We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny "Junior Suite" - not good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamani Jua Tao Resort
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Malindi
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tiny "Junior Suite" - not good value”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Booked a so-called Junior Suite through Booking.com. The room was just 3m x 3m and tucked away under stairs. The shower was poor and the room was generally tired. This room is what the hotel's own website calls a Superior Room but they told us that that was what had been booked through Booking.com despite our paperwork describing the room as a Junior Suite. I guess that we were either put into an inferior room by the hotel or that the Booking.com website is misleading. Luckily we were only staying one night but I'd recommend anyone thinking of staying here to look elsewhere. We paid $92 for the night which was expensive for the room we had.

Breakfast was disappointing and the juice was artificial.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paleblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamaniJua, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tamani Jua Tao Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
The first thing I always thank those who write reviews of our resort, even though at times some of the reviews are not written with sincerity. In the case of this review, I want to clarify that customers will have been given two adjoining rooms very large and not measures such as reduced specify. Being in 4 people have considered more appropriate to the type of accommodation considering that the Junior Suite would not meet their needs. I wanted to point out that customers have not experienced any discount on the room during their stay, strange is not it? Only now they remembered! as the last thing I wanted to clarify that the customers have paid $ 92 for bed and breakfast for one night. for 4 people .... I do not think an amount so exaggerated, do not you think? Then just read the other reviews of our customers. In all ways, thanks anyway for spending your holiday at Tamani Jua RESORT ..... Karibu Kenya!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    23
    9
    1
    9
See reviews for
21
20
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Arriving to the hotel we were told that the hotel added a 5 % fee if the room was payed for by credit card. Since the hotel is rather expencive we did not carry that much cash around so we had to pay by credit card. This should have been mensioned when booking the hotel.

The breakfast was not to my taste. They did have fruit and yogurt but the only bread they had was toast, only the toaster did not work properly so you had do wait ages if you wanted toasted bread. Other then that they had sweat bread and eggs.

The pool is good and the pool staff was nice, the rest of the staff was average, not very nice or happy but they did help us arrange a big taxi for our onwards jurney.

The rooms are spacious and nice but the shower is pretty bad. The hotel is located far from the city center and the beach but it is easy and cheap to take a tuktuk anythere in town.

Overall the hotel is a good place to stay but the staff and reception as well as the breakfast could be a lot better.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suit, this was worth the extra 10 usd / night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofie_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was a wonderful place that was very affordable. Our family room was huge, actually two rooms a living room and a large veranda. Breakfast was very nice. The staff was always helpful and made us feel welcome. it is off the beach but the tuk tuks are very affordable. We went into Malindi and to the beach quite frequently. We also enjoyed the pool which is large.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at Tamani Jua for a week and it was a very pleasant experience. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff was efficient, friendly and very attentive to our needs. (Many thanks to Justine, John and Faith!) A lovely swimming pool and outdoor tv, air-conditioning in the bedroom as well as an overhead fan. We hope to return in the near future. Malindi is an interesting town and if you like Italian cuisine you will not be disappointed: wonderful espresso, gelati and pasta.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Real out of the World Experience! Relaxing for Mind & Body! Surrounded by nature and Excellent Service! Good service, food, nice and Clean! Very serene and soothing place. Well maintained, lush green, good swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Him C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malindi hotels
2.9 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 27 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dorado Cottage
Dorado Cottage
#12 of 27 in Malindi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
9.9 mi away
Che Shale
Che Shale
#1 of 3 in Mambrui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#3 of 27 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
3.2 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
3.1 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamani Jua Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamani Jua Tao Resort

Property: Tamani Jua Tao Resort
Address: Lamu Road | P.O. Box 1259, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamani Jua Tao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a nice and quiet resort in Malindi, which in 2011, with a new management, we are committed to our guests can enjoy, unforgettable holidays. We have 11 features villas surrounded by greenery, where the apartments are inserted with 50 quiet rooms, spacious and tastefully furnished africano. All rooms have private bathrooms, air conditioning, mini bar and veranda. In the main building of the resort, surrounded by lush garden is the bar area, free Wi-Fi, a TV area, a massage room and a restaurant overlooking the pool. The beach provides for our guests, lounge chairs, beach towels and bar service. The ideal place to contemplate and enjoy the beauty and fragrance of Africa with the possibility of excursions and safaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tamani Jua Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamani Jua Tao Resort Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing