We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not have been better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porini Amboseli Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Amboseli Camp
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could not have been better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a two night stay at Amboseli Porini Camp. Having done a brief stay at Nairobi Tented Camp it was our first introduction to rural Kenya. The Selenkay conservancy is fantastic both as a concept and a location - we felt so privileged to be observing these animals up close in what is essentially your own private game reserve, guided by the Maasai who are not only brilliant at locating the animals but also at explaining their behaviour. They also provide a great gin and tonic sundowner!
We read of previous guests driving to Selenkay - we flew which was a very quick and comfortable route in to Amboseli. We were immediately met off the plane, given refreshments and taken on a drive before heading in to camp. The manager of the camp (Tony) has assembled a great team who could not have made our stay more comfortable. A day trip into Amboseli National Park was fantastic for seeing the vast plains of wildlife, in particular the elephants, but also highlighted to us how much better the Porini conservancies are for safari by not being restricted to roads or surrounded by lots of other tourist vehicles.
The whole stay at Amboseli was wonderful - we were asked how it could be improved and couldn't think of anything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
137
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a two night stay at this camp. Tony, the camp host was very nice and surprised us wit a bush dinner one night. The food was very good for all meals and they did a very good job of accommodating a gluten free traveler. We had a wonderful picnic lunch in the park. The camp is set in a very pretty area but Amboseli is very very dry. We really enjoyed the bucket shower to wash the dust off. The tents are very comfortable and the staff is anxious to please. You will see lots of elephants and so much more.Our guide was always trying to get us that great picture.
We had a very informative visit to a Maasai village. We really felt like we experienced and appreciated their way of life.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at Amboseli Porini camp for three nights and it was an utterly stunning experience. This is eco friendly safari, staying in tents and using solar energy for any lighting or hot water. The tents and beds are though luxurious (+ ensuite shower!) and you couldn't wish for better attention from the Masai, discretely in the background but always there if needed.

This safari had everything from walking on foot with the Masai for protection (and visiting their village), through the more standard game drives in landrovers to wonderful 'sundowner' and night drives.

Yes, you can get a more luxurious experience in a bespoke lodge/hotel with swimming pool but this is so much better for the environment and the experience (having also done the former) is also so much the better for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at Amboseli Porini Camp for just one night, so whilst it was just a short visit, my experience was excellent. The tents are enormous with a large double bed, single bed, desk and wardrobe, and definitely enough space! Each one has an ensuite bathroom, with shower (probably the best hot shower I've had in a very long time), sink and WC, but again - very spacious. We ate at the Adventure Camp because of the configuration of our group, but had a delicious dinner under the stars, looked after by Wilson and his team from the community. It is true that the community are very much involved here - all the staff seemed to be local, all very friendly and accommodating. We also had the chance to go out to the viewing deck near the waterhole, which was a great experience - we saw an elephant come right down to the watering hole, just as the sun was starting to set.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExperienceKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending time here in June and I must say: If you want to get close with nature and all nature has to offer - this is the real deal. The tented camp is amazing. Crew and guides are very knowledgeable, service minded and will always make sure we are satisfied and pleased.
Food is great. You will eat well and feel pampered for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A perfect place to rest in between excursions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorwayPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

In January I returned for the second time to Amboseli Porini. It was my husbands first trip to Kenya and I wanted him to experience it as I had, on my first trip. We were not disappointed! Everything had been arranged thru Gamewatchers and was perfect. We were met at the airport by our driver who was wonderful. The airline, KLM, had lost my husbands bag and our driver and Gamewatchers went right to work facilitating its return to us. (It was delivered to us on Day 2 by our driver). I had requested Wilson as our guide, as he was the guide on my first trip. He greeted us upon our arrival in camp. It was like returning home! We were the only 2 people in camp for our two days there. Private dining, private game drives, everything was on our schedule...it was amazing! While it would have been nice to meet and mingle with other travelers, a private safari was an amazing experience. And the animals were cooperative, too. They have a beautiful pride of lions, cheetahs, giraffe everywhere, elephants, zebra, and so much more. We will return, to this beautiful camp and their great staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveToTravelKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

What we loved the most about this camp is the small friendly atmosphere. No large tourist groups here, just a few like minded guests and an excellent set of staff who are always at hand when needed. The tents and bathrooms were great, the safari showers one of the most amusing yet eco-friendly experiences of our holiday. I love the way this camp blends into its surroundings, we really felt we were camping in the wild. The fact that this is the only camp in the conservancy meant that we could go on night drives (not allowed in game reserves) and we never met another jeep. What a far cry from the 9 mini vans gazing at the same herd of elephants in the Amboseli reserve. The nightly camp fire before dinner, gazing up at the stars, was unforgettable, the food really good. And the private little 6 seater plane landing at their own air strip was a hoot. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
18.9 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
23.1 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#2 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
21.8 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
29.0 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#7 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
23.0 mi away
Tawi Lodge
Tawi Lodge
#9 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Amboseli Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Amboseli Camp

Property: Porini Amboseli Camp
Address: Selenkay Conservancy, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porini Amboseli Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Selenkay Conservancy lies a few miles north of Amboseli National Park, is an important dispersal area and rangeland for wildlife migrating out of Amboseli. The number of tourist visitors is limited to eighteen per day. Accommodation is at Porini Camp. The facilities include 9 spacious tents, comfortably furnished with en suite bathrooms and solar-powered electric lighting. Game drives in open 4x4s with qualified guides, bush walks, sundowners and night game drives are all included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Porini Amboseli Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amboseli Porini Camp, Selenkay Conservancy Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing