We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tortilis Camp(Amboseli Eco-system)
$766
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ol Tukai Lodge(Amboseli National Park)
$441
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Maasai Simba Camp(Amboseli National Park)
Free cancellation until 07/23
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kibo Safari Camp(Amboseli Eco-system)(Great Value!)
$331
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tawi Lodge(Amboseli Eco-system)
$724
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
WE4Kenya Guesthouses(Amboseli National Park)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge(Amboseli National Park)
$392
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porini Amboseli Camp(Amboseli Eco-system)
$1,290
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Free cancellation until 07/28
    $76
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    $65
    $60
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (177)
    Filter reviews
    177 results
    Traveler rating
    94
    56
    19
    2
    6
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    94
    56
    19
    2
    6
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsviewing towerobservation deckdressing tabledouble sinksamboseli national parkdining areafull barthe buffet style mealsin spite of the factconference roomenjoyed our stayswimming poolfacing mtrooms tentsbush dinnerhuge bathroomnice lodge
    Filter
    Updating list...
    111 - 116 of 177 reviews
    Reviewed August 1, 2011

    Just back form Kenya - booked a 4 day safari through Anne sanderson from the UK - kenyan travel/WT safaris - totally AMAZING experience - much much cheaper than doing it the "tour operator" way, we stayed in "tents" Maneaters, Manyatta and kilima in Tsavo east west and Amboselli....
    Kiliima is fantastic, the views of kilimanjaro are fantastic... the tents are AMAZING - they have lovely Bathroom areas and the views are fantastic from wherever you are - pool area is gorgeous, (cold but nice) food is buffet style - excellent variety,, staff are welcoming - couldnt fault the place - Amboselli is much better than tsavo for game viewing, there are animals in abundance everywhere you look, one afternoon we stopped the bus to see 2 male lion on one side of some trees and a cheetah on the other with kilimanjaro in the backdrop - stunning!!! We would definitley return to kilima if we returned to amboselli - next time i think its off to the mara though - but back to the same hotel as this year which was Turtle bay in watamu - we loved the place and have promised to go back soon (separate review on that one though)

    • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Gazzasunderland
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 21, 2011

    The tents were not really tents they were exquisite inside. Clean, roomy and modern. The tent has a single and a double bed, a sitting area, a desk/writing area, a large bathroom area with a vanity, 2 sinks, a shower stall and a toilet room.

    I had tent 25 and it was very close to the restaurant, which was a huge circular room with a look out tower that was 4 stories high... excellent views of Mt. Kili, the park and the lodge property.

    They had a great pool that was out of the way. It had the deep section partitioned off so you did not have to worry about little kids accidentally going in too deep.

    The bar area was huge and had tons of seating and a TV in the corner that was mostly on the news or animal planet channels.

    They had 1 Maasai employee in particular that would just sit and talk with you so he could practice his English. In exchange he gave a non-commercial and 'real' opinion on his Tribe and the affects of tourism. He was working in the hotel as he was injured by a lion while guarding his families cattle. He quickly showed the scars and bite marks left by the lion (which he killed btw).

    One of my travel mates got a bad case of the stomach bug and ended up spending the day in bed... someone from the lodge checked on her every hour. They brought her soup, ginger ale, tea and crackers. They made sure she was comfortable and offered to get her a doctor (which she declined).

    I loved this property.

    • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    6  Thank Nelle_1234
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 8, 2011

    We stayed here for one night during our safari and wish we could've stayed for longer.

    The staff were, as we found everywhere in Kenya, very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent - interesting international cuisine that was very well cooked. Our 'tent' completely exceeded our expectations. It was more like a lodge with a spacious bedroom/living area and bathroom. The walls were made from a tough but breathable material meaning that it was lovely and cool at night and we had a great sleep here.

    As this is an eco camp, hot water is only available in the mornings and evenings which was absolutely fine with us and caused us no problems. Electricity is also restricted to three times daily but this was again more than enough for our requirements.

    The camp has a swimming pool and a complimentary 30 minute massage service. It also has a nice bar area and a look out tower which offers fantastic views of Amboseili and Mount Kilimanjaro. Going up there to watch the sunrise was amazing. We also watched a Masai warrior dance around the camp fire which was a great experience.

    All in all, this place comes highly recommended!

    • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Badgersbadgers
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 27, 2011

    This was the second stop on our 4 days safari arranged with F. Kings. We wanted the experience of staying in a camp rather than a lodge but were a little unsure what we could expect. We were amazed when we were shown to our "tent". It was raised off the ground and had proper doors, but with canvas walls. The shower and w.c. area was to the rear and was brick built,. The room had a large double bed and a single bed, with mossy nets over. As the camp is in an eco-system the electric gets turned off at 12 midnight but you have a battery operated light in case you need to get up. We had a great nights sleep - the only noise we could here were the frogs from the nearby pool.

    The restaurant was large and looked out over the grassland. The food and service were excellent. There is a lovely large swimming pool - unfortunately we didnt get time to use it.

    This is a fabulous camp and I can recommend it to anyone wanting a different experience, but still having luxury.

    • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank bubbles1612
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 12, 2010

    We stayed at the camp for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon last year and it was truely beautiful, we had perfect views of kilimanjaro and we had the whole camp to ourselves (out of season) so the staff were falling over themselves to make sure that our stay was perfect...we'd definitly go back and stay there.

    The *tent* was very nice, comfortable and mosquito free, there was'nt evening entertainment as it was only us, but what more could you want than a sunset view of the mount and a few drinks before taking an early night before the next days safari.

    • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank kate1971-04
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews