We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Chyulu Hills”
Review of Campi ya Kanzi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Campi ya Kanzi
Certificate of Excellence
Mondsee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Chyulu Hills”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent beginning of January 3 nights at Campi ya Kanzi in an amazing landscape of the Chyulu hills. After coming from Masai Mara with big cats all days long - wildlife was different at Campi ya Kanzi. Less wildlife but exciting landscape, most friendly hosts and great locations. We enjoyed walks and sundowners on the smooths green hills as well as game drives (incl Tsavo NP). Food is best italian quality with lots of pasta and the whole team takes care all the time. Once we had dinner in the cave! Great time at Campi ya Kanzi!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Thank you!! Hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
27
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

If you enjoy getting away from the crowds while still having a bit of comfort and cultural immersion, then Campi ya Kanzi is for you. I would recommend at least 5 days at Campi ya Kanzi to get the full experience. My wife and I spent a week at the camp and every day was different with a mix of activities that left us with a big smile. We had two guides that made the trip very special for us, Parashi and Sunde, and of course our host Stefano. It was a very personalized experience and we felt that we were part of a family at the camp and not just a guest. I would suggest that if you go you try the fly camping (and while at it offer to buy a local goat to share with your Maasai hosts - you will never forget the experience as simple as it sounds). The price for an African safari is not cheap, but you get what you pay for. I would highly recommend Campi ya Kanzi and hope to return someday soon. I've heard some reviews that it is difficult to see wildlife at the camp. We saw leopards, lions (right outside our tent), cheetahs, giraffes, buffalo, zebras, and dozens of other animals along with a tremendous variety of birds. The animals are difficult to see, but it makes the search for them more rewarding AND keep in mind that you will be the only people in sight which makes the experience more authentic and you can go at your own pace. You also have the ability to walk as you please with a Maasai guide by foot who enjoys sharing the secrets of this amazing continent. There is no price to put on being able to do this. In short, Campi ya Kanzi is a special gem of a place that deserves a visit. The people, accommodations, food, terrain and location are fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Amazing, we are happy you saw so many species of wildlife during your stay :) We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I just returned from spending our safari honeymoon in Kenya earlier this month. We traveled around the country and stayed at luxury lodges and other tented camps in many of the popular safari locations... and hands-down, without a doubt, Campi Ya Kanzi was our favorite. The owners, Luca and Antonella, could not possibly have been more gracious hosts. They really treat you like family, and get to feel a part of the remarkable work their doing working with the local tribe. The accommodations and food are also superb, but far more importantly, their staff is beyond compare. The guides and trackers were first rate, and made the trip one we will never forget. They really make you feel like you're their guest, and not just a tourist. We were invited to visit the local school and our guide's family's village - just unique experiences that allow you to get a taste of the local culture. The animal viewing is truly special as well, because the animals you are seeing are really wild. I know they're all "wild" at other camps too, but the animals you will see here do not see humans everyday, and you will not run into other safari jeeps full of tourists every time you see something noteworthy. There are no other camps on this land, so everything you see is private.

Bottom Line... if your only goal is to take pictures of animals, and you don't care how many jeeps are all around you all the time (full of other noisy tourists), you have a million options and this may not be the place for you. But if you're looking to experience wild Africa and see what's happening on the cutting edge of wildlife protection and habitat restoration in a truly luxurious way, don't hesitate... book Camp Ya Kanzi now. In fact, on our last night there my wife and I promised each other that we would come back to visit when we had kids old enough to appreciate it.

THANK YOU LUCA & ANTONELLA (and Stephano & Sunde)!!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms (aka - luxury tents) are fantastic, with indoor plumbing, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drc1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
The pleasure is ALL OURS! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, Karibuni any time you like! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Perfect respite for us! Highlights were flights along Chyulu Hills with fab pilot Sarah, hiking in the Cloud Forest, hiking from camp to Pride Rock, visiting the MWCT office, meeting with the school head mistress & touring the school rooms, chatting with the doctor. Fortunately for us, although wildlife sightings in general were somewhat scarce in the immediate area, lion were mating near camp and we got some excellent photos. We found the camp setting to be magical and the staff most attentive. Dinners in the Tembo Lodge are gas lantern lit and incredibly romantic. We were there during the cooler winter time (some overcast skies and cooler temps in general which to me is a plus) so advise others to pack nanopuff jackets or the like. We left with many happy memories and hope to return sometime soon!

Room Tip: The tents closest to the waterhole are the most desirable. Fortunately we were relocated closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jboyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
It makes us happy that you enjoyed your stay here :) Thank you for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Campi ya Kanzi was just awesome. After we had just spent 3 nights in the northern Serengeti, we just didn't see how anything could be any different or any better. Well, it was!! The eco-friendly camp is spectacular!! The view from the lodge is beautiful, the staff is just so accomodating, and the food is 5 star. We saw great animals, including mating lions (I won't mention the 2 male lions that were having quite a "discussion" outside of our tent one night). I would HIGHLY recommend going to Campi ya Kanzi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Asante sana!! We hope to share more days with you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Everything about Campi Ya Kanzi was special. The staff is superb. The facilities very comfortable. Attention to every detail and always concern for our well being. There were surprises which I won't mention in case you're lucky enough to go. The concern for the environment has earned them well deserved awards. We will miss our guide and tracker Parashi and Risa. They were fun to be with and taught us so much. Samson ran things beautifully while the owners were away during our visit. Don't miss Campi Ya Kanzi !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Many thanks for your lovely words! Hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Wouldn't go back due to the lack of game to view on the safaris, which was my main reason for visiting Africa.

Pros:
Food was great. Even had dinner one night in a cave which was fun. 

Nice view of Mt Kilamajaro

Very safe 

Owners and staff are very friendly

Nice rooms

Options to hike or run with a guide with nice views of greenery and rolling hills

Owners have a charitable foundation and part of the accommodation fee goes to the surrounding Masai villages for running water and schools for example.

Cons:

Lack of game - saw only 2 lions in 5 days and no other cats. Mostly see antelope-type game and some birds. Didn't see elephants either. Go to Masai Mara if you want to see large game.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank powder1538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli Eco-system
14.8 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
731 reviews
35.7 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
356 reviews
49.5 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#4 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
814 reviews
33.3 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#6 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
225 reviews
21.3 mi away
Great Plains Conservation ol Donyo Lodge
Great Plains Conservation ol Don...
#9 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campi ya Kanzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campi ya Kanzi

Property: Campi ya Kanzi
Address: Mtito Andei, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campi ya Kanzi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campi ya Kanzi is widely recognized as one of the most unique and inspiring safari experiences in Africa. Situated at the foot of the legendary Chyulu Hills, Hemingway’s Green Hills of Africa, it is a luxury camp offering an incomparable combination of 5-star luxury, first class wilderness adventure, amazing wildlife, and authentic immersion in Maasai culture. This is truly the ultimate African safari.This luxury lodge has been built in partnership with the Maasai community of the 280,000-acre Kuku Group Ranch.Campi ya Kanzi has a unique commitment to community development and environmental sustainability: we are leaders in real ecotourism, engaging the local Maasai in benefiting from wilderness with thriving wildlife. Built from local materials, it uses solar technology to supply hot water and electricity to the six luxury cottages and two suites. In front of Kilimanjaro, with a Maasai warrior taking you on safari, among elephants and lions, you will experience your dream African adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Campi ya Kanzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campi Ya Kanzi Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing