We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, clean and comfortable rooms & a nice pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marine Holiday House
Ranked #7 of 37 Malindi B&B and Inns
Geesteren, The Netherlands
1 review
“Delicious food, clean and comfortable rooms & a nice pool”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We spent 6 nights in Marine Holiday House and really liked the hotel. Everything is very well taken care off: food, rooms, pool; it all looks tidy, clean and pretty. The hotel is small and therefore quiet and has a friendly atmosphere. The food is delicious (we recommend you to opt for half or full board), although for us non-Italian people it felt a bit strange to eat pies, muffins and other sweets for breakfast, but you'll not hear us complain.

The hotel is located about 5 kilometers south of Malindi, which we found an advantage: it is quieter and the beach is nicer than in Malindi itself.

If we have to name one downside of this hotel, it might be that warm water is only available from 18:30-19:30h, but who needs warm water anyway with temperatures around 30 degrees celsius?

In summary, this hotel offers good value for money: great food, a nice pool, clean and comfortable rooms for a modest price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janneke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    13
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
38
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Perfect place to relax with your family. The hosts and staff are very welcoming and make you feel at home. It's calm and pleasant environment makes it qualify for a nice holiday place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2011

While searching for a place in malindi we came across this house. As we walked in both the host and hostess were so welcoming that we prayed they had rooms and sheer luck they did. For the children it was perfect with the pool where they swam with no restrictions.... The swing bed at the pool bar is perfect to just laze around in the evenings while having your drink. The food is excellent considering we had kids... Jessica & Luca went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. The room had a minibar and TV....which was perfect.
The staff were very helpful always at hand with a smile..... Though it was short but we had the most memorable time and would love to go back and stay longer next time.....

I thank both Jessica & Luca for making our stay one to never forget. May God bless them and their two beautiful kids Frederico and Phillipo

Irham, saheel, saaqib, manal & dawood

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I have chosen the Marine Holiday House in Malindi by looking at the excellent reviews in Tripadvisor. Well, everything was even better than expected! The room and its bathroom were clean, natty and comfortable. You will feel as living in your own apartment with a wonderful garden and swimming pool and close to the Marine Natural Reserve of Malindi. Jessica and Luca, and the entire staff will do their best to meet your needs. The restaurant serves great Italian dishes with fresh daily seafood and organic vegetables picked directly in their garden. In sum, a great place to stay in Malindi!
Thank you Jessica and Luca,

Edoardo Mostarda

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edoardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My girlfriend and I spent 5 nights at Marine Holiday House in Malindi and we wished we could have stayed for longer. Jessica and Luca and their wonderful staff looked after our every need. The rooms were excellent, the food was delicious and the grounds were immaculate. We had no complaint at all. Jessica and Luca were always on hand to help us with choices of what to do and where how to go. It can be a headache organizing trips with people hassling you, but our hosts knew numbers of people who just did everything for s at the correct prices. The hotel is about a 5 or 10 minute walk from a beautiful beach. The Marine Reserve is just offshore where you can organize a snorkeling trip or scuba diving. We saw octopus, millions of fish and a turtle.
Overall, we highly recommend Marine Holiday House. You will have a wonderful there.

Room Tip: We paid 5 euros extra to have a deluxe room and we had meals served on our verandah, which was a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soerendonk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Looking for a pleasant and relaxing place close to the beach of Malindi -
this is the place to go:
- elegant rooms in nice styling and very clean
- beautiful garden and great swimming pool
- very gentle and caring staff (thanks again !)
- friendly and attentive management/owners
- 10 minutes walk to the beach and Marine NP
- great (Italian / Western) food & dining: in style
- a quiet and relaxed place
- and a great price/performance ratio
What else are you looking for ?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finduss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venezia
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Are you having holiday in Malindi? Well, there is no single better place to spend those relaxing days in Kenya than MARINE HOLIDAY HOUSE. This resort is run by a very nice Italian family. The food is simply amazing and actually the best kitchen we have found all over Kenya. Rooms are very clean and let's say very beatiful. The swimming pool is
sorrounded by a nice garden which makes you feeling so good.
Enjoy your holiday in this little paradise, two steps by the sea.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treviso27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malindi hotels
1.3 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#2 of 27 in Malindi
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorado Cottage
Dorado Cottage
#12 of 27 in Malindi
214 reviews
2.0 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#3 of 27 in Malindi
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lion in the Sun Resort
Lion in the Sun Resort
#13 of 27 in Malindi
32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Giraffe House
Giraffe House
#16 of 32 in Malindi
12 reviews
1.1 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Holiday House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Holiday House

Property: Marine Holiday House
Address: Casuarina Road, Malindi 20100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Malindi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Malindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marine Holiday House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Holiday House is a resort located in Malindi, Casuarina area, a few steps from entrance of the Marine Park. The resort rents 3 private villas placed in a beautiful tropical garden with private pool. The larger villa includes 6 spacious rooms all with private bathroom, 1 kitchen and veranda, it can hold up to 15 people. The second villa has instead of 2 rooms with private bathrooms, a kitchen, a dining room, living room and large veranda overlooking the pool for a total of 4 beds. The third structure is a new 2 storey boungalow equipped with 2 rooms with private bathrooms, 1 kitchen and 1 veranda facing the pool for a total of 6 beds. We also have ample parking and relaxation area equipped with umbrellas and chairs. Safety is guaranteed H24. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Marine Holiday House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Holiday House Malindi, Kenya, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing