We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more you can expect”
Review of Sentrim Amboseli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sentrim Amboseli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed for a night. We were welcomed by the Welcome to Africa Song Awesome! We were thrilled and we could not believe that the song and tune by all the staff is for us. The staffs were cordial and friendly. Manager of the Hotel was receptive and so is the chef. Food was good. Being vegetarians we managed. The location was just outside the reserve. It is maintained well and has good ambience. Different experience from the concrete jungle.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 392 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2010

While the tents were quite adequate and clean, they are jammed in in a trailer-park like setting with no contact with the beautiful country around. Due to the large number of tents, the area is quite noisy and sleep was hard to come by. It was close to Amboseli National Park although the road to the tented camp is awful and had to be traversed for each visit to the park.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

The Sentrim Amboseli is a reasonable budget option but the food is not good and there are concerns about staffing and security.
We stayed one night at the Sentrim after originally planning for two nights. We had an early flight to catch from Nairobi the next day but it was easy to leave this hotel after just the one night.
First, the hotel is not in the park and the only view most guests have is of the tent walls or the tent across the way. Only one row could realistically get views of Kilamanjaro and thats providing you can see the mountain and not bush.
The tents themselves are spacious with decent bathrooms and dressing areas. But its like someone set it all up and then left it to run itself.
No-one is managing the place or supervising the staff and it shows. The place is spread out and many staff don't wear uniforms. Fine, but if you can't tell if someone is a staff member how do you know who they are? And how do you know who the security are? How do security know who should be in the compound and who shouldn't? Its not paranoia, just plain prudence. There seems to be all sorts coming and going and very little control over whats happening.
If you go to the bar for a drink you may get served or you may have to go find someone to come and serve you. And you might have to wait a fair while for someone to be found. This wasn't just us - other staff members had trouble finding someone to serve them at the bar, even after they yelled out for the guy to come and do it.
The food simply wasn't good, once again lack of decent management.
I don't like criticising these places because the staff are still nice and do need a job. But they also need supervision and someone in charge. And I need somewhere decent for my money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed at the Sentrim Amboseli for two nights. The location is excellent albeit the fianl bit of road to the camp is now terrible. Our driver told the Hotel staff he would not be sending anyone from his company to the Hotel unless they sorted the road. It is a van breaker. I know you shouldn't expect flat roads on a safari but there is a limit.
The food was very good. Lots of variety and the restaurant staff are excellent. They do apply the saying "slowly slowly" a bit too much. The staff in the bar were not interested in serving anyone. This also applied to the guy looking after the pool area.
The tents were nice but a bit too much like a hotel room re-located to a tent. The tents at the Flamingo camp in Lake Nakuru gave you a much more authentic feeling of being on safari.
Our group had a major problem when staying there. We were a group of 14 and 5 members of the group had over £1000 in cash stolen from the safes in the rooms or bags. The management didn't seem interested and came up with any excuse to not investigate. One response was that they couldn't finger print the safes as new people were now in the tents we had been in. Not sure how he was going to do that anyway in the middle of the bush. He insisted he was the only person who had the master code to access the safes. Again not sure if he works 24/7 but he must have to give it to another member of staff for when he is away.
All I would say in summary is the location is excellent (although there was too much cloud to see Kilimanjaro). The food is good. The service is average at best.
Be VERY careful with your money. Don't trust the safes. Keep it on your person at all times. They seemed to prefer non-Kenyan currency as I suupose most people won't check that all the time.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ramman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

we stayed here for 4 nights on a self drive trip to Amboseli. The lodge is just outside Kimana gate, down a dirt track so you do need a 4x4 to get here.
The tented rooms are spacious and comfortable, with large double beds and an ensuite bathroom with hot shower. There is a tea/coffee station, small fridge and hairdryer in the room. The small private patio is outside the back of the tent with chairs and table, not a great view from here but a nice place to sit.
The restaurant is excellent-serving buffett style meals which are very good and next to a nice bar area.
There is a nice swimming pool area with seperate bar.
Electricity is by generator and this is turned off most of the day-it doesn't come on until 6pm which is a bit awkward when you want a drink after getting back from a game drive.
I would recommend this lodge-it is clean, comfortable, in a good location and has excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

What can I say? I don't know whether there are any words that can describe how overwhelmed I became when I got there. Super lay-out of luxurious tents scattered around African savannah just in the shadow of Kilimanjaro. Does it get any better? On top of that great service, tasty and fresh food and fantastic accommodation, equipped with more stuff you would've imagined in this sort of place not to mention the resort we were staying in. And everything perfectly merged with African scenery as if unspoiled and untouched by human hand. Breathtaking experience, I grant you. Staying in Sentrim Camp is as African as it gets so you cannot miss it out while gaming in Amboseli. Regards Michal

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mucha79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Stayed here for one night whilst on a 3 day safari, talking in both the Tsavo East and Amboseli reserves. We had booked this excursion through a local tour operator in Diani Beach (where we were based for the majority of our stay).
We had bartered a very good deal with them for the accommodation, transport and tour guides - all in, so really didn't know what to expect from the accommodation. The lad we booked with just told us we would be in 'tents' at Amboseli and didn't really expand.
Well, he undersold this place greatly. The tents here cannot even be classed as 'tents' as we would normally think of them - they are like proper rooms - spacious and very 'new' looking with a private bathroom -and even a welcome plate of nibbles on arrival.
Beds were quite hard though, but more than adequate for a short stay- not sure about any longer than that though.
Food quite basic but more than adequate - this was all included as part of our tour deal, but drinks cost extra, and weren't the cheapest if I remember rightly.
Not much in the way of entertainment - but that's just the way we liked it. Bright eyed and fresh-faced for the safari day ahead of us.
There's a decent sized pool here. Although it was freezing when we went so don't think it's heated. I was quite brave and went for a dip but didn't last long in there! We didn't have much sun whilst in Amboseli, the weather was quite angry and we had rain, so maybe that had something to do with the coldness of the pool.
But when a property has Mt Kilimanjaro as its backdrop who cares about a pool?! It doesn't get much better than that. We arrived at night-time so obviously couldn't see much - but that only made the sight of the mountain at day break the following morning all the more breathtaking.
Tip: All the electricity goes off at night - so make use of the torch provided in the tents. I didn't notice it was there at first and stumbled around walking into things for about 15 minutes trying to find our bathroom!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_Kitty_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
8.3 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
828 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
930 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
#4 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
782 reviews
1.7 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
123 reviews
5.5 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#6 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Amboseli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Amboseli

Address: Amboseli National Reserve | P.O. Box 43436, 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range: $184 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amboseli National Park lies immediately North West of Mt. Kilimanjaro, on the border with Tanzania. The park covers 392 km2 and forms part of the much larger 3,000 km2 Amboseli ecosystem. Large concentrations of wildlife occur here in the dry season, making Amboseli a popular tourist destination. LocationSentrim Amboseli, the latest in guest accommodation is located on the border of Amboseli National Park right next to Kimana gate. The entirely new 60 luxurious and comfortable deluxe tents are evenly spread out with fantastic view of Mt. Kilimanjaro. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, restaurant and bar lounge and a gift shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sentrim Amboseli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentrim Amboseli Hotel Amboseli Eco-System
Amboseli Sentrim National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing