We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely gorgeous home with the nicest host...”

Review of Himaya House

View across the pool to Silversands beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across the pool to Silversands beach
Entrance to the Main House Side view of the House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
View across the pool to Silversands beach
Entrance to the Main House
Side view of the House
View across pool to guest wing
View across pool to main house
View at low tide from part of garden
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom bathroom
Veranda dining table
Entrance to the living room with veranda beyond
Bedroom in separate guest wing
Outside veranda on guest wing
View from Master bedroom window to pool
Looking down to pool from Guest wing
Looking back towards HImaya at far end on cliff
Walking along side Himaya at low tide - in the South Monsoon
Looking out to Marine Park
A sunset from Himaya
Storm over the ocean from Himaya
Fisherman out in May storm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Malindi, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Uttara P
1 review
“Absolutely gorgeous home with the nicest host. Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed June 6, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Our time in Lissa’s gorgeous home was beyond perfect. The house is right on the beach and can be accessed from a little door in the garden. The deck offers a stunning view of the sea and the cliffs around, as does the bedroom upstairs. The other bedrooms are a few steps away from this part of the house. These are large and airy rooms with big sit-outs that lead to the swimming pool. We spent a lot of time in and around the pool! The house is beautifully done up and has every comfort. I do not exaggerate when I say that it was terribly hard to leave Lissa’s piece of paradise and we’re already wondering when we can go back.
The house is well-located in Malindi – close to the centre of town but away from the noise. It is useful to have a car there.
What made our stay beyond perfect were the people. Lissa is warm and welcoming and ever so helpful! She has many interesting stories to tell and guided us about which shops to visit and where we could get groceries, etc. Sammy and Silas took such good care of us. We ate Sammy’s delicious meals every day and Silas made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Lissa’s many rescue cats and one dog mostly keep to themselves but it’s very nice to have them around and they only add to the warmth and welcoming of the place. Thank you Lissa and can’t wait to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia H
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We so loved our stay at Himaya House!! The house is beautiful with a scenic view! The staff was SO warm, helpful and friendly! Lissa was great! She helped me in so many ways as I planned our trip. I highly recommend booking this house!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constance...
Nakuru, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absoloutly wonderful”
Reviewed March 7, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is amazing! The rooms and the house are very beautiful and luxury, you won´t miss anything. The house lies on a perfect spot, a cliff overlooking the beach and the sea and parts of the marine park, the views are stunning. Lissa and her team are amazing, they are very professional and kind and will cater for any extra need. The chef, Sammy, is a fantastic cook. Our whole family (the kids are 8 and 3 years) LOVE his meals. If you are looking for a relaxing and special place, this is the perfect house! We will always try to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimisuzz
Faro District, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy Paradise”
Reviewed March 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We arrived hot and sticky to this fabulous place where we were made to feel welcome and at home. The pool, to where we headed, is just wonderful-warm and fun, with lots of sun and shade loungers. A very happy place to spend lots happy hours...the sea, of course, is simply divine, no other word for it!
The house is beautiful and well maintained, working like a well-oiled machine, something we so appreciated! We immediately felt at home and like we never wanted to leave. Lissa is very well connected and was able to hook us up with everyone and every place we needed. The boys went to Watamu to do scuba diving for the first time with Lissa's friend Helen - brilliant experience for them!
Lissa and her staff are an amazing team, always smiling, helpful, pleasant.... we had wonderful meals, with Sammy producing great meals for our fussy teens! And honestly, our biggest difficulty was packing to leave, which firmed our resolve to return as soon as possible! Lissa, thank you for helping us find your wonderful paradise...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari S
Jinja, Uganda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Relaxing Family Holiday”
Reviewed January 19, 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our family's second time to stay at this property and we truly can't imagine staying anywhere else at this point. We have five children, ranging in age from 6-12yrs old, yet this house somehow meets the needs of each family member while we are there. It is so convenient having a private access to the beach and ability to go as desired without much planning needing to be involved. We could literally sit on our porch and makes plans according to the tide at that moment. The staff of the house went above and beyond their job duties, especially with their care for our children. Often going out of their way to keep them entertained and answer any questions that they might have about life in Kenya. We stayed for a month, yet there wasn't a single day that our needs and comfort were not met beyond our expectations. The food that Sammy prepared was AMAZING and even after four weeks we were still not running out of options for new and exciting meals. The property is very well maintained, always clean and orderly. Himaya truly feels like a home away from home for our family (although one with a much nicer view!).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian R
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Probably the best place to stay in Malindi!”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Amazing stay in this beautiful house, incredibly well situated between the beach and marine park. Lissa and her staff were extremely welcoming and the service exceeded our expectations in every way. The food was delicious and varied, the setting pretty ideal. Just fantastic! Thanks so much and hope to stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raza M
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Of all the homes and resorts that we experienced across Kenya and Tanzania, Himaya house was our favorite! Not only is the house beautiful and artful and the location overlooking the ocean idyllic, the people of Himaya are warm, genuine and generous. The owner, Lissa, went out of her way to recommend special experiences and to accommodate our every need . She even took our 11-year-old son under her wing inviting him to help her care for the injured bush baby that she was fostering. The staff too went out of their way to make our stay pleasant, helping with everything from laundry to negotiating fair prices for our excursions in the area. & never have we eaten as well as during our stay at Himaya! Sammy’s cooking is exquisite. Himaya is truly a sanctuary; beautiful, peaceful and pleasurable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff were just amazing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing