We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a Lifetime”
Review of Campi ya Kanzi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Campi ya Kanzi
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience of a Lifetime”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Last month I spent almost a week at Campi ya Kanzi and it was absolutely a trip of a lifetime! From the arranged pickup at our hotel to meet our group at Wilson airport in Nairobi until we were dropped back off for our flight to return home to the US, everything was perfect!

The impeccable planning and attention to detail did not go unnoticed. Luca, Antonella, Samson and the rest of the CyK team ensured we were all always having the best possible experience, catering the schedule each day to each individual's needs/interests.

The tents were awesome (luxurious while still feeling authentic), food was SO delish, we saw tons of animals including a surprise spotting on a leopard one afternoon, and the hikes, views and visits to the Maasai village were priceless. Def went overboard buying beads from the local women :)

I cannot wait to go back again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleAbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Can't wait to have you back as well! There will be a cold beverage waiting for you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
27
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed at Campi ya Kanzi after being at very good camps in Kruger & the Okavanga Delta. Experiencing Campi ya Kanzi's unique location & partnership with the local Maasai was an ideal way to conclude our safari. We saw an abundance of animals including up-close experiences with several prides of lions as well as giraffe,zebra,hyena,jackal, elephants and many antelope species.One highlight was the ability to go on walks with the Maasai guides including into the Cloud Forest of the Chyulu Hills.We also visited a local village and school which was a nice experience.Accommodation is first class, the Italian food cooked by the maasai chefs is excellent and the team of people led by Luca (Antonella was in Italy) gave us first class service.Ken & Jenny Henderson, Melbourne , Australia

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenderson03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Thank you for the kind words, we are delighted you enjoyed yourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

What a fantastic memorable experience. Luca and Antonella are wonderful hosts. The staff is fantastic. The real joy was getting out of the jeep and hiking the area. We saw a ton of animals and there is no one who knows the local flora, fauna, and animals more than Luca. Great food and accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tenzig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
The pleasure was ours :) Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I can't say enough good things about Camp ya Kanzi. I spent a week there in October 2011 and it was one of the best trips of my life. The wildlife safaris are unparalleled. Unlike the National Parks in other parts of Africa, you can actually get out of the cars and walk around, taking amazing hikes through the savanna. We saw every animal you would ever want to see under the expert guidance of Luca and his Maasai warrior guides. You're seeing the land through the eyes of the people who have lived there for centuries.

Once you're back at camp, you'll have a 5-star experience on all fronts. The food is top-notch and cooked from the freshest ingredients, many grown right there on the property. The "tents" are more like luxury cabins with every amenity you could want. The lodge is a cozy and beautiful place to meet new friends and enjoy the fresh, warm night air. Antonella is the consumate hostess for every dinner.

Should you want to, you can also go visit the Maasai villages and see how they live. You get a real sense of village life and the faces of the children will never leave your mind.

All-in-all, if you're looking for a well rounded trip of a lifetime, filled with adventure and experiences you can't have anywhere else, this is the place. Don't hesitate!!

Room Tip: I loved the "Kilimanjaro" tent since it has a full view of the mountain from the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanV790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Wonderful! So happy you enjoyed it, you are welcome again any time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We spent a week at Campi ya Kanzi in August 2011. My husband and I went with our 2 children who are 10 and 12. From the moment we arrived in this remote wilderness, we were enchanted by everything Campi ya Kanzi had to offer. Luca and Antonella have done a phenomenal job in creating a top notch safari experience - but it was so much more than that. They, along with their partner Stefano, have created a magical place that combines luxury, adventure, conservational awareness and a true sense of community with the Maasai people. We had our own Maasai guide and dedicated land rover for the week. Our guide's knowledge about the area, the animals, and the people knew no bounds. He was a true delight to spend the week with. He never tired of our questions and happily shared with us his story and the story of his people. The tents at Campi ya Kanzi are lovely. We had hot showers every afternoon/evening from solar heated panels. We woke up every morning to zebras, giraffes, wart hogs, baboons, etc. drinking at the watering hole in front of our tent.
The food was amazing! We feasted on fresh vegetables, fruit, fish, pasta, etc. And my husband and I are very discerning eaters - we were very impressed. We loved eating at the communal table at Tembo House for breakfast, lunch and dinner with the other guests. Each morning we were greeted with hot coffee/tea in our tents before breakfast.
I considered this to be a true vacation because I never had to think about logistics or worry about what to do next. It was all done for us. Each of their suggestions for our daily activities were enthusiastically welcomed. We would just get in our land rover and go or head out on foot and explore without worrying about any of the details. One of the highlights of our trip was spending time in the local Maasai village. Our kids really loved meeting the kids from the village and playing with them. Some of the other highlights included our early morning game drive tracking elephants followed by a surprise breakfast in the wild - a beautiful table was all laid out for us under a jungle-like canopy with hot coffee, eggs, bacon, fruit, baked goods, etc. We also loved the lantern-lit cave dinner - amazing. And of course, the animals - seeing them in their natural habitat was really exciting. We particularly loved that our guide Pashiet went out on his own - while we had lunch back at camp - in search of lions on our last day (knowing that we really wanted to see lions before we left). His perseverance paid off - he led us to a mother lion and her 3 cubs. We sat and watched the cubs play for about an hour. They were the cutest things I've ever seen.
In sum, I would HIGHLY recommend Campi ya Kanzi (and already have told many of our friends about it). We will never forget our time there and hope to return someday. We had the time of our lives, and feel like we made some good friends in the process.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weintrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Wow, 3 cubs! Brilliant! Thank you so much for your wonderful words, it was our pleasure to have hosted you :) We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Campi ya kanzi offers a unique and authentic african experience. The project is run under the auspices of a Trust whose aims are to conserve the Maasai Mara culture including its rich wild life and to improve their educational and living standards. The staff of the hotel is all committed to the goals of the Trust and most of them are Maasai themselves. The hotel is absolutely comfortable and ecologically responsible and is set in a wonderful location, between the Kilimanjaro and the Chyulu Hills (Hemingway´s Green Hills of Africa). The food is fantastic. The game drives are great and they are combined with walks across the hills where you get to places where the views are breathtaking. Very children friendly since the owners, who live on site, have 3 young children themselves. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Periland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Asante sana!! The green hills are awaiting your return :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Although spending some days in Campi ya Kanzi is not the cheapest, it is more than worth considering the effectiveness of the work that is done by the people of Campi ya Kanzi for both the local Maasai community, as well as the wildlife. As a part of the amount spent on your staying is directly contributed to the Maasai conservation trust fund, you get to see a clear insight of the good work this fund is doing for the community.
Next to that, the camp is located (believe us, we've seen quite some places in Kenya) in one of the most beautiful, breathtaking and poetic landscapes man can imagine. Spending the day with your Maasai guide, just him and your family, wandering in the middle of this amazing nature makes you realize the power and beauty of Kenya.
It's of course not only about discovering the power of Kenya's nature and its authenticity, it is the concept, brought to you by inspiring, warm and caring people that make you discover your inner self.
We are more than convinced that the project founded by Luca, his family and the whole team, as well as the Maasai people deserve extra appreciation and credit in your specific chapter and magazine.
This part of our Kenya experience is surely not a thing for John Doe, but most surely it is a recommendation for people looking for integrity, respect for nature and local traditions, in combination with an exclusive and rather luxurious approach.
We loved it, and we will definitely go back there when visiting Kenya. We also would like to thank Luca, Antonella, Stefano, Pashiet and the whole team of Campi ya Kanzi for bringing this experience to our hearts and souls forever!
Vanessa, Jurgen & Matisse - Nov 2010, Antwerp, Belgium

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa_Jurgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucakanzi, Owner at Campi ya Kanzi, responded to this review, February 24, 2016
Thank you for staying with us! We are happy you enjoyed yourselves :) Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli Eco-system
14.8 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
741 reviews
24.5 mi away
Ngulia Safari Camp
Ngulia Safari Camp
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
89 reviews
49.5 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#4 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
826 reviews
33.3 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#6 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
236 reviews
21.3 mi away
Great Plains Conservation ol Donyo Lodge
Great Plains Conservation ol Don...
#9 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campi ya Kanzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campi ya Kanzi

Property: Campi ya Kanzi
Address: Mtito Andei, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campi ya Kanzi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campi ya Kanzi is widely recognized as one of the most unique and inspiring safari experiences in Africa. Situated at the foot of the legendary Chyulu Hills, Hemingway’s Green Hills of Africa, it is a luxury camp offering an incomparable combination of 5-star luxury, first class wilderness adventure, amazing wildlife, and authentic immersion in Maasai culture. This is truly the ultimate African safari.This luxury lodge has been built in partnership with the Maasai community of the 280,000-acre Kuku Group Ranch.Campi ya Kanzi has a unique commitment to community development and environmental sustainability: we are leaders in real ecotourism, engaging the local Maasai in benefiting from wilderness with thriving wildlife. Built from local materials, it uses solar technology to supply hot water and electricity to the six luxury cottages and two suites. In front of Kilimanjaro, with a Maasai warrior taking you on safari, among elephants and lions, you will experience your dream African adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Campi ya Kanzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campi Ya Kanzi Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing