We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautful, relaxing Ritchie House with the best...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ritchie house

Arrival
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arrival
Garden Veranda downstairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Arrival
Garden
Veranda downstairs
Front view
The beach at the end of the garden
Swinging bed
Bedroom downstairs
dinning area
Veranda seating area
Upstairs bedroom 1
Upstairs veranda
Stairs to ground floor
Francis the cook
Side View
Sun beds, garden and view to beach
View east from house and garden
Sunrise
Morning walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Malindi, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate09201...
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
“Beautful, relaxing Ritchie House with the best team ever to look after us!”
Reviewed October 25, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Fabulous stay again, looked after by Francis, Richard and Salim. The garden was more beautiful than ever and the gate down to the beach means it is so easy to go and enjoy the cool pools and beautiful sea. The children enjoyed spending time with Francis in the kitchen cooking up delicious meals, and the house is so relaxing for reading on the terrace with a cool breeze and a wealth of books to choose from on the shelves. We did a very easy and lovely trip to Gedi and Watamu, in a car hired from very helpful and efficient Salim and Ali (Vivienne provided their contacts). Enjoyed trips to great restaurants in Malindi town and on the beach. Thank you for another lovely holiday, we will be back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara H
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A week in paradise ”
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We spent a week here in December in this gorgeous house right on the most beautiful beach in Malindi. The house itself is simple yet very comfortable with everything you might need for a coastal holiday. Fully staffed and fully equipped. Kitchen, drinks area, laundry etc.

With 5 bedrooms we had lots of space to spread out and choose from. The three ground floor rooms are quite small with a connecting room (one en suite and the other two have a shared full bathroom with a bath tub, a separate loo and a separate shower room). The ground floor rooms are all air conditioned. There are two large airy bedrooms upstairs with ceiling fans and a shared bathroom and walkway balcony. There is also access up to the flat 'Lamu style' roof, great for star gazing on a clear night!

The living area is beautifully decorated with hardwood furniture, coastal paintings and local fabrics. There is an open sided sitting room with a veranda and an alfresco dining area.

The staff are fantastic. Francis (the cook and main man of the house!) is brilliant and cooks simple unadulterated fresh food. He can also help source and order seafood (fish, crab, prawns, calamari, octopus) which are delivered to the kitchen door. He also got us the most amazing raw honey from some hives nearby! Richard was the second house help and waited on us hand over fist ensuring we were taken care of. He also kept the house spotless, made beds, did the laundry and so much more. Justice, the gardener kept such a beautiful garden. He was always tending to the plants, filling up the birdbath (that attracted the bull bulls and starlings daily) and kept the rockery looking gorgeous.

There is no swimming pool here but the property is right on the Marine Park beach with a natural 'cool pool' perfect for lazy paddling and kids literally right in front. At mid and high tide the ocean is great for swimming - you can swim out for miles just off the beach! The beach got quite busy over the weekend and on a public holiday but even so always found a quiet spot away from the masses. During the week there was not a soul in sight for much of the day.

Vivienne, the owner was so informative and helpful throughout the booking process. She has a fabulous set up here and has trained her staff brilliantly - they really know the meaning of quality discreet service. The price is also very reasonable for what you get.

We literally could not fault anything here...... absolutely perfect and we really hope to have many more stays here in the future. Thank you Vivienne and your great team.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubanski
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Perfect house for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a great house in a fantastic location, right on the beach, with a lovely garden and nicely furnished. The staff are excellent and we were looked after perfectly. Francis the chef has a great repertoire of dishes and you will not go hungry! Great for disconnecting!!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonyparks
1 review
“An Idealic villa right on the beach”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A breathtaking property with beautiful ocean views. Clean and comfortable with all amenities needed for home life and vacation life: hot water, refrigerators, stoves, dishes and cutlery ...on top of beach chairs, a hammock, white sand beach property just past the beautiful garden. The staff is sweet and available to help. Our chef cooked us the best tuna steaks we'd ever eaten (from a fish we caught that afternoon). They make beds, tidy up, set mosquito nets, and place refrigerated drinking water where needed. All 5 of us felt like we were in a dream during a our entire stay at this rental. Our expectations were met and exceeded. We hope to come back here again very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan N
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Essence of Malindi”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Vivienne's Villa was a slice of coastal Bliss.
Her staff were exemplary to say the least in making sure our stay was the best it could be. The beach is so close you can almost taste the salt in the air and the calming waves are music to sleepy ears. The rooms were comfortable and the place is kept very clean.
The villa is in a rather private and casuarina neighbourhood which as fantastic for us.
Vivienne maintains an impressive collection or books which you can pick up and read
The rooms also have working AC for the night heat which made the nights quite pleasant.
I would come again and again and again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing