We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gee, what a winter getaway”
Review of Scorpio Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scorpio Villas
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Malindi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2012

A week in December on the seaside of warm Indian Ocean. Mmmmm... Was good. Bungalows are lovely, clean , with AC and ceiling fans.Garden and swimming pools - lovely. Wifi all over the place. Service is x-friendly, witty, helpful,smiling. - thank you guys , ! Drawbacks: just two: some problems with availability of "all inclusive" drinks at one bar in the evening. And no credit cards accepted. Otherwise - paradise. Not for those loving night life, though. Book readers, lovers, drink sippers - this is your cup of tea. Food was abundant, great mix of sefood-indian-italian-grill. Excursions? Use Geoffrey at the beach entrance for safari - a must and awesome experience,Go 2-day Tsavo East either Geoff or with Dickson, boy these guys know it all. And talk to them. Try big game fishing too (eg Lady Nana) do not hesitate to take smallboat for two instead of a big one. They get sailfish equally often :) Hotel shops: probably best offers in town, ask the seller for anything you want and they get it for you next day. Shopping was fun,too. Last but not least : would I go back there ? O yeah, any minute. And I will. For delicious lamb somosas, griled calamari and chcnce to catch a marlin .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JumboCalamari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
There are newer reviews for Scorpio Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 474 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed there for one week, and overall it was a nice place. They don´t have many rooms, so it is really a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. Mostly there have not been more than 5 people on one of their pools at the same time. The food is really nice, you can feel it is a place runned by Italians, who take care about food culture. Especially on weekends it is nice - they even have lobster or king prawns, included in the price. Everything - the garden, the pools, the paths and the rooms are quite clean (besides an ant street in the room, but that is something you have to bear while staying in Kenya). Beach is easy to reach and very nice, besides the beach boys who can be a little bit disturbing, but again - this is something you have to expect staying in a tourist area like Malindi.
But there also have been some downs: pool towels were not easy to catch, there were two days where we couldn´t find any (it seemed the poolboy was already off duty...or out for lunch) and the other days we had to wait at least 25 - 45min to get a towel, only on two days we could get towels immediately. That is a little bit poor service for a hotel in this category.
Also the water pressure in the rooms is very very poor, I have been living before in Kenya and I also have been staying in other Hotels, because my job brings a lot of travelling, but this water pressure was the poorest I ever experienced, maybe they want to save water?
I also never experienced that the room boy is complaining, because you are in your room. But that happend - it seemed he was disturbed by the fact we asked him to come again in 15min, because when he knocked the door, to do the service, we have been preparing for the beach.
And what I also disliked - i think it has already been mentioned before in other reviews - sex tourism in this place is tolerated. Many old, mostly Italian guys bring their young prostitutes to the hotel. It is somehow disgusting when you have to watch 60year old guy grabbing the bottom of his 20 year old prostitue at the buffet, while you yourself are trying to take a romantic dinner. The first few nights we only saw 2 or 3 of this couples, but then it seemed "high season for sex toursim" was starting, because there have been around 8 of this "couples" and as I am sure, the hotel was not fully occupied, this number is quite high.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evaever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Scorpio Villas for a few days during my vacation in Malindi.It is strategically located near the town making it very easily accessible.It is right next to the beach which is fantastic!It had 3 very clean swimming pools,we were spoilt for choice.The rooms are very clean and spacious and they offer an extra bed on the terrace for lying down on those hot afternoons.The food was served in either buffet or a la carte and was in plenty.What I enjoyed the most was the service,it was timely and the waiters were very friendly and helpful.I will definitely be back for my next holiday,and for longer!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mamiGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

i was a guest at the villas for a weekend in sept 2012 and I must say they have great facilities, great food, great service and very affordable even for local tourist.
Keep up the good work!!
Yvonne K, Nairobi, Kenya

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for forteen nights and had a fantastic stay. The rooms are furnished simply, but with traditional furniture. Every room has its own balcony or terrace and some rooms are renewed. All rooms have aircondition. The staff are extermely friendly, and the food at the restaurant is very, very good. All inclusive is recommended. All four pools are a good size, the beach is good, but seasonal seaweed does spoil it somewhat.

We went on a 2 day safari to Tsavo East with Geoffrey from the beach (easy to find if you go out the back to the beach and ask). Geoffrey was a great guide, and his prices were more competitive than anyone else. He can organise whatever you want - if you are happy to be in a small group it is cheaper. Geoffrey sorted out all of our accomodation and meals while we were on safari, and a 4WD jeep and driver. The park fees and water in the jeep were also included so the only additional cost was drinks at the lodges or camps. Geoffrey accompanied us on the safari, so he could guarantee our satisfaction. He and the driver were excellent, and always spotted animals well before we had.

I would highly recommed Scorpio and Geoffrey too.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a family

Room Tip: Ask for one of the fresh renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smoerrebroed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

we were there 4 nights and didn't want to leave.

the stuff is extreamly nice, 3 swiming pools and private beach with guard that keeps away all the people who stick to you and asks you to buy things.

the food is excellent and worth the price.
the room is very big + huge balkony.
they cleaned our room every day, but still there are many ants in the hotel, but still it didn't influance to the great experiance .

very recomanded!!

Room Tip: ask for 2nd floor room, the air is better (-:
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadav m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for one night as was on a business trip to Malindi. Check-in was very smooth, room was average. Shower leaves a lot to be desired, very little water pressure.

Breakfast was good, but check-out was strange, as they do not accept credit cards, which is very odd for a hotel.

Not a bad little place, decent beach, decent pools, and service was pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KulaRaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malindi hotels
0.7 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 28 in Malindi
230 reviews
9.6 mi away
Angel's Bay Beach & Villas Resort
1.0 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Kola Beach Resort
Kola Beach Resort
#1 of 28 in Malindi
171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
1.0 mi away
Kilili Baharini Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scorpio Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scorpio Villas

Address: Mnarani Road, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#6 Family Hotel in Malindi
Price Range: $72 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scorpio Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scorpio Villas is an attractive Small Resort where guests stay in Lamu-style, thatched cottages, furnished with hand-carved furniture including a large four poster bed. Every cottage has a large, shady terrace and the dining waiter will serve breakfast here every morning (on your request, or you may wish to dine in the restaurant). The villa accommodation is interspersed with four swimming pools around which you'll find sun beds and chairs. It is only 50 metres, along a path, to the white sands, private Beach With Umbrella & Sunbeds. Only 1.5 kilometres from the centre of Malindi. This hotel is conveniently situated and is popular with repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Scorpio Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scorpio Villas Hotel Malindi
Scorpio Hotel Malindi
Scorpio Resort Malindi
Scorpio Villas Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing