We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene holiday joint”
Review of Mwembe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mwembe Resort
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Malindi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Serene holiday joint”
Reviewed June 6, 2010

In June 2010, wife n our 15 months old princess had 2 nights of our 8 day holiday at the coast in room 2. very romantic bedroom, excellent serene green grounds with ample mango canopy, beautiful pool n waterfall design with mesmerising night lighting. but sitting room needs air conditioning, too! carry moz repellant with u. but we enjoyed our stay n we will be back. kibanya from nairobi

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kibanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Kibanya,

Thank you for an amazing review. We are glad you choose us as your holiday resort. We are improving our services so that you can have a wonderful holiday experience.
Hoping you will visit soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2010

I stayed at this "resort" for a week with my daughter. It has been built in 3 phases & we started in the oldest phase. Shower leaked over the floor & was slippery (long term ongoing damage visible), pillows totally disgusting, a/c did not work, no coffee maker or toaster.
The restaurant on site, Lorenzo's is excellent, but is a totally unrelated business, the laundry is an unrelated business and cost $60 US for 4 loads and they shrunk my clothes when the label said cold water only. The "spa" is a sauna. If you want a massage you go off site to a different business. I am working on a legal issue, gave me the wrong number for the resort so I lost 2 days when my attorney could not find me. We moved to a unit built in the 2nd phase. Freezer didn't work, TV broke, a/c broke. This place does not do proper maintenance. Staff unable to communicate in English - any thing you ask for you are told they will do it "immediately". I had to sit at the reception desk to get my needs met. Shuttle to "town" runs every 2 hours. Shuttle to the beach drop off at 9:30 am and pick up at 4:30 pm. You can walk to town in 90 degree weather with 90 degree humidity if you want to be picked up at another time.Businesses in town only take cash, but all advisories say don't carry large sums of money. They show plaques that they are a RCI Gold Crown resort for the last 5 years. Don't believe it. They say they have a playground and medical center on site. They do not. The only thing I would say was good were the two swimming pools. We hired a guide named Benjamin who showed us multiple recommendations from Mwembe Resort patrons. The 3rd day both he and the driver showed up drunk, and took us to an area of Malindi that was extremely unsafe. Stear clear of Benjamin.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear MTTravelbug,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay. However, we were saddened to hear your comments about our hospitality and service, we apologize. The management is continuously improving its services so that our guests can have a wonderful holiday experience. Renovation has been done on the oldest suites of the resort while re-furnishing is underway.

We hope you will be giving us another chance & returning to our resort in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2009

This was one of a kind, a spectacular visit.what a beautiful place,gorgeous,mind relaxing,i toured mwembe resort with my adorable man,and what a place..everything in this place is stunning..from the kitchen wares to the romantic beds..to dinning areas..

we later on went to rosada beach where we met the ever-knowing beach boys speaking foreign language(italian), it was so unbelievable cause we Kenyans put swahili language first..we gathered lots of shells at the beach for memorial purpose..what a unique,funloving experience we hold dearly...thank you so much and may your hearts be joyful as always..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prettybabe19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Hello,

Thanks for the great review! We are glad you had a wonderful time.
Hope you will come back soon.

Best wishes,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Just returned from my Honeymoon here. It was amazing! I read the review abou troom 15 and that is unfortunate but do not let it deter you from staying here. My room was very clean. The grounds are beautiful and expansive (the website pictures do not do it justice.) The staff were extremely helpful and friendly especially Zu! She brought us into town herself on several occasions just to show us where things were, like the grocery store or the Malindi Handcraft Co-op which you really should visit if you go to Malindi. She also went on her own to exchange money for us so that we would have time to catch the shuttle to the beach. The shuttle to the beach was not ideal but really not that bad and a tuk-tuk was also a very cheap and easy way to get there. The Rosada beach club was beautiful with the same level of service I received at the resort. Lorenzo's restaurant at the resort was ok... The service was great but the food was over priced and not really that good. If you stay there try Bar-Bar outside of the resort for much cheaper and tastier italian food.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwa612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Hello rwa612,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. We appreciate your kind words. We work really hard to offer the best to our guests. We have a new chef and we are excited for you to come and try out his new menu.
We hope you will be giving us another chance & returning to our resort in the near future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miss777
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Yes I stayed here, and was eaten alive by bed bugs, in apartment 15 the one right outside reception. We should have known something was up when we saw the towels they provided (they were green and dowdy and not the crisp whites you expect from a 5*). In fairness the management moved us as soon as we told them what had happened, their explanation being that it was a certain type of guest that had stayed and left the bed bugs behind (excuse me, is that MY problem?! NO. You should CLEAN the rooms after someone leaves, and check for these things!). Anyway, lovely location, beautiful grounds, blah blah, not worth the extreme itchiness and sleeplessness that comes with bed bug bites. Check your room before you unpack people!! and beware of room number 15!.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Hello Miss 777,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. However, we were saddened to hear how uncomfortable your stay was. We sincerely apologize. Fumigation of the said apartment was done immediately and new crisp white towels were purchased for use by all our guests.
We hope you will be giving us another chance & returning to our resort in the near future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Mwebe for our honeymoon in August of 2004. The place was clean, catered to all our needs. We loved especially the town, which was within walking distance from the resort. The beach was wonderfully blue, cool water, and the climate nicely hot for that time of the year. The people both from the resort, and the town were very hospitable, especially because my wife an I wanted to sample what it would feel like to be a local there. We will be going back to Kenya again this year, and staying at Mwembe is definately on the cards.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Hello Lesgp,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback from your stay. Hope to see you back here soon.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Mwembe Resort in December 2007. The resort was lovely and the staff superb - best service I've ever experienced. The food at the attached restaurant was A+++.

Malindi is a beautfiul colourful place with much to see - from stunning tropical beaches to fun and exciting safari. We will definately return.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness & service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaTinecheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Hello Tanya,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! We work really hard to make sure our guest have an a wonderful time here.

Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malindi hotels
2.6 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#3 of 28 in Malindi
219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
Sai Eden Roc Hotel
#20 of 28 in Malindi
42 reviews
2.0 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#2 of 28 in Malindi
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
2.7 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
7.4 mi away
Karibuni Villas
Karibuni Villas
#3 of 3 in Mambrui
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mwembe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mwembe Resort

Property: Mwembe Resort
Address: Mtangani Road, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Malindi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mwembe Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an oasis of a tropical garden within exotic plants and giant mango trees from which the name is derived, Mwembe Resort is a luxury experience. The artificial falls created in the main pool give you peace, beauty and tranquility in a breezy tropical garden. Our guests can relax at one of our 4 swimming pools, a bistro, bar or a restaurant. Amazing place for family holidays, weddings or even business conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and Jovago.com so you can book your Mwembe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mwembe Resort Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing