We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No laundry service? No problem!”
Review of Kibo Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kibo Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“No laundry service? No problem!”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

By some standards in Kenya, this is not an over the top luxury camp...but it's not like camping as I know it in Canada! From the comfy four poster queen size bed draped with mosquito netting to the clean western style flushie and hot water shower, the surreal view of Mount Kilimanjaro in the near distance dominates! Just look at the pictures!! The staff was very warm and friendly and went out of their way to help us. (Thanks again, Mercy, for doing some much needed laundry for us- I can only hope we tipped you enough!) This camp was suggested to us by Joyce Mbote, our delightful Tour operator in Nairobi(please support the Kenyan economy by choosing a Kenyan company! Email her at Asili Adventure Safaris and beg for the services of Joseph Gikunju-a gentleman, a scholar and a guide par excellence! He can even drive safely in the notorious traffic of downtown Nairobi!) I would highly and enthusiastically recommend this camp when you're in Amboseli, and invite you to contact me with any questions!

Room Tip: Pick one...you may need to lean over SLIGHTLY to get the best view....!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaFran4kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    241
    66
    9
    7
See reviews for
158
256
38
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

During first part of october'11 we stayed two nights at Kibo Safari Camp. Having all sorts of facilities, shower, hot water, time framed electricity. All of the above the hospitality of the KIibo team.wonderful ,You will never feel that you are out of your home, so nice. All though it is not a luxurious, even then you stay here. Quality and varity of food is wonderful. They will served food as per your chice,if required. Lovely pool side. Charming bar. The beauty at the fool hill of Mount Kili will definitely touch you. What more you expect more. Only draw back was the conneting road from the kibo gate to gate of the national park.So Bad. I request to the authority to look in to it, please.

Room Tip: No such preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knightrider1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecht, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Due to a ceremony in Nairobi we were stranded for several hours on the airstrip in Masai Mara arrived very late in Amoboseli. We were tired and just had something to drink before going to bed. The tent was not so luxurious , but it was clean and you could really take a hot shower !! Everyone was very friendly. There is campfire at night and the best place to see the stars and evenThe Milky Way. It was the first hot night of our safari with no clouds. So while enjoying a Kenyan beer we really enjoyed looking at all those stars.
The road to the lodge is a bit rough.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The food was decent to good, highlights being the soup and the local vegetable produce (tomatoes, onions). The tents were simple but clean, with hot water and electricity working flawlessly. Nothing fancy, but comfortable.

Only drawback was the road just outside the hotel to the national park- it was very very bumpy, especially in our safari van. Needs to be fixed up a little.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Commando_Cotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Kibo Safari Camp for three nights, and loved it!! We felt that it was a very authentic and cultural Kenyan experience, and even though it was not the most luxurious camp in the world, it certainly had the most charm and personality out of any tented camp we stayed in during our safari.

Given that this was our first tented camp experience, everything was new and exciting, from the mosquito nets enveloping us in our beds, to rolling up and down (opening and closing) our "windows", to taking a break and reading a good book on our "porch." Surprisingly, the shower water pressure was great and we generally did not have much of a problem getting hot water (although I always showered first, so my husband might have something different to say :P). Amboseli is definitely a windy and dusty place, though, so be prepared for a bit of a dusty tent experience with the sound of tent flaps blowing in the wind. The room boys did a great job of cleaning up everyday. And of course, we had a fabulous view of Mt. Kilimanjaro. Breathtaking!!

We really enjoyed the main restaurant and bar, and most guests all shared the same routine everyday, ie. after the afternoon game drive, have a round or two of drinks at the bar, then proceed to the restaurant for dinner before heading home and waking up at 6am the next day! I actually LOVED the food at Kibo Safari Camp and enjoyed it more than any other place we stayed in Kenya. I stayed away from the salads, but the soups were great (not too rich or thick) and the hot food was delicious - again, not too rich or overwhelming, but flavorful and comforting. I am still thinking about the vegetable tempura and the baked fish! The desserts were also fantastic. We were given the same table at the restaurant everyday for every meal, and were served by the same waitress. She was lovely and we tipped her after every meal. We could tell she really appreciated it, and whenever she saw us walking outside of the restaurant, she would tell us that she would wait for us at the next meal!

We spent a couple of mornings laying out by the pool, although we never got in as the water was freezing. I also had a US$30 one hour massage, which was of okay quality but I could not pass up a massage at that price, coming from NYC! The "spa" is a wooden hut which faces the forest and has no door... I was hoping no one would walk by! I was also slightly disappointed when the supposed one hour massage ended after only 50 minutes, but didn't say anything of it.

As other reviewers have said, the road to/from Amboseli is unpaved and very bumpy at times. Our backs were a little bit sore the first day, but we quickly got used to it and in fact, once we got back to Nairobi three days later, the roads felt way too smooth for me! :)

One strange incident we experienced at Kibo was when before my massage, my masseuse introduced me to another masseuse and then asked me if my husband and I were headed back to Nairobi the next day. I told her yes, and she said that we and her masseuse friend should go to Nairobi together. I didn't think too much of it, but that evening, our driver-guide told us that this masseuse wanted to hitch a ride with us back to Nairobi the next day. We were fine with it, and she sat in our front seat during the 5+ hour drive back, but we initially thought it was strange that the Kibo staff have no other way of getting to and from the camp other than hitching rides with guests!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caramels03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Kibo was a very different camp to everywhere else we stayed on Safari but we had a wonderful time. This camp definitely feels more of a camp than a luxury lodge and made us feel like we were on a safari rather than just being another hotel. The greeting on arrival was friendly and the camp site was excellently set out. There is even a shop for all those safari essentials if you have forgotten anything. The swimming pool was nice and it was possible to walk around the edge of the camp site although we didn’t see much of the wildlife while there. The tents themselves whilst basic had all the modern features such as electricity and hot water whilst still retaining the old fashioned tented charm. The bed was probably the most comfortable we slept in all Safari! The restaurant was really nice with excellent service and a good choice of food. The bar prices were reasonable and there was an excellent choice. The tented rooms and old fashioned feel of the camp help create a wonderful atmosphere in the restaurant, bar and round the camp fire. We really enjoyed our stay here and waking up to the most amazing clear view of Kilimanjaro at 6am is something that stays with you for life. We would recommend this camp for a true taste of Safari in a wonderful setting.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wide World
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I have to admit, having visited other camps in Kenya, Kibo may not rank at the top in terms of luxury or comfort, but we found it atmospheric and pleasurable. The tents are somewhat smaller than the other camps we stayed in (Flaming Hill in Nakuru and Leisure in Maasai Mara), and there is no separate, concrete walled or tiled bathroom, but after all, this is a camp, not a lodge! The tent was anyway comfortable ans blended in very subtly in the landscape.

The staff was quite friendly, especially our waiter Duncan, attentive and professional. We found the food rather good, above our expectations (having spent the first 15 years of my working life as a chef and restaurant manager, I tend to be quite fussy and whenever there is a buffet involved, I automatically assume food won't be that good).

A welcome addition, the swimming pool was very nice and welcoming on those hot afternoons waiting to go on game drives, providing expansive views towards Kilimanjaro. Which is, after all, the real star of the show: waking u on those fresh mornings to the majestic mountain facing you right outside your tent, is unique and unmissable.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 - 10 have a great front view of Kili.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Locondro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
0.7 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
7.8 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
10.5 mi away
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
#6 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
6.2 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#7 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kibo Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibo Safari Camp

Property: Kibo Safari Camp
Address: 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kibo Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kibo Safari Camp is a luxury tented camp located 1.7kms from the Amboseli Kimana Gate. We would like to be listed among the specialty lodges in Amboseli National Park to enable our clients to understand that we are right at the Park entrance and they can sometimes even see the animals from within the lodge as they occasionally come grazing near our boundary fence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kibo Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kibo Safari Camp Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing