We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They understand food service”
Review of Baobab Restaurant

Baobab Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 59 Restaurants in Malindi
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“They understand food service”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

It is always a pleasure to be back at Baobab. I first visited the restaurant over ten years ago and I always make a point of having at least one meal here any time I visit Malindi. They never disappoint with their wide variety of Continental, Italian and Swahili dishes. The portions are generous and the staff can take you through the menu knowledgeably and with ease.

During my last visit, I have a friend from Britain who had never been there and was apprehensive, however, by the end of the outing they were hooked on the food. The seafoods are done well and even local dishes like Samaki wa Kupaka are authentic.

I look forward to my next visit eagerly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rmworia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumbe2010, Director of Sales at Baobab Restaurant, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
The staff and management of the Baobab Restaurant are happy to make your Malindi trips something to look forward to and we are honoured by your encouraging comments. We also eagerly welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    42
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you want to experience some traditional African food this is the place. Located almost on the beach with a superb view while you are dining. An extensive menu at very reasonable prices. Service is excellent as in most Kenyan restaurants. Try the beef or chicken curry, it is superb.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumbe2010, Director of Sales at Baobab Restaurant, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Your continued support and patronage has enabled us to keep up with your desired services and we shall endevour to raise the standards even higher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“We were quiet happy with the new look and the changes going on.keep up the good work.”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Enjoyed the food, chicken curry and steak de chef was our favourite.The view of the ocean is magical

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ctembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumbe2010, Owner at Baobab Restaurant, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
we appreciate your satisfaction with our service and welcome you again to our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Baobab dinner”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We tried this restaurant several times and were quite happy with the food offered.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Botanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“awesome dining experience by the seaside”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

This restaurant offers a great and fairly priced dining experience at the seaside. Dining in the evenings there as we enjoyed the breeze from the ocean was a magical experience, i guess its far much better to eat there in the evening than during daytime. the waiters were friendly but noticed since its al a carte-mealscooked to order kind of service you might have to wait up to 30 minutes for the main course on a busy evening. on all occasions i ate sea fish,'tafi' and 'tangu' with ugali(maize meal) for only Ksh 350. I thought was good deal for a mid range restaurant in the heart of a coastal tourist town like Malindi and that gives the bonus of enjoying great scenery.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kivati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baobab Restaurant also viewed

Malindi, Coast Province
Malindi, Coast Province
 
Malindi, Coast Province
Malindi, Coast Province
 

Been to Baobab Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing