not come to you , you have to go to them, you might undestand when the hotel is full staffs are busy but as a waiter said there was only 30% occupancy and staff still not find time to pamper their guests

Wooden beach loungers are extremly old and damage, beach boys so anoyng that you have to stay at the pool, because they never keep calling for morning to late evening, the only time you enjoy the beach is night time or high tide.

what makes me sad and very sorry for this property, is that there is no one to control, supervise or check the staff, i felt they were on their own, i did not have the chance to have a word with the manager in a week. A bit of management could change the place.

Room Tip: none of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Willy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned home from our second trip this year, and were not disappointed. The staff make the whole experience truly one to remember and just make us want to return again and again for more.

It was good to see that on this occasion were were many "repeaters" which must prove that this hotel lives up to it's name.

Special thanks to Alan, Timothy, Dolla, "Sir Chiko", Josphat, Moses, Raphael, Denaice, Vincent, to name but a few, but we not forget the GM, Bruno without whom the place would not be the same.

All of the staff are attentive, and nothing is too much trouble for them to make e holiday another to remember.

Although on this occasion the manager Daniella had left and was missed by us, the service continued to be second to none.

From the beautifully appointed rooms, to the lush tropical gardens overlooking the Indian Ocean, it is all you could wish for to escape from the mundane and live the dream.

We met some wonderful friends, and hope to meet up with them again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard, but our preference is a ground floor room as these have thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggieHull_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malindi
0.4 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#5 of 27 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tamani Jua Tao Resort
Tamani Jua Tao Resort
#13 of 27 in Malindi
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#1 of 25 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
Sandies Tropical Village
#10 of 27 in Malindi
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#4 of 27 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds Dream of Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Dream of Africa

Address: Casuarina Road | P.O. Box 68, Malindi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Malindi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamonds Dream of Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a resort where the enchanting power of nature blends in with the exotic style of the Indo-Arab buildings to offer you a mesmerizing charm, which in Swahili, is called "bembeleza". Sit in the Balinese chaise lounges on your room terrace and listen to the sound of the wind rustling the palm trees, enjoy the music of the waves and let your heart dance in silence: your Dream of total relaxation has finally come true. Chose to dine on the open air terrace or inside the air conditioned restaurant, overlooking the swimming pool or at the a la carte restaurant serving a selection of seafood menus on the beach. Endowed with a centre of Thalassotherapy, a beauty centre and a gym with spectacular view on the ocean, the Dream Spa is the ideal place for the restoration and the maintenance of global prosperity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Diamonds Dream of Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Hotel Malindi
Dream Of Africa Malindi
Dream Of Africa Hotel
Diamonds Dream Of Africa Malindi, Kenya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#