We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Camp”
Review of Kibo Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kibo Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The best thing of this camp is that the restaurant, bar, and tents have a great view on the Kilimandjaro. It's absolutely amazing.
The tents are quite small, basic and not really comfortable. Actually, I'd rather have had a separate common block with showers and toilets than have it inside our tent.
Water is limited and hot water and electricity are not available all the time but all timetables are written inside the tent and you're also provided with a torch in case you've forgotten yours.
Food is average and drinks are quite expensive.
The park itself is a little disappointing. It's hard to spot animals because there are very few tracks and the landscape is monotonous. Of course watching herds of elephants and zebras with the Kilimandjaro in the background is still worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isa_57016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 869 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

Kibo Safari camp is located right outside the Amboselli Park entrance (so you can get in the park in 10 minutes if you're in a hurry for an early morning game drive), and is a wonderful place to stay if you want to be right next to the wildlife yet don't want to miss the comforts of civilization. With the Kilimanjaro as the daytime, and the Milky Way as the night time view, with lions calling right next to the camp, I was definitely satisfied with the setting. The safari camp is also pretty close to a couple of Masaai villages - a visit is definitely worth the time (and please take some candy for the kids) - it's a great experience. In terms of Amboselli, it's nice... though doesn't rate as my top safari experience (the settings are great with Kilimanjaro in the back, and a good quantity of herbivores - zebras, elephants, wildebeest - unfortunately we didn't manage to see any predators. 2-3 game drives is perfectly enough I think.)

In terms of Kibo facilities, the tents are comfortable, the food is OK (almost all Western, would have loved to try some more local food) but the variety is good, the other facilities are great.
The staff is what really makes a difference, they are just amazing - always cheerful and helpful, everybody I talked to could have been the owner of the place, judging by their enthusiasm. Special thanks to Cecilia and also Ben, the manager, who also helped us arrange a car for our onward journey. Many thanks!

All in all - if you decide to go to Amboselli, Kibo is a great camp to stay at.

Room Tip: Would definitely go for the first row of tents - looking directly onto the bush and Kilimanjaro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Amboseli was our last destination in Kenya & we did enjoy our stay in kibo camp.the staff were helpful.dinner & breakfast buffet was basic.The tents were neat.Sockets were provided in the tents to charge electronic devices.Hot water is available 24hrs.They also have a spa at very reasonable rates.We enjoyed the masai dance around the fire in the evenings.Staff were polite & helpful.The camp was completely booked & there were too many people which ddnt really make us feel like we were out in the jungle.Lunch pack definitely needs improvement.Besides elephants we didnot see much in amboseli national park,wudnt suggest as a must visit place but Kibo camp is definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCD_DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our first destination in kenya and were kinda vary about what to expect. But Kibo safari camp came as a welcome start - Clean, good food, jovial and courteous staff and an excellent atmosphere.
We were 3 of us sharing a tent so felt a bit cramped... but not enough to complain. The washrooms were interesting with hot water available through out the day ( in the middle of nowhere!).
Never got a chance to indulge in the pool... but was very inviting.
Thinking about going there? - Dont think twice! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drpeekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Amboseli is one of the best wildlife parks in east Africa. We went there for a business trip where the management had arranged our stay at Kibo safari camp. The camp was just great,tents clean,nice food,staff very friendly. We can't wait to return.
Thank you to sundaybestsafaris team,the guide Jojo and driver Badru who did their best just to make us happy.

The camp environment is so cool and relaxing. We had a very nice view of Kilimanjaro and this made us dream of paradise as it was different from our city life with all the motor noises,pollution and what you like....

When thinking to visit Amboseli,try this camp and you won't be wrong.. pass our greetings to the young morans,we really miss there dance.

Room Tip: here all tents have a nice view of Kilimanjaro
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mombasa_KenyaFarrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

After years on and off in Kenya, we decided we could not defer a visit to Amboseli much longer. As a result, we booked a long week-end at Kibo Safari Camp.
Our stay was pretty much average: nothing too bad to complain about, but also nothing great to write home about.
The tents are just enough spacious and clean, and the staff is very helpful.
Other than that, everything is pretty much middle of the road. The season's weather did not help, unfortunately, so we could not quite use the swimming-pool because of the chilly temperature.
The food was plentiful, though a little too repetitive (even over the three-day stay). A point of honour are the desserts, typically not a strength in this part of the world, for which the chef's experience is clearly an element of added value.
If you add the limited variety of wildlife visible during the game drives (clearly not to be blamed on the camp), this holiday is one of those "Done it" things that won't probably come up for a repeat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our first visit to Kenya and we stayed here for our second night during our safari trip that we had booked with Shadrack and Glorious Safaris and we thought it was spectacular.

We were greeted with cold juice and a fresh towel to freshen up with, which was great after a long dusty drive.
After check in we were shown to our tent which was 10B. It was fantastic, we loved it, it has a very comfy double bed and clean and spacious with a lovely little en-suite at the back. There were fresh flowers and a fruit platter as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary the day we stayed there.

From our little tent terrace you could sit and watch the animals and the view of Kilimanjaro was stunning. The camp also had a huge swimming pool and a wonderful bar serving lovely cocktails. The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome, Charles in the dining room made our day as he had a son called Ian (my husband is called Ian) and insisted we call him Dad, So a big hello to Dad if you are reading this.

The food was buffet style and delicious. After our evening meal we had a big surprise, the staff sang and danced their way through the restaurant and presented us with a cake to help celebrate our anniversary with us – just wonderful (thank you Shadrack for arranging this for us)
After the celebrations in the restaurant we then danced with the Massai around the camp fire before heading back to our tent. I have never before seen stars like the ones in the night sky here, which was just a perfect way to end our day. After falling into bed and listening to the nightlife, Elephant rumbles a Hyena and a herd of Zebra running past we fell asleep. At dawn the views of Kilimanjaro when we opened our tent were breathtaking.

A lovely little camp, which we will definitely come back to on our travels, please feel free to ask me any questions; I’ll be more than happy to respond.

Room Tip: Tent 10B right on the end, no other tents infront of you so you have Kilimanjaro all to yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mawsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
0.7 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
376 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
809 reviews
7.8 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
344 reviews
2.1 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
117 reviews
6.2 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#6 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kibo Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibo Safari Camp

Address: 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range: $199 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kibo Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kibo Safari Camp is a luxury tented camp located 1.7kms from the Amboseli Kimana Gate. We would like to be listed among the specialty lodges in Amboseli National Park to enable our clients to understand that we are right at the Park entrance and they can sometimes even see the animals from within the lodge as they occasionally come grazing near our boundary fence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kibo Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kibo Safari Camp Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing