We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tortilis Camp
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sentrim Amboseli(Amboseli Eco-system)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveler rating
300
53
11
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
53
11
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush breakfastthe managerswatering holefamily tentgame drivesvegetable gardentortillasfirst stopdik dikguide alexprivate housecomfortable accommodationshill overlookingmount kilimanjaroamboseli national parkwater holewater birds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 367 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you want to see elephants this is the place to go. We were lucky to get the best guide ever "LeParis" who took us up close and personal with the elephants, as well as a nice village visit.
The climate is a bit more arid than other areas in Kenya which makes the watering hole a predictable animal locale.
This camp has a spectacular setting and very gorgeous grounds. They grow many of their own vegetables and herbs. However both breakfast and lunch are buffet style. Dinner is full service, but the staff was lackluster about having to serve guests. The food is good, but not 5 star as advertised. it was average.
The staff was less personal than in some smaller camps; this felt more like a hotel stay.
We tried to sit outside by the fire near the bar at night, but were swarmed by ants. When we informed the manager, he seemed unconcerned as if ants are a normal part of your visit.
Weather was such that we never were able to see the mountain, but the lodge is in a truly fantasic setting.
And this camp offers the ability to go inside a well as outside the National Park which makes for better game variety.
One of the reasons we chose this camp was that is has a swimming pool. However, be warned the water is absolutely too frigid to swim in. ( in Septemeber )

Room Tip: The view from tent #1 is a great shot of the mountain if there are no clouds.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Tortilis Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologise that you felt our staff was lacklustre - we normally receive rave reviews about our team as you'll see from previous reviews so are not sure what could have gone wrong.
With best wishes
Andrea & Manuela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We live since 3 year in Kenya and visited many places. It is our 3rd stay in Amboseli and our 2nd at Tortilis. I can assure you, do not hesitate, there is no better place to stay in Amboseli. The location and the view are fantastic, the tents very clean and comfortable and... the food is exceptional (italian type and they have their own vegetable garden). The guides for game drives are very professional, they give their best and... Tortilis has its own private conservancy so you will enjoy your sundowner very far away from the overcrowded classic "view point". The camp is about 1 hour from the gate but as soon as you enter the park it is already game drive and the way is really worth because of the location of the camp. You will not and cannot regret such a choice !

Room Tip: If you are a family and can afford, don't miss the private house or family tent who share a private pool !
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Tortilis Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your great review - & for coming to visit us again. We look forward to seeing you again!
With best wishes
Andrea & Manuela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

After doing extensive research for our honeymoon safari, I know we couldn't have chosen a better place to start off our trip. Amboseli's wildlife is not as dense as some other areas, but you still see plenty, especially elephants. To preface, we did a 10 day/9 night safari and stayed 3 nights each at Amboseli, Meru and Masai Mara, each at Cheli & Peacock properties and can't say anything but good things! If you are considering booking C&P, do it - top notch service, facility, accommodation, game drives, while caring and giving back to the environment and community.

Tortilis is beautiful. From picking you up from the airstrip, you already start on your first game drive. We were lucky to see Mt. Kilimanjaro right away and thankfully our guide for that drive pointed it out for us to take notice as apparently it often hides behind the clouds (such was the case for the rest of our trip except for the very last morning!).

Upon arriving at the camp we were greeted by the camp managers, Peter and Daniella with a welcome drink, and then intro to the amenities and how everything works - meal times, game drives, laundry, etc. To break it down for you...

Days start with a 6am 'wake up call'... at the dinner the night before, a server will come around and take your order for the next morning of tea or coffee, this will be delivered to your tent at 6am along with cookies (this camp had shortbread, yum!). It's a very nice way to start the morning! Then you will make your way to the camp entrance for your 6:30am game drive. Unless you have booked a private vehicle or if you have brought your own driver/guide, depending on occupancy, it could just be your party in the vehicle (it's a Toyota Land Cruiser) or it can sit up to 6 passengers. Each seat is comfortable as the seats are progressively raised so you get great views even from the back, albeit a little more bumpy. It was perfect for us as we were with one couple and a single traveler for the first 2 days and then since our stays overlapped differently, we had the vehicle and our guide to ourselves the last day.

Leparis (sorry, not sure of the spelling!) was our guide the whole time and he was excellent. He is from the Masai Mara but has been a guide in Amboseli for some time and definitely knows the area well. You can tell from talking with him that he really loves to show you the wildlife and gives you so much information about the surroundings and their habits. I feel like I learned so much on this trip!

After hearing from another couple who had done it, we decided to do the Masai village visit and also visited the school that Tortilis/C&P supports in the area. I would definitely recommend doing this. The head of the school met us and showed us the classrooms and explained what kind of classes they teach and it was really nice to meet people who do such good work and also the children. From there we drove to the Masai village where they greeted us with a dance, we got to (try to) jump with them and then they showed us how they build their homes and how they make fire. It does end with a market visit where the women display their crafts and beadwork. There is a community price list that they show you beforehand and although we had heard otherwise, we found them to be very low pressure on the sales and we didn't feel like anything was pushed on us at all. It was very nice to come away with souvenirs for friends and family and to contribute to their village in a small way. There is an entrance fee to the village and this was $20 USD per person. If you want any more info on this experience, feel free to message me!

Back to Tortilis... Food wise, it was excellent. Just to note, it's all Italian food so if you're expecting to eat local Kenyan food, this is not the case. Most breakfasts are done while on game drives but this doesn't mean you're missing out on anything... Tea, coffee, juice boxes, yogurt, fresh fruit, bacon, sausages, hard boiled eggs, bread. Just about anything you could want! For lunch it is a buffet with fresh salads, pastas, all sorts of items, really great. Dinner is a plated meal and it is delicious. The dining room seats you according to your tents so it isn't communal dining. The first night we were there only a few tables were seated so it felt empty, but it filled up the 2nd and 3rd nights and especially nice after we got to know some people. Our last night they surprised us by setting up a private table by the fire which we thought might get smokey but was actually a perfect way to dine under the stars and watching the watering hole. We loved it!

The length of game drives somewhat depends on you, but usually are from 6:30-10am, then you are back at Tortilis to rest, relax and enjoy, then head up for lunch at 1pm (very hot in the afternoon which makes the walk up the hill tiring!). Lunch is a buffet with the freshest salads! They have a large garden where they grow plenty of produce and even have avocado and papaya trees. All water is filtered and drinking water is double filtered so no worries there. They also provide you with refillable containers for you to use during your stay (eco-bags which are green, light and have a carabiner if you want to clip it to your bag). There is also refillable water during your game drives that your guide has in a cooler if you need it. Drinks here were in addition to the package price and that was the only thing you had to pay extra for. Laundry is included but limited to 6 pieces per person and they do not launder underwear, although detergent is provided in the tent washroom for you to do it yourself.

After lunch, it's more resting or you can take a dip in the pool (we never ended up doing this) and then your afternoon game drive starts around 4pm and ends with a sundowner, getting back to the camp by 7-7:30 in time to shower and get to dinner at 8pm. We didn't find this to be a super social camp and not many people took advantage of the 7-8pm canapes and drinks in the lounge as they did in the other camps we went to so we found it to be a little more private.

One thing to note is that Amboseli is very dusty. It might sound silly to say, but especially if you do a bush walk, you will get covered in dust! We chose to do this (our guide was Jackson, he is great!) and the dust even went through my shoes and my socks were covered in it! The bush walk was very safe and we didn't encounter any animals up close, it was mainly to get a tour of the garden, see animal tracks and dung up close and get a little exercise.

I could go on and on about Tortilis but I've already written quite an essay... if anyone has any questions about the services offered, the facilities, guides, the school or village visit or other, please feel free to private message me and I'll answer as best I can!

Room Tip: All tents are pretty much the same high standard. We were in tent 4 but heard that from tent 1 you can see the watering hole where animals come to drink at all times of the day. It is also closest to walk to/from the dining and lounge areas.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemonie604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Tortilis Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review - we're sure many viewers will find it incredibly useful. So glad that Pieter & Daniella held the fort so capably in our absence!
With best wishes
Andrea & Manuela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Although the whole staff was great! Our hosts Andrea and Manuela and our driver/guide Joel really made the stay marvelous! Andrea and Manuela always asked the right question to make sure our stay was going well and Joel was a font of knowledge and really worked to get us right to the best sites to take photos.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musingsretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Tortilis Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for your lovely & flattering review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with our team here at Tortilis.
With warmest wishes
Andrea & Manuela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our family of five was very happy with the Tortilis safari at Amboseli in Jan 2014. Tents: very good. Hillside setting, facing Kilimanjaro: spectacular. This is a well maintained camp and has suitable size (50 % smaller than Mara Safari Club), delightful bar and restaurant with great views. And: We enjoyed the best food we had on this trip, the Italian management clearly makes a difference here. The level plain/savannah setting and animal population sufficiently different from Masai Mara to sustain our delight in the game drives. LOTS of elephant UP CLOSE. Also cheetahs and lions, and lots of birds to observe. Very good guide here too. Slightly better version (seating) of the Land Cruiser 4x4 than at Masai Mara (Land Rover would have been even better). Everything served up with the backdrop of Kilimanjaro. We really enjoyed the surprise bush breakfast. The walking safari was a small disappointment, as it amounted to a vegetable garden visit with a hike up a hill (for really spectacular sundowner experience, though, to which other guests came by 4x4). Free laundry service was welcome, but ironing was poor. Clearly a step up from Mara Safari Club (and if you do them both, got to do our itinerary in this order or else one would be disappointed going to Mara Safari Club after Tortilis). Question is, whether it is worth the extra cost… Would give full 5 points if it weren't as costly as it is.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romppanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Tortilis Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to write your detailed review. Sorry we are so late in responding but we have been on leave. Thank you for the tip on ironing - we've already done a refresher course & are now back on track!
Best wishes
Andrea & Manuela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews