We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great relaxing place”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Maisha Marefu

House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House
House Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
House
House
Pool
Evening Dining
Living Space
Garden Baobab Tree (we also have home grow coconuts for breakfast)
Local Beach
Pooch
Fishing with the 'locals'
Beach
TukTuk Taxi
Bedroom with double lamu bed & net
Bedroom with twin lamu beds & nets
Kitchen (that comes with a cook!)
Living area
Upstairs
One of four ensuite bathrooms
Local sport
Perfect
Lunch?
Sea
House & Pool
Pool
House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Malindi, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daniel K
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great relaxing place”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We enjoyed our three week stay at Maisha Marefu!
The house is in a very good condition and well maintained, the staff is very friendly and helpful!

The house is much bigger as it looks on the picture. It has 4 self contained rooms with a double bed each, most rooms have space to add more beds. We stayed with 13 people for one week and never felt squeezed.
The pool is very big and well looked after.
The location is great, just 5min from the beach and Marine Park.

The staff was amazing, always attentive and helpful, great fun to spent a holiday with. Anthony is a great cook which can cook almost anything (now he can even do German Laugenbretzel!)

We definitely will come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the staff and the pool
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Thanks very much for the great review. I will pass the complements onto the staff. Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maren Di...
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a wonderfull week at Maisha Marefu! House and pool are absolutely beautifull, the staff superfriendly and helpfull, the cook was preparing amazingly delicious seafood and other meals. The beach a two minutewalk away was very nice and calm and also the distance to town and restaurants was just perfect for us!!!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Thanks very much for the great review - I let the staff know. Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence...
Wickham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent stay fabulous caring staff !”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Could do with a communal room that is windowed off with Fans a/c to avoid mosquitoes but bedrooms mosquito free - excellent

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amyv77
Musoma, Tanzania
2 reviews
“we love maisha marefu”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This place is amazing, we didn't know quite what to expect but it was better than the photos and we were so relaxed. The place is huge! the pool is also huge and wonderful, the grounds are beautiful, the outside resting, eating area was spacious and a great place to hang out. It is all tastefully decorated. You are set one block back from the beach but we loved the security of the location and the walk to the beach is only about 5 minutes so it felt like the best of both worlds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: our cook did not always do a great job, but he tried :)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaburamui...
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, serene house”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My 5 friends and I were blown away by this beautiful house. It has a staff of 3 a night guard, a cook and a house caretaker. They were all very helpful and friendly. The pool is warm and big enough to enjoy a good swim. The beach is only a 3 minute walk away and malindi town about 15 minute drive. We had a lovely time touring Malindi and will definitely go back to Maisha Marefu

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The staff and beauty of the home
Liked least: That the cook couldn't prepare some basic meals
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolBu...
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A fabulous holiday home”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Located within a 3 minute walk to the beach & steps away from the newly opened Billionaire's Resort, the house is large, airy, comfortable and well maintained. Our large party was comfortably accommodated and our every need was taken care of by the wonderfully cheerful staff. Meal times were a delight & we particularly enjoyed the Swahili night trying local delicacies. There are plenty of tuk-tuk's available which gave us easy access to restaurants, markets, the Marine Park and shopping facilities in town. A truly memorable two weeks. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attentive staff and relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Sometimes the pool got too warm!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing