We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not at all what I hoped for or expected at the going rate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandies Coconut Village
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Malindi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not at all what I hoped for or expected at the going rate”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We arrived after lunch concluded and were met with 'sandwiches', also known as two slices of thick slightly stale bread with a thin piece of unidentifiable meat. The rooms are nothing like what is portrayed on the website. Spartan and tiny. 'Deluxe beachfront'? I think not.
I write this while currently residing at the hotel. Having enjoyed endless power cuts and terrible air conditioning in addition to a New Years meal that would strongly rival the fare served at the orphanage I imagine Oliver Twist resided in. On a serious note, the food is bland and the selection dull. We are currently being buffeted by extreme winds that render the food not only tasteless but also stone cold to boot. The wait staff do not function in tandem with each other having a different concept and understanding of applicable procedures. We have thoroughly enjoyed being displaced from our selected table in favour of how shall we say, more 'popular' customers hailing from non-African shores. My last stay in Malindi was at Kilili Baharini. Whilst the rooms were nothing to write home about, the experience was exemplary. This cost more, and was infinitely disappointing. In a nutshell, don't do it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nyamisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    53
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
49
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

What a wonderful resort. We travelled as 3 single girls, sharing a triple family room. It had a large comfy double bed and a single bed, both surrounded by mosquito nets. There is a large walk in cupboard and a gigantic bathroom - perfect for three girls.
There are 3 swimming pools and a private beach, overlooking the actual beach. However the tide goes out very far and the beach boys are pretty relentless so not really ideal for swimming but the pools are so much closer to the bar anyway. There are tons of sun loungers but no umbrellas so if you need shade look for a lounger on the beach under the palm trees.
There is a huge breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet with excellent choice and variety. And if you befriend the chef you may even get your very own chocolatey goodness dessert.
All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.
This is really a tropical paradise and I only wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: There are sea facing rooms but I really enjoyed the pool facing room as you can lie on the day bed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Leigh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strathmore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were here in 2009 for a short stay and decided to stay again this year for 6 days. Price was good, food great, housekeeping fabulous, but the beach boys spoiled it. Everytime a person was close to the beach you got pestured. Pool was good, if a person was left alone. My wife and I spent two months in 6 countries in Africa and just wanted this as a final resting place before flying back home to Canada. The staff here were great especially housekeeping as they really cared about a persons comfort. I was not sure if I was at the tropical or the coconut as there was a name confusement. Food was plentiful and varied. As I said we were there just to rest and it turned out okay. Would I go back ??????.

Room Tip: Stay far away from the outdoor bar . very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at 'Coconut' for 5 days, followed by 2 days next door at Plan Hotel's other property, Tropical Village. Malindi's notorious beach boys did prove a menace, as we were warned, at both properties, but the area is beautiful, and the staff were great. Food was also varied, and good. The rooms at Coconut (though sea-facing in some cases) are dated, and, especially the bathrooms are not really up to scratch. The suites at 'Tropical' are more updated, and a big improvement, but it is a larger, less intimate resort. Pool-side life at both is fun-filled.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We stayed for 6 nights in December. Coconut village is part of the Plan Hotels group which has 3 more hotels in malindi, almost neighbouring one another. Coconut is the smaller and quieter one. with fewere faimiles and children. Ideal for a romantic holiday with just your spouse.
We were upgraded to the beach front room whch was just perfect. We didnt need to lounge on sun beds to get the sea view or breeze.
The food was good and well catered for vegetarians. The resort manager and staff were all very efficient and accommodating.
We also treated ourselves to the Thalasso pool at Dreams Hotel which is jus next door. This is too good and not to be missed. Slightly expensive but once you experience it you will feel its worth every penny!
The down side is the beach. It is piled with weeds which I feel could be cleaned regularly. Also the beach boys are sometimes slighlty annoying as they just loiter around and watch you all day long.
rooms are nice and big and comfortable but simple and basic- don't epect any extras such as face towels, toiletries, shower caps stationary etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shreyashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

My partner and I spent ten days in Coconut Village in February last year and we absolutely loved it! The hotel is simple but all you need is there. We recommend to book a room with a sea view, that was what made our holiday so special. Each morning we just opened the door and were on the beautiful white sand beach right in front of it. We did also safari trip for two nights, Tsavo park, then we went to Arabuko Sokoke forest, went to the marine park, visited some island on a wooden boat with locals, ruins of Gede, an abandoned ancient Swahili town, the town of Malindi etc. Mostly we organized our trips with local people, so don't forget to buy a Lonely Planet guide, otherwise there will be nobody to give you tips for traveling (not even the agency in the hotel - when we asked the Italian lady there for Arabuko Sokoke, she even didn't know what it was :-) The food in the hotel was nice and the staff was very friendly. It was a great winter holiday!

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Johana81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malindi hotels
0.0 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#3 of 27 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
12.4 mi away
Che Shale
Che Shale
#1 of 3 in Mambrui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
0.8 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#2 of 27 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
10.0 mi away
Kola Beach Resort
Kola Beach Resort
#1 of 27 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandies Coconut Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandies Coconut Village

Property: Sandies Coconut Village
Address: Casuarina Road, Malindi 868, Kenya (Formerly Planhotel Coconut Village)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Malindi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandies Coconut Village 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandies Coconut Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Coconut Village Hotel Malindi
Sandies Coconut Village Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing