We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood”

Old Man and the Sea Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 60 Restaurants in Malindi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Quaint restaurant recommended by Lonely Planet for its seafood and they are right it is great food! Right opposite the soccer field and sea front. The table was wobbly and it was a bit squashed for room, but very popular - we had to reserve out table for the next night - no walk ins of the street in January anyway. I certainly recommend the food - oh great service too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    88
    21
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Shame about the music and slow service, otherwise best bite in Malindi.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, excellent food, service was a wee bit slow. Some liked the music. Excellent vegetarian options.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joodmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wish to be the woman and the sea”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We were a little surprised at the restaurant tucked into a building. It was small and cute. They seated us by the window and our waiter was attentive throughout the meal. I started with the cool cucumber mint soup and my husband started with a seafood salad. He also had the kingfish for dinner and said it was like swordfish. I had the vegetarian lasagna because the beef fillet I wanted was not available. The lasagna was very good and a huge portion. We ordered the Chini Chini drink of vodka lime and honey which was very fresh and tasty. It was an excellent dining experience and we would love to go again. Thank you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Afine32889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seafood - mania”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I celebrated my birthday at the Old Man. It's not a cheap place but the seafood is exceptional (try the mixed platter, the oriental lobster, the crab soup). The staff is knowledgable.
Please, do something about the music!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bmerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best meal in Malindi”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

There are a range of places to eat in Malindi, but for European/western style food and drinks this was my fave.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DC_diva_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Man and the Sea Restaurant also viewed

Malindi, Coast Province
Malindi, Coast Province
 
Malindi, Coast Province
Malindi, Coast Province
 
Malindi, Coast Province
Malindi, Coast Province
 

Been to Old Man and the Sea Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing