We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic safari at kibo amboseli!!!!!!!”
Review of Kibo Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kibo Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic safari at kibo amboseli!!!!!!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Kibo safari camp for 2 nights during our easter safari by Flash Mc Tours. To be honest Kibo far exceeded our expectations. Upon arrival, we were greeting with a cool towel and drink of fresh juice to refresh ourselves after a long drive...which I thought was a wonderful gesture. Our tent was very spacious and clean.
The swimming pool was just wooow as it had a clear view of Mt. Kilimanjaro.
The Camp is close to the entrance of the Amboseli National Park so you do not have to drive far at all to go on the game drives. We were very lucky, as the first night we arrived we were able to get a good clear view of Mt.Kilimanjaro which was incredible. Food was fulfilling and staff was very friendly. Special thanks to the waiters...they were Amazing!! We would definately recommend Kibo and look forward to visiting again some day.

Room Tip: rooms on the right side have a perfect view of Mt. Kilimanjaro
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 456jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    249
    68
    9
    7
See reviews for
164
265
41
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I recently spent 2 nights here as part of a Safari package covering the Mara, Lake Nakuru, and Amboseli. I was greeted with a smile, a clean towell, and a glass of fruit juice, hospitality which continued throughout the time I was there. The restaurant serves meals between set times and the food itself is excellent, with a really good buffet selection of nice fresh food each time. There's a nice gift shop with some decent gifts in, a bar serving cold beverages, an outside area for sitting in near a fire in the evening, a swimming pool, and if the weather is clear, the shadow of Kilimanjaro makes a perfect backdrop to the camp. I was lucky, my tent #6 looked out onto the mountain and on the last morning I was rewarded with a wonderful view across the Acacia trees. The entrance to Amboseli is literally 5 minutes away, so perfect for early morning or evening game drives. The tents are nice and large, clean, and well equipped, with hot water and a decent shower. I particularly like the way they have used natural features and materials in constructing the camp, you almost feel as though you are part of the bush even though you retain your comforts and civilities. All staff I encountered were friendly and welcoming, I cannot complain about anything and would unhesitatingly recommend a visit to this camp.

Room Tip: If possible, try and get a tent directly facing Kilimanjaro ie 1-10, amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForceTranquille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was the last bed of the last leg of our superbe holiday and we were not disapointed, it was a tented camp with a smashing swimming pool all at the foot of mount Kilimanjaro. the food was ample and aplenty, the staff were friendly and welcoming, there was a reasonably priced gift shop with lots of beautiful wooden carvings and the like. the tents were fabulous and nothing like we would imagine camping, real beds all under mosquito nets with ensuite bathroom and real flushing toilet! We have had the holiday of a life time and tis place added to our African adventure, I travellrd alone with my 14 yr old son and at no time did I ever feel vulnerable or a lone parent, there was a super pool area where we were lucky enough to spend a whole afterneeon relaxing by before heading out for our afternoon safari! I would recommend this place to anyone. Even our game driver said it was his favourite and he has stayed in lots of game lodges and camps.

Room Tip: enjoy! go outon safari early in the morining, chill by the pool in the afternoon and then have a cup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louicoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Kibo is a very nice luxury tented campsite. Very nice restaurant, excellent cook and other staff members, great food, tents are just super, having solar system for hot water – lot of good things about Kibo. Even they have Swimming pool so kids can enjoy nature just right from Swimming pool. In the night, you will enjoy camp fire and Masi dance. You may feel that bathroom is bit small but remember that you are staying in Tents and not in hotel. Also, remember that you are in a forest area where there’s no power line or water line so they have to provide power by using generators. So, it’s always in the interest of animals that campsite will use less and less generators. It’s our job to use minimum power, water and other resources to reduce waste and allow animals to live their life happily.

Another great thing is that you will have a view of Mount Kilimanjaro just from your tent and also if you are lucky, you will hear animal noise in the night. Very friendly atmosphere. Super place to enjoy your game drive. I stayed in Siana Spring in Masi Mara and I love that place and I found that this campsite is even better than that. I recommend this place to anyone who loves nature and wild life.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in last row starting from Room # T 13 or T 14. I was in a Room # T 17 which was ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koumac, New Caledonia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The best thing of this camp is that the restaurant, bar, and tents have a great view on the Kilimandjaro. It's absolutely amazing.
The tents are quite small, basic and not really comfortable. Actually, I'd rather have had a separate common block with showers and toilets than have it inside our tent.
Water is limited and hot water and electricity are not available all the time but all timetables are written inside the tent and you're also provided with a torch in case you've forgotten yours.
Food is average and drinks are quite expensive.
The park itself is a little disappointing. It's hard to spot animals because there are very few tracks and the landscape is monotonous. Of course watching herds of elephants and zebras with the Kilimandjaro in the background is still worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isa_57016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Kibo Safari camp is located right outside the Amboselli Park entrance (so you can get in the park in 10 minutes if you're in a hurry for an early morning game drive), and is a wonderful place to stay if you want to be right next to the wildlife yet don't want to miss the comforts of civilization. With the Kilimanjaro as the daytime, and the Milky Way as the night time view, with lions calling right next to the camp, I was definitely satisfied with the setting. The safari camp is also pretty close to a couple of Masaai villages - a visit is definitely worth the time (and please take some candy for the kids) - it's a great experience. In terms of Amboselli, it's nice... though doesn't rate as my top safari experience (the settings are great with Kilimanjaro in the back, and a good quantity of herbivores - zebras, elephants, wildebeest - unfortunately we didn't manage to see any predators. 2-3 game drives is perfectly enough I think.)

In terms of Kibo facilities, the tents are comfortable, the food is OK (almost all Western, would have loved to try some more local food) but the variety is good, the other facilities are great.
The staff is what really makes a difference, they are just amazing - always cheerful and helpful, everybody I talked to could have been the owner of the place, judging by their enthusiasm. Special thanks to Cecilia and also Ben, the manager, who also helped us arrange a car for our onward journey. Many thanks!

All in all - if you decide to go to Amboselli, Kibo is a great camp to stay at.

Room Tip: Would definitely go for the first row of tents - looking directly onto the bush and Kilimanjaro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Amboseli was our last destination in Kenya & we did enjoy our stay in kibo camp.the staff were helpful.dinner & breakfast buffet was basic.The tents were neat.Sockets were provided in the tents to charge electronic devices.Hot water is available 24hrs.They also have a spa at very reasonable rates.We enjoyed the masai dance around the fire in the evenings.Staff were polite & helpful.The camp was completely booked & there were too many people which ddnt really make us feel like we were out in the jungle.Lunch pack definitely needs improvement.Besides elephants we didnot see much in amboseli national park,wudnt suggest as a must visit place but Kibo camp is definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCD_DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
0.7 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
358 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
759 reviews
7.8 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
112 reviews
13.8 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#5 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
321 reviews
10.5 mi away
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
#7 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kibo Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibo Safari Camp

Property: Kibo Safari Camp
Address: 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kibo Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kibo Safari Camp is a luxury tented camp located 1.7kms from the Amboseli Kimana Gate. We would like to be listed among the specialty lodges in Amboseli National Park to enable our clients to understand that we are right at the Park entrance and they can sometimes even see the animals from within the lodge as they occasionally come grazing near our boundary fence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kibo Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kibo Safari Camp Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing