We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best lodges out there” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sentrim Amboseli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sentrim Amboseli
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best lodges out there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2010

First of all, I would like to mention after reading some previous reviews that there is a new management from Germany running this lodge now. The staff is around to help you, the food is excellent and the accomodation is clean. I dare to say that this lodge is even better than one of the hotels on the coast at Diani Beach.

The accomodations look like tents from the outside, but once inside you get everything just like in a 4-star hotel. Everything is clean and well maintained. There are even water jets in the shower. At nighttime the tents are cool because of the open screens that naturally let the air blow through the tent. And this is more comfortable than the dry air from airconditioning systems.

The service is great and when we arrived we got a warm welcome from the manager, staff and even the cook who were singing for us. We got a full introduction and explaination from the staff. The breakfast and dinner was very good and everything is fresh. There is a swimming pool and even a campfire that is lit in the evening.

The location is good and there are no other lodges between Sentrim and the Kilamanjaro that obstruct the view from this great volcano. The road to the lodges is a simple dirt road, but if the vehicle your travelling with has 4 wheel drive it makes the trip a bit easier.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vastgoeddominee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    136
    41
    7
    6
See reviews for
73
169
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tirunelveli, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed for a night. We were welcomed by the Welcome to Africa Song Awesome! We were thrilled and we could not believe that the song and tune by all the staff is for us. The staffs were cordial and friendly. Manager of the Hotel was receptive and so is the chef. Food was good. Being vegetarians we managed. The location was just outside the reserve. It is maintained well and has good ambience. Different experience from the concrete jungle.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

While the tents were quite adequate and clean, they are jammed in in a trailer-park like setting with no contact with the beautiful country around. Due to the large number of tents, the area is quite noisy and sleep was hard to come by. It was close to Amboseli National Park although the road to the tented camp is awful and had to be traversed for each visit to the park.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

The Sentrim Amboseli is a reasonable budget option but the food is not good and there are concerns about staffing and security.
We stayed one night at the Sentrim after originally planning for two nights. We had an early flight to catch from Nairobi the next day but it was easy to leave this hotel after just the one night.
First, the hotel is not in the park and the only view most guests have is of the tent walls or the tent across the way. Only one row could realistically get views of Kilamanjaro and thats providing you can see the mountain and not bush.
The tents themselves are spacious with decent bathrooms and dressing areas. But its like someone set it all up and then left it to run itself.
No-one is managing the place or supervising the staff and it shows. The place is spread out and many staff don't wear uniforms. Fine, but if you can't tell if someone is a staff member how do you know who they are? And how do you know who the security are? How do security know who should be in the compound and who shouldn't? Its not paranoia, just plain prudence. There seems to be all sorts coming and going and very little control over whats happening.
If you go to the bar for a drink you may get served or you may have to go find someone to come and serve you. And you might have to wait a fair while for someone to be found. This wasn't just us - other staff members had trouble finding someone to serve them at the bar, even after they yelled out for the guy to come and do it.
The food simply wasn't good, once again lack of decent management.
I don't like criticising these places because the staff are still nice and do need a job. But they also need supervision and someone in charge. And I need somewhere decent for my money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed at the Sentrim Amboseli for two nights. The location is excellent albeit the fianl bit of road to the camp is now terrible. Our driver told the Hotel staff he would not be sending anyone from his company to the Hotel unless they sorted the road. It is a van breaker. I know you shouldn't expect flat roads on a safari but there is a limit.
The food was very good. Lots of variety and the restaurant staff are excellent. They do apply the saying "slowly slowly" a bit too much. The staff in the bar were not interested in serving anyone. This also applied to the guy looking after the pool area.
The tents were nice but a bit too much like a hotel room re-located to a tent. The tents at the Flamingo camp in Lake Nakuru gave you a much more authentic feeling of being on safari.
Our group had a major problem when staying there. We were a group of 14 and 5 members of the group had over £1000 in cash stolen from the safes in the rooms or bags. The management didn't seem interested and came up with any excuse to not investigate. One response was that they couldn't finger print the safes as new people were now in the tents we had been in. Not sure how he was going to do that anyway in the middle of the bush. He insisted he was the only person who had the master code to access the safes. Again not sure if he works 24/7 but he must have to give it to another member of staff for when he is away.
All I would say in summary is the location is excellent (although there was too much cloud to see Kilimanjaro). The food is good. The service is average at best.
Be VERY careful with your money. Don't trust the safes. Keep it on your person at all times. They seemed to prefer non-Kenyan currency as I suupose most people won't check that all the time.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ramman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

we stayed here for 4 nights on a self drive trip to Amboseli. The lodge is just outside Kimana gate, down a dirt track so you do need a 4x4 to get here.
The tented rooms are spacious and comfortable, with large double beds and an ensuite bathroom with hot shower. There is a tea/coffee station, small fridge and hairdryer in the room. The small private patio is outside the back of the tent with chairs and table, not a great view from here but a nice place to sit.
The restaurant is excellent-serving buffett style meals which are very good and next to a nice bar area.
There is a nice swimming pool area with seperate bar.
Electricity is by generator and this is turned off most of the day-it doesn't come on until 6pm which is a bit awkward when you want a drink after getting back from a game drive.
I would recommend this lodge-it is clean, comfortable, in a good location and has excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosnowiec, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

What can I say? I don't know whether there are any words that can describe how overwhelmed I became when I got there. Super lay-out of luxurious tents scattered around African savannah just in the shadow of Kilimanjaro. Does it get any better? On top of that great service, tasty and fresh food and fantastic accommodation, equipped with more stuff you would've imagined in this sort of place not to mention the resort we were staying in. And everything perfectly merged with African scenery as if unspoiled and untouched by human hand. Breathtaking experience, I grant you. Staying in Sentrim Camp is as African as it gets so you cannot miss it out while gaming in Amboseli. Regards Michal

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mucha79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
7.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#2 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
18.3 mi away
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
#7 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
13.6 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#6 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Amboseli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Amboseli

Property: Sentrim Amboseli
Address: Amboseli National Reserve | P.O. Box 43436, 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amboseli National Park lies immediately North West of Mt. Kilimanjaro, on the border with Tanzania. The park covers 392 km2 and forms part of the much larger 3,000 km2 Amboseli ecosystem. Large concentrations of wildlife occur here in the dry season, making Amboseli a popular tourist destination. LocationSentrim Amboseli, the latest in guest accommodation is located on the border of Amboseli National Park right next to Kimana gate. The entirely new 60 luxurious and comfortable deluxe tents are evenly spread out with fantastic view of Mt. Kilimanjaro. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, restaurant and bar lounge and a gift shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sentrim Amboseli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentrim Amboseli Hotel Amboseli Eco-System
Amboseli Sentrim National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing