We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Malindi
Certificate of Excellence
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed there for 6 days during the low season (from 2 to 6 May 2012). The hotel is ideally situated close to a long sand beach. This was very handy for swimming, jogging and nice walks along the seaside. Everything was perfect. Good internet connection, very friendly, efficient and discreet staff who pampered us throughout our stay. They even anticipated our wishes after a few days and did everything to make us feel at home. The room was big and comfortable. The food was absolutely delicious, especially the sea-food. We were on a lobster and king prawns diet. We also enjoyed the spa, the jacuzzi and the two swimming pools that were opened (out of three). All this for a reasonable price. We highly recommend this hotel for whoever values quality and service in a wonderful resort. Esther and Patrick

Room Tip: Try a room not to close to the beach because of the wind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    30
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
34
61
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed for a weekend with my wife and we received five star treatment. It was low season and we got a free upgrade to a very spacious Junior Suite complete with a Jacuzzi. The food was great and meticulously prepared from their A la Carte Menu... The staff are very friendly. Special mention to Rita and Harvey who made the whole process from reservation to accomodation hassle free.
The Morjana Spa is truly classy and anyone visiting Malindi should visit and experience the many varieties it has to offer.
All in all a truly five star experience and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone visiting Malindi.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkwaruhiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I had been working very hard and was looking to take a break for a few days. I searched the web and came across the Ocean Beach Resort. I made a phone call and spoke to the manager there a lovely lady called Rita who immediately made me feel warm and at home. So i booked my flights from Kampala and headed to the Ocean Beach Resort in Malinidi. On arrival i was greeted with a warm smile and a complimentary fruit juice which was great. On selecting the room and rates there was plenty of bargaining on my behalf (being Irish) and i as accommodated very well and feel i got very good value for money. The location, room service and staff were all on a par and what you would expect from a 5 Star hotel.

Over all my experience was a very good one and i would strongly recommend this location for anyone looking for a relaxing, luxurious break at a very affordable rate.

My best of Ocean Beach was the affordable rates i was given and of course the lovely Hotel Manager Rita who was very pleasant and made the whole place feel warm and friendly.

Leo

Room Tip: During low season book a standard room pay for it and if available they may upgrade you to a superio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a hard time looking for a place for Easter break. My husband searched high and low and came across a great review from a previous guest. We booked online and then contacted OBRS for additional information. Rita and Harvey assisted us over the phone and were extremely helpful!
We drove from Nairobi to Malindi (we like road trips) and shortly before reaching Malindi we received a call from Harvey to see if we were finding our way okay. Upon arrival, the staff came from behind the counter to greet us. Rita took us on a tour of the grounds and made us feel really welcomed.
I think I gained about 3 pounds during our stay. The dinner was amazing....4 course meal. The first night was a challenge. Dinner starts at 8 and we have two children. By 8:20 our daughter was sleeping in the chair. Our waitress told us we could place an order with them for the children around 6 and bring them in to eat at 7. This was a life saver!
They even coordinated a birthday cake for our 10 year old (insert misty eyes here).
The managing director stopped by regularly to ask about our stay. It is no wonder they have wonderful staff. Every level of their team was great!
The spa was out of this world.
I can't wait to go back!
Thank you Ocean Beach Resort & Spa!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somuch2c_solittlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto M, Proprietario at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Hello from Ocean Beach Resort and SPA.
Thank you for your kind comments, it has been a pleasure to have your family here with us and we hope to see you soon. The hotel will keep on upgrading the services and the SPA will always offer the best treatment to pamper our guests.
See you soon in Malindi.
Kind regards,

Roberto Marini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Great service. Friendly Italian owners. Excellent Spa. You must try Morjana products.

Room are very comfortable and nicely decorated.

I will be back soon :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riseandshine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Me and my family stayed at this hotel for 3 days in march and I can say that it is a beautifully designed luxurious hotel. We loved the facilities and the comfort of the rooms was just outstanding. The beach was nice and peaceful. I would like to extend my sincere thanks to all the staff at the resort in particular to Harvey who was extremely helpful through out our stay. He was excellent at resolving any problems we may have had during the stay and was extremely courteous- Thanks Harvey. The food was good a variety on the menu for breakfast and lunch. I would recommend however, for the dinner menu to be catered bearing in mind that some visitors can we be vegetarian. Overall the quality of the food was excellent. We also spent some time in the spa for a massage which was very nicely done and relaxing. All in all we had a fantastic holiday at this resort and hopefully will return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manwinder J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

My Friend and i decided to get away in a relaxing hotel with a spa we checked inthe internet and Ocean Beach Resort convinced us,everything we saw inthe internet was the same the entrance,the luxuries rooms and food Morjana Spa which was the reason we went dint dissapoint they have all sorts of treatments,body peeling,manicure,pedicure,different kind of massages all done with morjana products and by professional therapist.The management and staff were all welcoming which made our stay very comfortable.For a luxury 5 Star experience Ocean Beach Resort Malindi is the place to go!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique in different ways,very well decorated and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malindi
3.1 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 27 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
9.4 mi away
Che Shale
Che Shale
#1 of 3 in Mambrui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
3.3 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
2.4 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#3 of 27 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Golf & Country Club, Beach Road | P.O. Box 5296, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malindi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Malindi
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE STARS EXPERIENCE. Ocean Beach Resort is a superior deluxe five star hotel that takes hospitality back to its essence with its unique style of tropical early 20th century style with wooden roofs and elegant wooden floors. It is situated in the sand dunes beach two kilometers north Malindi Township. Malindi, the pearl of Kenyan Coast. This is the favorite destination for those whom are looking for something special. The hotel is on the beach, adjacent to the Malindi Golf and Country Club and only two kilometers north of Malindi Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Resort & Spa Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing