We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Camp”
Review of Kilima Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilima Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Gorgeous Camp”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here for two nights while on safari in Amboseli. The place is beautiful! Just outside one of the park gates too. The rooms gorgeous and the setting is spectacular - and when the clouds clear in the evenings you realize you are just under Mt. Kilimanjaro. The service was fantastic - everyone was super friendly and accommodating - and food good. We had a very luxurious stay here for an extremely reasonable price. It honestly surpassed our expectations, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpmaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    46
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
36
69
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed for two nights in July whilst exploring Amboseli for a third time (just love the elephants).

Accommodation, food, service and views are excellent.

Whilst the camp is not actually in the park we saw plenty of elephants just outside the electric fence.

Also took advantage of the free massage!!

The only question mark I have is over the construction materials. If this is an eco lodge then why on earth is the main building made of steel and why is modern laminate flooring used in the "tents"?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaldMurdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night (passing through on safari) and would have been happy to stay longer and use this lodge as a base for travelling to the different national parks.

The rooms were well equipped and had a really nice shower room. The electricity was turned off during the night but we were made aware of this.

Cannot fault anything, accommodation; food; staff and the views were amazing - especially on the early morning (or late evening drives) where you can see Mt Kilimanjaro perfectly.

I would say without a doubt that this was the best of the 3 places we stayed at during our 3 night safari.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnold494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Just back form Kenya - booked a 4 day safari through Anne sanderson from the UK - kenyan travel/WT safaris - totally AMAZING experience - much much cheaper than doing it the "tour operator" way, we stayed in "tents" Maneaters, Manyatta and kilima in Tsavo east west and Amboselli....
Kiliima is fantastic, the views of kilimanjaro are fantastic... the tents are AMAZING - they have lovely Bathroom areas and the views are fantastic from wherever you are - pool area is gorgeous, (cold but nice) food is buffet style - excellent variety,, staff are welcoming - couldnt fault the place - Amboselli is much better than tsavo for game viewing, there are animals in abundance everywhere you look, one afternoon we stopped the bus to see 2 male lion on one side of some trees and a cheetah on the other with kilimanjaro in the backdrop - stunning!!! We would definitley return to kilima if we returned to amboselli - next time i think its off to the mara though - but back to the same hotel as this year which was Turtle bay in watamu - we loved the place and have promised to go back soon (separate review on that one though)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazzasunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The tents were not really tents they were exquisite inside. Clean, roomy and modern. The tent has a single and a double bed, a sitting area, a desk/writing area, a large bathroom area with a vanity, 2 sinks, a shower stall and a toilet room.

I had tent 25 and it was very close to the restaurant, which was a huge circular room with a look out tower that was 4 stories high... excellent views of Mt. Kili, the park and the lodge property.

They had a great pool that was out of the way. It had the deep section partitioned off so you did not have to worry about little kids accidentally going in too deep.

The bar area was huge and had tons of seating and a TV in the corner that was mostly on the news or animal planet channels.

They had 1 Maasai employee in particular that would just sit and talk with you so he could practice his English. In exchange he gave a non-commercial and 'real' opinion on his Tribe and the affects of tourism. He was working in the hotel as he was injured by a lion while guarding his families cattle. He quickly showed the scars and bite marks left by the lion (which he killed btw).

One of my travel mates got a bad case of the stomach bug and ended up spending the day in bed... someone from the lodge checked on her every hour. They brought her soup, ginger ale, tea and crackers. They made sure she was comfortable and offered to get her a doctor (which she declined).

I loved this property.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nelle_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed here for one night during our safari and wish we could've stayed for longer.

The staff were, as we found everywhere in Kenya, very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent - interesting international cuisine that was very well cooked. Our 'tent' completely exceeded our expectations. It was more like a lodge with a spacious bedroom/living area and bathroom. The walls were made from a tough but breathable material meaning that it was lovely and cool at night and we had a great sleep here.

As this is an eco camp, hot water is only available in the mornings and evenings which was absolutely fine with us and caused us no problems. Electricity is also restricted to three times daily but this was again more than enough for our requirements.

The camp has a swimming pool and a complimentary 30 minute massage service. It also has a nice bar area and a look out tower which offers fantastic views of Amboseili and Mount Kilimanjaro. Going up there to watch the sunrise was amazing. We also watched a Masai warrior dance around the camp fire which was a great experience.

All in all, this place comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Badgersbadgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

This was the second stop on our 4 days safari arranged with F. Kings. We wanted the experience of staying in a camp rather than a lodge but were a little unsure what we could expect. We were amazed when we were shown to our "tent". It was raised off the ground and had proper doors, but with canvas walls. The shower and w.c. area was to the rear and was brick built,. The room had a large double bed and a single bed, with mossy nets over. As the camp is in an eco-system the electric gets turned off at 12 midnight but you have a battery operated light in case you need to get up. We had a great nights sleep - the only noise we could here were the frogs from the nearby pool.

The restaurant was large and looked out over the grassland. The food and service were excellent. There is a lovely large swimming pool - unfortunately we didnt get time to use it.

This is a fabulous camp and I can recommend it to anyone wanting a different experience, but still having luxury.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbles1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
11.3 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli
Sentrim Amboseli
#1 of 1 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
5.3 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
12.6 mi away
Tawi Lodge
Tawi Lodge
#7 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
12.9 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilima Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilima Safari Camp

Property: Kilima Safari Camp
Address: Kilma Gate, Amboseli National Park, 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kilima Safari Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kilima Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilima Safari Camp Hotel Amboseli Eco-System

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing