We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happiness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Malindi
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Happiness”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We truly enjoyed the few days at the Ocean Beach Resort. Lovely service poolside as well as in the bar in the evening. Wish the beach bar/restaurant would be open in the evening too as it's a breezy location to chill out after a day in the sun.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JonesHeinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto M, Proprietario at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello from Malindi and thank you very much for your kind review.
Usually the beach bar and restaurant is open in the evening, but due to heavy evening winds of the season we have been forced to keep it closed for the time being, it will be reopened in August.
Our clients can anyway enjoy the evening breeze dining on the terrace at Victoria Restaurant, having a drink at our Finch Hatton's Bar terrace lounge or in the garden sitting areas.
Kind regards and thank you again for having choosen to stay at Ocean Beach resort & SPA,

Roberto Marini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    30
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
34
63
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Last year, in August 2012, my son celebrated his second birthday. We chose to celebrate it with a trip to the beach and we chose the Ocean Beach Resort after we saw the great reviews on Trip Advisor and we had the most wonderful time. I will not hesitate in returning and sending my friends there. We were treated with greatest of hospitality and made my son feel as though he was a Prince. We cannot thank Harvey and his team enough. Thank you, we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

First time in Malindi and wasnt disappointed with the hotel. The staff at the hotel are very professional and helpful.Mr Ndege the manager was on his toes to make sure the guest have the best time. The resteraunt menu needs more options to dipict its five star status. Having said that their pastry chef makes the most wonderful pastries and cakes.
During our stay however we were faced with naturally caused dirty beach due to the closesness of the hotel to a river inlet into the ocean. The water as brown for most of our stay and we were unable to dip into the sea during the entire stay. I would recommend you visit the hotel not in rainy season.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 59ChristineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We've spent a very relaxing week at the Ocean Beach Resort & Spa in late March.

What really makes this hotel is the attitude and dedication of the whole hotel staff who are constantly on the mission to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. To start with, we got a free room upgrade and a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine with out first dinner. The manager, Harvey, was always around to make sure we were fully satisfied with our stay. Luckily, the resort is not too big and you can feel the staff know and care about every guest.

Another highlight is the food in the main restaurant which is genuinely gourmet quality. The Italian chef Luca combines European and local (spices, mangoes, fish and seafood) ingredients and we loved some of his creations such as the tuna carpaccio and the mango and tomato side salad. I suspect the quality is significantly higher than you'd get elsewhere in Malindi and the prices are reasonable (definitely cheaper than Europe for comparable quality)

The style of the hotel is rather traditional, 'tropical elegance' rather then modern uber-cool. The grounds are very pleasant, with lots of open space and good breeze from the sea around the clock. There are hardly any mosquitoes around which was a pleasant surprise. The suites are spacious and very nicely furnished with hardwood floors and furniture; bathrooms are very nice as well. My girlfriend enjoyed the spa which is good if not particularly cheap.

The location of the hotel has some advantages and disadvantages. It is north of the town and away from the main resort area, which gives the beach a lovely, deserted feel and, most importantly, there are no beach boys around! On the other hand, on a number of days the sea was reddish and not swimmable due to silt from a nearby river. I understand this affects all Malindi hotels north of the Vasco da Gamma pillar and suspect it's seasonal (you get the silt when it rains in the upcountry). It didn't bother us too much but if it's important for you then you might consider visiting in the right season. Otherwise, the sea is nice, with sandy bottom (no rocks or seaweed) and rolling waves as there is no reef barrier offshore at this location (I think).

Overall, we'd highly recommend the hotel for travellers looking to relax on the Kenyan coast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This five star hotel is a paradise on earth. We stayed as a group of six girls and were well looked after by the staff. Our rooms were beyond our expectations, they were spotlessly clean and remained so for the duration of our stay. The food served at the restaurants was delicious and the staff very friendly. I liked the fine dining experience and the chef did not disappoint. My friend was travelling with a baby (one and a half years) and he prepared the tastiest meals for her. They were very concerned with the well being of the child and had her meals ready in good time. The swimming pools and Jacuzzi were top notch and allowed for a lot of privacy and relaxation. Thanks to Harvey the GM, Tabitha at the restaurant and Mary the receptionist for indulging our every request. We felt pampered!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto M, Proprietario at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello from Malindi,
Thank you for your review, here at Ocean Beach the care for our guests is the main priority, the cleanliness of the rooms, quality of food, service, SPA and every detail are taken in consideration because we want every holiday to be unforgettable.
Each member of the staff is always available for our guests with a smile and we will always try our best to satisfy all requests made by the guests.
Thanks for having decided to spend your holiday with us!
Hope to see you soon at Ocean Beach Resort & SPA.

Robbie Marini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The moment you step up the stairs into the resort's light and airy reception area you start to realize how much thought and passion was poured into this project. As you go through check in formalities your gaze can not help being drawn back across the lawns to the blinding white beach and ocean beyond. The beauty of this corner of Malindi is perfectly framed in the design of this resort, and from this point starts your pampering. You will find hard to leave the wonderful garden suites where everything, from linen to the toiletries, has been carefully and painstakingly selected. The two pools and a fabulous SPA for your relaxation will only be overshadowed by the simple excellence of the resort's kitchen. The pasta "aglio olio & peperoncino with vongole" is a gem and the pizza quite simply the best in Kenya. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I travel about 6-8 times a year and stay at a variety of places. Usually 5* hotels.

Ocean beach has got to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. We went in August 2012. Seemingly low season as the hotel was quiet. We did not mind this. We had one of their bungalows and it was very secluded with a little garden.
If you are expecting Four seasons luxury, quilted slippers and a fluffy robe then this is not for you. However, if you are looking for minimalist, chick, colonial, elegance then great. They also offer a turn town service.

We went for half board and breakfast was cooked to order as well as fresh cakes, juices and fruits available on the Buffet.

Dinner was nothing short of mouthwatering. Lobsters, fresh seafood and although a size 8 I have a huge, huge, huge appetite and dinner was always a 4 course meal. Each was divine. This is coming from a self professed foodie.

Lunch was adequately priced, circa £15-£20 for a meal, fresh bread and drinks.
They always prepare fresh coconuts for you if you ask. We had about 4 per day between us.


Staff are super friendly, not intrusive but would always welcome the opportunity to converse.

Love the spa although its more aligned to European prices.
The Italian owner and his wife and mother are also super friendly. Again they go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

There was no gym when we went, but as I am lazy this was not an issue for me. If it is an issue for you then may I suggest you use the beach and run.

Not too much to see and do in the local town. A visit to Hell's kitchen is advised, the hotel can organise this for you. The hotel is 15 minutes from Malindi airport.

We went with our 10mth old and it was all great.

If ever in Malindi again we would 100% go back. Wish I could dot this hotel around the world.

Room Tip: Bungalows are great. Perhaps request once close to pool, beach and restaurant. Shorter walk you see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheexLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malindi
3.1 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 28 in Malindi
224 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.9 mi away
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
#21 of 28 in Malindi
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
7.0 mi away
Kola Beach Resort
Kola Beach Resort
#1 of 28 in Malindi
168 reviews
2.4 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#3 of 28 in Malindi
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Golf & Country Club, Beach Road | P.O. Box 5296, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malindi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE STARS EXPERIENCE. Ocean Beach Resort is a superior deluxe five star hotel that takes hospitality back to its essence with its unique style of tropical early 20th century style with wooden roofs and elegant wooden floors. It is situated in the sand dunes beach two kilometers north Malindi Township. Malindi, the pearl of Kenyan Coast. This is the favorite destination for those whom are looking for something special. The hotel is on the beach, adjacent to the Malindi Golf and Country Club and only two kilometers north of Malindi Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Resort & Spa Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing