We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”
Review of Kilima Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilima Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in September 2009.

The ‘camp’ is located close to the gate to Amboseli so not to much lost time before the start of your safaris.

The rooms are all tented; actually, half tent half building. The bedroom/living area had canvas walls and the wash/dressing area was walled. Both parts were covered with a permanent roof. The wash area had two sinks, with separate shower and toilet facilities.

Due to the canvas walls there was only one useable power point (British 3-pin style) available for use. If you need to recharge/power more than one item we suggest you take along a socket set.

Each ‘tent’ had its own porch area with views of Mount Kilimanjaro. We were in the last but one ‘tent’ so we had a clear view of the mountain.

The lodge has a viewing tower so you can see into Amboseli and also spot wildlife coming and going from a small waterhole by the fence of the ‘camp’ area.

There was plenty of space in the open sided restaurant and we always got a table with a view of the mountain. The choice of food at the buffets was a little limited compared to other safari lodges, however, the lodge was not full so that maybe the reason.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would return again should we make another visit to Amboseli in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildlifeMadTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 170 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2009

Arrived mid-afternoon for a 2 night stay after a long drive from Nairobi. We were part of an organised group that had been sent to Amboseli as a last minute alternative to Samburu. It was our first safari so we didn't know what to expect from either the accommodation or the food. The "tents" were fantastic with good, comfortable beds and a fantastic bathroom with walk in shower. Buffet style meals are taken in the central open air restaurant which has an adjoining bar. Drinks were reasonably priced given the remote location. The food wasn't exactly haute cuisine but adequate with a reasonable choice. But then we weren't at Amboseli for the catering! A fantastic Camp with brilliant staff in a wonderful setting. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldCourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

LOCATION
Literally just outside the amboselli park gate. Perfect for quick and easy access. Great place for the perfect view of mount kilimanjaro (as long as it not cloudy).

LODGE
Really nice. Open Plan. Has a great viewing tower right in the middle of the restaurant, has 3 floors and the top of has a fabulour view of mount kilimanjaro and the surrounding area. The tents are very spread out.

ROOMS
From the outside they dont look like anything special, but these tents are very deceiving. They have slide doors, a double and single bed, a huge modern bathroom. Really nice inside.

FOOD
The food is the same as any other lodge in the massai mara.
Typical english breakfast buffet and for lunch/dinner; 2 meats, potatoes, rice, veg, cake and fruit. Quality is good.

SERVICE
Seemed good, but it was very quiet while we were there so cant really give an accurate overview.

BUSH DINNER
As it was my mums birthday we had a bush dinner organised (not sure on the price).
I 100% recommend it! Its literally set up inside a bush with your own buffet setup, chef, waiters, table setup and if its a birthday they can make u a cake and about 20 people squeeze into this bush to sing you a kenyan happy birthday!amazing!!. If you have an occasion or if you just want to spoil yourself or someone else this is the perfect idea!

TIP: Bush dinner!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazzzie_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

After a really long hot bumpy trip we eventually arrived at Kilima Camp and met with cold flannels which instantly turned a reddy brown when used as we were covered in safari dust! I was a little worried about camping as have childhood memories of creepy crawlies and stuffy hot tents.
I shouldnt have been worried as the tents were really large and fabulous. The bathrooms were amazing, not a creepy crawlie or mosquito in sight and exactly the right temperature at night.
The swimming pool seems extra large compared to other camps with a pool attendant to give you towels and serve drinks. Everwhere looks out at the most fantastic view of Kilimanjaro and as we sat in the bar in the evening, we were entertained by Masai dancers and in the background was amazing lightening as a storm enveloped Kilimanjaro. Very atmospheric.
The camp is brand new and when we were staying did not have that many guests. I would thoroughly recommend this camp - it now just needs more guests!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

My husband and I have recently stayed at the Kilima Camp as part of a safari to Tsavo and Amboseli National Parks. We were very impressed with the accommodation, food and service.

The rooms are in form of “tents”, overlooking the Kilimanjaro. Absolutely fantastic! There is also a lookout on top of the restaurant, which provides amazing views of the surrounding areas.

We would definitely go back, and recommend this lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Lappini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018
Thank PatEtValou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank gufa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
1.4 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
396 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
833 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
790 reviews
14.1 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#2 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
360 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tawi Lodge
Tawi Lodge
#7 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilima Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilima Safari Camp

Address: Kilma Gate, Amboseli National Park, 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range: $210 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kilima Safari Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kilima Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilima Safari Camp Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing