We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t go here with your teenage daughters!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamani Jua Tao Resort
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Malindi
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Tamani Jua gave a mixed impression on both good/nice and really bad/not acceptable sides. In general it was OK, the lay out of the buildings, the pool area and the restaurant were nice. The staff was also helpful although it was sometimes difficult to made oneself understood in English! Italian is by no doubt the preferred language and Italians are the dominant clientele. The rooms were also nice but we had problems with the toilet flushing and doors that could not be closed properly. One had the impression that the resort was in and early state of degradation. The thatched roofs on many of the houses for instance, were in need of maintenance and in the restaurant stood an old, worn out pool table. Would it not be better to remove the table instead of keeping now when it could not be used anyway?
The website advertises that the resort is located 100 m from the ocean which is true if you are a bird! It is not even possible to walk there! In reality one has to take a tuk-tuk or a taxi to the other end of town and pay 300 Ksh for a sunbed at a recommended beach resort. This is OK (all hotels cannot be located on the beach) if this is announced on the website. Now it stands out as a misleading promotion, making at least me generally suspicious, I had looked forward to long early walks on the beach!
The food was terrible and was not what we expected from an Italian owned resort! (We never had dinner so these comments are only valid for breakfast and lunch). The various dishes at the breakfast buffet consisted of artificial juice and brightly colored, tasteless cereals. Sausages and beans looked as they had been put back and forth on the heater day after day. Only the fresh fruits and freshly made omelets and eggs were tasted good (fresh juice etc. were available for an extra cost). For lunch three courses were offered but they all looked and tasted as leftovers from yesterday’s dinner or prefab like spring rolls and fish fingers! The so called parmesan cheese offered for the pasta must have stood in the glass bowl in the fridge for a long time. It was full of lumps and the smell from it was terrible! I had expected fresh fish and sea food on a restaurant located on the coast of the Indian Ocean but I never saw such dishes!
Bath towels were changed but not washed every day. One morning I was offered a towel with a wet spot on the center from another person’s swimming costume the previous day! The same towels were also used in the bath rooms as well as around the pool!
The most serious critique was regarding a number of Italian men around 60 were visited by young Kenyan girls in their rooms next to ours. Sometimes more than one girl at the time and the girls also visited different men the same afternoon. (These girls never appeared as guests in the common areas). The first day of our stay the men also flock like vultures around the pool where my teen age daughters and their friends swam. Completely shameless, also in front of me, they tried to get in contact with them! One could say that this had more to do with the customer’s than the hotel but to me it looked like it occurred quite openly without any reaction from the management.
All in all, I would not go back to this resort and certainly not recommend it to friends with teenage daughters!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamaniJua, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tamani Jua Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

We respect all opinions and work hard in order to satisfy our customers as much as possible. I do not think his review is very sincere as you know very well that many situations that told are not true, as many others just read the comments from our customers to find that his description is the only one of its kind! I hope to have you again our guest to be able to do to change your mind!
Karibu Tamani Jua!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 87 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

Booked a so-called Junior Suite through Booking.com. The room was just 3m x 3m and tucked away under stairs. The shower was poor and the room was generally tired. This room is what the hotel's own website calls a Superior Room but they told us that that was what had been booked through Booking.com despite our paperwork describing the room as a Junior Suite. I guess that we were either put into an inferior room by the hotel or that the Booking.com website is misleading. Luckily we were only staying one night but I'd recommend anyone thinking of staying here to look elsewhere. We paid $92 for the night which was expensive for the room we had.

Breakfast was disappointing and the juice was artificial.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paleblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamaniJua, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tamani Jua Tao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

The first thing I always thank those who write reviews of our resort, even though at times some of the reviews are not written with sincerity. In the case of this review, I want to clarify that customers will have been given two adjoining rooms very large and not measures such as reduced specify. Being in 4 people have considered more appropriate to the type of accommodation considering that the Junior Suite would not meet their needs. I wanted to point out that customers have not experienced any discount on the room during their stay, strange is not it? Only now they remembered! as the last thing I wanted to clarify that the customers have paid $ 92 for bed and breakfast for one night. for 4 people .... I do not think an amount so exaggerated, do not you think? Then just read the other reviews of our customers. In all ways, thanks anyway for spending your holiday at Tamani Jua RESORT ..... Karibu Kenya!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Arriving to the hotel we were told that the hotel added a 5 % fee if the room was payed for by credit card. Since the hotel is rather expencive we did not carry that much cash around so we had to pay by credit card. This should have been mensioned when booking the hotel.

The breakfast was not to my taste. They did have fruit and yogurt but the only bread they had was toast, only the toaster did not work properly so you had do wait ages if you wanted toasted bread. Other then that they had sweat bread and eggs.

The pool is good and the pool staff was nice, the rest of the staff was average, not very nice or happy but they did help us arrange a big taxi for our onwards jurney.

The rooms are spacious and nice but the shower is pretty bad. The hotel is located far from the city center and the beach but it is easy and cheap to take a tuktuk anythere in town.

Overall the hotel is a good place to stay but the staff and reception as well as the breakfast could be a lot better.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suit, this was worth the extra 10 usd / night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sofie_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was a wonderful place that was very affordable. Our family room was huge, actually two rooms a living room and a large veranda. Breakfast was very nice. The staff was always helpful and made us feel welcome. it is off the beach but the tuk tuks are very affordable. We went into Malindi and to the beach quite frequently. We also enjoyed the pool which is large.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at Tamani Jua for a week and it was a very pleasant experience. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff was efficient, friendly and very attentive to our needs. (Many thanks to Justine, John and Faith!) A lovely swimming pool and outdoor tv, air-conditioning in the bedroom as well as an overhead fan. We hope to return in the near future. Malindi is an interesting town and if you like Italian cuisine you will not be disappointed: wonderful espresso, gelati and pasta.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Real out of the World Experience! Relaxing for Mind & Body! Surrounded by nature and Excellent Service! Good service, food, nice and Clean! Very serene and soothing place. Well maintained, lush green, good swimming pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Him C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tutte in buona posizione e confortevoli, dispone anche di appartamenti e suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francesco s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malindi hotels
2.9 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 28 in Malindi
232 reviews
7.8 mi away
Angel's Bay Beach & Villas Resort
0.5 mi away
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
#19 of 28 in Malindi
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#3 of 28 in Malindi
475 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kola Beach Resort
Kola Beach Resort
#1 of 28 in Malindi
172 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamani Jua Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamani Jua Tao Resort

Address: Lamu Road | P.O. Box 1259, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Malindi
Price Range: $66 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamani Jua Tao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a nice and quiet resort in Malindi, which in 2011, with a new management, we are committed to our guests can enjoy, unforgettable holidays. We have 11 features villas surrounded by greenery, where the apartments are inserted with 50 quiet rooms, spacious and tastefully furnished africano. All rooms have private bathrooms, air conditioning, mini bar and veranda. In the main building of the resort, surrounded by lush garden is the bar area, free Wi-Fi, a TV area, a massage room and a restaurant overlooking the pool. The beach provides for our guests, lounge chairs, beach towels and bar service. The ideal place to contemplate and enjoy the beauty and fragrance of Africa with the possibility of excursions and safaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tamani Jua Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamani Jua Tao Resort Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing