We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Place”
Review of Mwembe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mwembe Resort
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Malindi
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GREAT Place”
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Just returned from my Honeymoon here. It was amazing! I read the review abou troom 15 and that is unfortunate but do not let it deter you from staying here. My room was very clean. The grounds are beautiful and expansive (the website pictures do not do it justice.) The staff were extremely helpful and friendly especially Zu! She brought us into town herself on several occasions just to show us where things were, like the grocery store or the Malindi Handcraft Co-op which you really should visit if you go to Malindi. She also went on her own to exchange money for us so that we would have time to catch the shuttle to the beach. The shuttle to the beach was not ideal but really not that bad and a tuk-tuk was also a very cheap and easy way to get there. The Rosada beach club was beautiful with the same level of service I received at the resort. Lorenzo's restaurant at the resort was ok... The service was great but the food was over priced and not really that good. If you stay there try Bar-Bar outside of the resort for much cheaper and tastier italian food.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwa612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Hello rwa612,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. We appreciate your kind words. We work really hard to offer the best to our guests. We have a new chef and we are excited for you to come and try out his new menu.
We hope you will be giving us another chance & returning to our resort in the near future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miss777
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Yes I stayed here, and was eaten alive by bed bugs, in apartment 15 the one right outside reception. We should have known something was up when we saw the towels they provided (they were green and dowdy and not the crisp whites you expect from a 5*). In fairness the management moved us as soon as we told them what had happened, their explanation being that it was a certain type of guest that had stayed and left the bed bugs behind (excuse me, is that MY problem?! NO. You should CLEAN the rooms after someone leaves, and check for these things!). Anyway, lovely location, beautiful grounds, blah blah, not worth the extreme itchiness and sleeplessness that comes with bed bug bites. Check your room before you unpack people!! and beware of room number 15!.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Hello Miss 777,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. However, we were saddened to hear how uncomfortable your stay was. We sincerely apologize. Fumigation of the said apartment was done immediately and new crisp white towels were purchased for use by all our guests.
We hope you will be giving us another chance & returning to our resort in the near future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Mwebe for our honeymoon in August of 2004. The place was clean, catered to all our needs. We loved especially the town, which was within walking distance from the resort. The beach was wonderfully blue, cool water, and the climate nicely hot for that time of the year. The people both from the resort, and the town were very hospitable, especially because my wife an I wanted to sample what it would feel like to be a local there. We will be going back to Kenya again this year, and staying at Mwembe is definately on the cards.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Hello Lesgp,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback from your stay. Hope to see you back here soon.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Mwembe Resort in December 2007. The resort was lovely and the staff superb - best service I've ever experienced. The food at the attached restaurant was A+++.

Malindi is a beautfiul colourful place with much to see - from stunning tropical beaches to fun and exciting safari. We will definately return.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness & service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaTinecheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Hello Tanya,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! We work really hard to make sure our guest have an a wonderful time here.

Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed here from the 7th January 2008 as part of our two week holiday in Malindi, The first week was at the Coral Key Resort. We bookd through RCI using our welcome weeks for joining RCI

The resort is on the other side of Malindi to Coral Key and Scorpio Villas? It is near Elephant Square. You go down a side road to access the hotel. My husband nicknamed the hotel "the prison" because it was on the road to the prison an is encircled by high walls. Security was high because of the problems. (we had absolutely no trouble during our whole stay) and once inside you felt you were in a very exculisive world.

The grounds are extensive and well kept, staff always cleaning. The bungalows are well spaced apart so afford privacy. Ours had a large iiving room with two sofa beds with mosquito nets, a dining table, television unit and small kitchen area. This was fully equiped only problem was the fridge was small like a normal hotel mini fridge.

There was a large bedroom with amply storage space and a good sized comfortable bed. Off the main room was a hallway with more storage and then the bathroom. The only surpising thing was there were no complimentary toiletries. There was AC in the bedroom but not in the main room so might be a bit uncomfortable if anyone was sleeping in there.

There is a very nice restaurant there as well. They also do half board and full board but we didn't bother with this as were going on safari during the week. The hotel is not by the sea and runs a shuttle bus to its private beach. Think they say about 10 minutes but it is considerably longer than this depending on the traffic. We went once but didn't really enjoy it that much as the sea was out most of the day anyway. They have a lovely restaurant there as well. Unfortunately I became ill after we had been there so didn't each much the rest of the holiday as wanted to ok for our safari.

They run a shuttle bus to Elephant square where there is a very good Italian supermarket and a lovely bakers. Bit off the beaten track though but well signposted from the main road. You can also change money there and get good rates off the people in the streets and they were all very helpful and friendly. Further along there is a huge tourist shop with many of the things the hawkers sell at a much cheaper price without the hassle of haggling. Walking further up you come to the centre of Malindi with more shops particularly for fabrics. The otherside of Malindi on the coast road is the Tourist Market. We walked up to Elephant square and felt extremely safe but tuk tuk are very cheap 50 shillings from the square or 100 for a greater distance.

The hotel was lovely and the staff couldn't do enough for you. We had a massage and some other treatments and these were all very reasonable. Unfortunately, due to the troubles the hotel was empty there were only about 12 of us and we hardly saw any of these guest it meant we had the pool to ourselves. Usually they do some kind of evening entertainment but this had been cancelled because of lack of guests.

As I say it is a beautiful hotel and would love to go back to it but there are other places I want to visit before repeating myself. It is quite often offered as a bonus week on RCI and is well worth snapping up at these reduced prices. I have photos but always have problems downloading them onto my reviews but if anyone is interested I will try forwarding them to you.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank polibrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MwembeResort M, Guest Relations Manager at Mwembe Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Hello polibrit,

Thank you for the great review! we are glad you enjoyed your holiday with us.
Hope to have you back soon.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malindi hotels
2.6 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#3 of 27 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.0 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#2 of 27 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
2.7 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sandies Tropical Village
7.4 mi away
Karibuni Villas
Karibuni Villas
#3 of 3 in Mambrui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.6 mi away
Giraffe House
Giraffe House
#16 of 33 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mwembe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mwembe Resort

Property: Mwembe Resort
Address: Mtangani Road, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Malindi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Malindi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Malindi
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mwembe Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an oasis of a tropical garden within exotic plants and giant mango trees from which the name is derived, Mwembe Resort is a luxury experience. The artificial falls created in the main pool give you peace, beauty and tranquility in a breezy tropical garden. Our guests can relax at one of our 4 swimming pools, a bistro, bar or a restaurant. Amazing place for family holidays, weddings or even business conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and Jovago.com so you can book your Mwembe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mwembe Resort Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing