We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful conservancy and great value for the money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amboseli Eco-system
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Selenkay
Madison, Wi
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful conservancy and great value for the money”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The reason for 5 stars is that I think this is the best value you can find for the quality of game drives, food, service, and accommodations. Despite being a low-cost safari option, there is positively no compromise made on the quality of game drives at this camp.

The two men crew on every game drive is the best feature of Porini camps. The guide and the driver sincerely try to make each game drive as successful as possible. I also found the whole staff at the camp site to have a very pleasant demeanor which made them great company throughout my stay. The off-road game drives in the private conservancy are a great way to see the wildlife without the hordes of tourists around you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrfanSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
20
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coppell, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I wish I was back here. I stayed in the camp for 3 nights and it was great. It wasn't long after being picked up from the airport that we were watching 3 cheetahs do their thing. They looked for a good meal and then for some good shade. They didn't find a meal, but they did find shade.

Wilson (Manager) picked us up from the airport and guided us the entire time. He's an awesome guide and photographer. He knows the area and the animals very well. He also took care of everyone, along with his staff, at the camp.

Every night we relaxed around the campfire as dinner was being prepared and we would return after dinner for a night cap. The groups that came and went while I was there were great. It made for lively and enjoyable talks around the fire. It was also nice to have mini reunions as we meet the same people at the Mara camp.

The game viewing was great. We had a special night drive were we saw a leopard (lit in red spotlight) very near the camp. There are a few raised lookouts, near waterholes, around the conservancy where you can get out of the vehicle and watch the animals up close. We spent an evening perched on one of the lookouts, drinking Tuskers, watching and listening to elephants drink.

Don't miss the village visit. It's an eye opener.

Thanks to Wilson and his staff for creating a memorable experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our trip was wonderful. Light aircraft flight (Yellow wings) from Nairobi Wilson on time and comfortable with Martin as pilot. Saw cheetahs between air stip in Selenkay and camp. Everything was far more than expected, including food, tents, toilet (flush!) and bucket shower. Slept better here on mattress than at home on expensive new bed! Animal viewing was incredible. Wilson and his staff should have a medal - even made us a 42 wedding anniversary cake. Could not have asked for anything better.

Room Tip: All the tents are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snipsy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Gamewatchers sorted out our various flights and all our transfers past without a hitch.
We loved our time at Selenkay. The staff and guides there were fantastic and so enthusiastic. The tents were a good size with comfortable mattresses - we are not campers but all 5 of us slept well at night and were warm enough in September. The guides did everything they could to show us as many animals and birds as possible. There was loads of food which we enjoyed. Evenings around the camp fire were great. All in all, absolutely fantastic.

Room Tip: Near the hammocks - you don't need the expensive accommodation sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I am breaking this review in 3 sections :

a. Service and Stay - We've been to so many places, visited atleast 10 countries and stayed in all sort of places including some 5 star hotels etc. too but the service that you get from these people - I guess no one can even imagine coming close to it! People and staff there - they treat you like a god - always there for you - always smiling and even guessing what you might need so that they are ready even before you ask! The best people in the world - always smiling! Chef was amazing too with some mouth watering food options. Wilson the head over there is always ensuring you are having best of the times for yourself!
b. Conservancy - Very good conservancy and a heaven for bird lovers - dont miss it! We saw group of elephants drinking waters, showering and also taking mud showers after that! Very rich in wildlife - there is a leopard there as well and a group of cheeta too... even though they are not as easy to spot there as Zebras and Giraffes. My bet is your chances of seeing cheeta is probably 1 in 5 game drives and the shy leopard 1 in probably 10. There are ostriches too. Ambesoli national park was an amazing experience too.
c. Guides - Our guides were Shady and Fostine (sorry if I am spelling your name wrongly :-( ) and they were very good - very knowledgeable about the wild and bird life around there. They were doing their best to give us a good time and experience. Though we wish we had Wilson because he is just amazing but understanding he can not travel all of us around and there were no probs with Shady.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My sister and I stayed for 3 nights in August. Gamewatchers Safari did an outstanding job with our arrangements/ welcome on arrival and departure. We came to the conservancy with insect repellants but there were no mosquitoes/flys this time of the year. It is their winter so come with warm clothing for the mornings and evenings. There is a day trip to Amboselli National Park from the conservancy. It is absolutely stunning and it was incredible watching the elephants...this is thanks to Wilson our guide. Amboselli is dusty (especially with the number of vehicles)..so come prepared with something to cover your nose/mouth. Wilson our guide is a walking encyclopedia. His passion with birdlife in Selenkay conservancy certainly rub off on us and we enjoyed seeing the amazing birdlife in the conservancy which we did not expect. His hunt for the cheetah was one of the key highlight for us.
Solomon, the cook, delivers stunning food each day. That is the beauty of the adventure camp. Accommodation is in basic 2 person tent (though have own toilet/bathroom at the back of the tent) but food is absolutely good and the 4 wheel drives are as good as those of the luxury tented accommodation. We enjoyed the communal dining and the sharing of experiences each evening with other travellers around the camp fire. We enjoyed the camp in that it was staffed by Maasai. Another highlight for us was the visit to the Maasai village. It was very enjoyable inter-acting with the villagers.
The camp is highly recommended as we certainly enjoyed the beauty of the landscape/wildlife and people. Maasai Mara is very different from Selenkay conservancy/Amboselli. Certainly worth exploring both. We will not hesitate to book another adventure with Gamewatchers Safari.

Room Tip: We have no problems with privacy as we enjoyed interacting with the other guests but if you want pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Munfoon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Was there just 2 weeks ago and simply love the place. Lovely staff and guides who make you feel like everyone's one whole family. The food is excellent and game drive fun. Lots of bird life for the ornithologist!

Love it!

Room Tip: The tents that are not under a tree are cleaner due to falling 'debris' and bugs from the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuyuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboseli Eco-system
0.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
#5 of 139 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
600 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porini Rhino Camp
Porini Rhino Camp
#2 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#6 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
816 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Selenkay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Selenkay

Property: Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Selenkay
Address: Selenkay Conservancy, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gamewatchers Adventure Camp, Selenkay, is sited in the Selenkay Wildife Conservancy in the Amboseli eco-system. For those for whom the wildlife safari experience is more important than the accommodation, and who are prepared to sleep in small tents in sleeping bags with an element of “roughing it”, this gives an opportunity for an exceptional and exclusive wildlife experience with high quality guiding but at a much lower price than expensive up-market safari lodges. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing