We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porini Amboseli Camp
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sentrim Amboseli(Amboseli Eco-system)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveler rating
322
16
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
16
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaasai villagenational parkjulie roggowbucket showeramboseli campsafari showergame drivesconservancy conceptnight gamesafari experiencehour driveguide wilsonmasai guideslocal villagejake grieves cookdining tentflush toilets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 343 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Reserve has many elephants. They have a good viewing of other animals to. Not many cats in the area. The Porini camp has a great connection they have with the local village is beyond fantastic. The team there at the camp was great, friendly, helpful, and determined. The tents, and trucks all in great shape. The surprise was how little water is available, thus meaning short showers. When traveling there are two airstrips one local and one about 2 hours away. The drives are pretty flexible to what you wanted to see thanks to Julious and Daniel. The food was good and there was more than plenty of it. They had options for beverages. The team was very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This was the first stop we made on our 8 night safari and stayed for two nights. The wildlife spotting around the conservancy where the camp is based was just as good, or better, than in Amboseli national park. Our guides, Julius and Daniel, couldn't have been smarter, more knowledgable or friendly! They started our experience off right. The tents/beds were so clean and comfy and the food was great. I loved that the camp only holds very few number of guests and you felt like it was a private safari. Great open vehicles and cautious drivers- important for the bumpy roads! 5 star experience in a non luxury setting.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nycpennylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

You could not imagine a place as well run, low key yet luxurious in many ways. A true bush experience with all the comforts of home and a very upbeat, friendly and professional staff. The game drives were some of the highlights of a lifetime. Guides are outstanding and solicitous. They went out of their way to create a great experience. We enjoy the outdoors and this was it but with comfortable beds, running water and great meals. Their integration with native Masai and attention to low environmental impact is admirable.

Room Tip: There are no bad ones.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dad4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

An incredible experience. We were one of the first couples to stay after the rainy season and along with a Norwegian couple were the only people there. We had 3 nights there before moving on to the mara camp. The accommodation was great the options are one camp with 6 (just increasing to 9 while we were there) 2 man tents, the foam beds were very comfortable. The other alternative are more luxury tents in the main camp. We had the 2 man tents. The bucket showers and toilets were very good. The food was excellent. Amos and Richard were the perfect hosts and guides. The vehicles were the best around in our opinion. There was no problem charging batteries for camersas. The conservancy and main national park are 2 different experiences. The conservancy devoid of other vehicles, the animals seemed more timid but you felt like you had the whole place to yourself. The main park had a lot of vehicles but we were lucky to see the remains of a lion kill as they slept off there meal we stayed and watched the hyenas come in and then the vultues until every thing was gone. Amos's knowledge of the animals I believe is second to none and he and Richard were great to spend time with (what was good for President Obama - Amos was his guide as well!! - must be good for us) Would definately recommend the experience as part of a 2 location stay along with the Mara camp which we also did (3 nights in each) Both are differnent types of landscape, certainly with in the 2 conservancies. Would have no hesitation in recommending these 2 camps based on our totally enjoyable and rewarding experiences. Probably as close an experience as you can get of having a wild camping safari. A real "Out of Africa" experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed two nights at Amboseli Porini Camp and were really well taken care of and spoiled by campmanager Tony with crew.

The camp is very well taken care of and very well kept, with a massive attention to details. The tents is very spacious and all the necessary facilities are provided.
They prepared the tents for us every night by closing the blinds and putting a hot water bottle in our luxurious king sized bed and every morning at wake-up, they served us coffee and tea in our tents before breakfast.

The food and service is excellent and you are always met by a genuine will to give you an spot-less stay at the camp. They never stoped caring about us having a great time!

The fact that Amboseli Porini Camp is run by maasais gives the place a special atmosphere and a feeling of beeing very "real-life". It also gives you a unique opportunity to get up-close and personal with maasai culture.

During the many game drives we did, we really got to see the special skills the guide and the drivers have to spot and find the varios animals. And their knowledge of the animals is impressive!

It's also an amazing feeling to be almost alone in the conservancy where only the local maasais are allowed, which gives you a very "non-touristy" experience.

ECO-friendliness and a genuine care for the land and nature is always present at Amboseli Porini Camp and that's what we consider very importat matters when visiting Africa and going on safari.

Our last evening at tha camp we were given a surprise maasai sing and dance preformance which ended with with us beeing served a wedding cake because we were getting married a week later.

We've got nothing but good things to say about Amboseli Porini Camp and all the people who made it into what it is. YOU'LL NOT BE DISAPOINTED AT THIS CAMP!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xXISPARKYIXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews