We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking view of Magnificent Kilimanjaro” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sentrim Amboseli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sentrim Amboseli
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view of Magnificent Kilimanjaro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

It was a spur of the moment to visit Amboseli for long 50th Kenya Anniversary Independance Weekend holiday so my friends & I decided to stay at Sentrim Amboseli.

I've divided the review of the lodge & park into headings.

Getting There:
We left at 7.30 AM in the morning from NBO and reached the lodge at 12 pm. The road leading up to the lodge is via main NBO-MBA highway. Roads are very good with exception of a few kms from the entrance to the Park (which is murram).

Lodge - the lodge isn't anything fancy but has a lovely rustic charm to it. The 1st impression upon reaching the lodge is sense of tranquility & relaxation. There's quite a no of rooms at the lodge, giving the visitor the option to select ideal one. It has nice pool, outdoor SPA, baby pool & Massage. There's well-equipped bar.

Rooms - Tent room is very spacious with comfortable, solid mattress to sleep on. Typically equipped with Kettle, fridge, beverages, mineral water.etc. Being a NP, electricity comes on for a few hours in a day powered by a generator.

Food - what i liked best about the Restaurant was Pizza/Pasta Station served during dinner ( & tasty it was too). There was Stir Frys, chapatis prepared fresh everyday as LIVE cooking. Like any other typical lodges, there's salads, soups, hot dishes like roasts/curries, fresh bread & desserts. You also have typical English breakfast. Overall, i found food quite tasty.

Service: The lodge, understandably, due to its location, has a high no of friendly masai staff.

Things to Do: Nature walk with experienced masai guide, visit to NP, swimming in the lodge pool / relaxing in outdoor SPA, visit to nearby real life masai village,.

Game: Testament to Amboseli being a Elephant Park, i saw herds & herds of mystic Ellies. Some came very close to the mini van as the pics prove to be the case. I also saw 2 lions, buffalos, giraffe, wildebeest, zebra & some herbivores. Although, Amboseli lacks the diverse range of game that is found at other popular NPs like mara & Tsavo, i was extremely excited & pleased to be "up close & personal" with Ellies. They came up so close to the Mini van, i could almost touch them !!

Overall: Compared to other popular hotel groups like Serena, Sopa,etc,,Sentrim is good value for money. I would recommend Sentrim Amboseli for a memorable safari trip. The downside of the lodge is the congestion of tents, they were close enough to listen neighbours chatting. Yep - that close !!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEFANILARDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    136
    41
    7
    6
See reviews for
73
169
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Sentrim Amboseli Camp is an excelent place to stay while visiting Amboseli National Park. Our tent was very big and clean, food is nice. Very good service and very friendly people. We could see Kilimanjaro from our back terrace!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylwia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We loved our stay here and would happily stay again. My travel book had described it quite negatively, but I almost think they got the wrong lodge because it was great.

Pros:
-Very friendly welcome
-Very nice, spacious tent, cozy even during the rain storm
-Clean bathroom, plenty of hot water
-Shampoo, hair dryer, mini fridge, tea/coffee, and plenty of outlets in the room
-Turndown service
-Chairs in front of the tent to look at Kili (it was somewhat private so we popped out the front in pajamas first thing in the morning)
-Very good food, much cooked in front of you (fresh chapati and naan; leg of pork; pizza; lentils; stir-fried lamb made-to-order; South African wine of the day; crepes and omelets)
-Everyone cooking and serving the food was very warm and friendly

Cons:
-Water bottles provided in the room are smaller than those provided at other lodges
-Lots of frogs in the pool in the evening made us relieved that we had not used it in the afternoon
-Aside from fresh fruit, the desserts were poor
-A few scorpions in the room, but once we sprayed it was fine

Room Tip: Our tent was in the row closest to Kili, which afforded a great view, and it was on the end of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saar, Bahrain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Spent a night at the camps during our safari to Amboseli. After reading the reviews from other travelers I was abit hesitant to book it. I am glad we stayed there. The tents were well set up with all basic amenities including a mini fridge and ample switches. Hot showers were available throughout. We took a full board package and the food was nice, especially dinner.

It can get really cold in the mornings, depending on the season you visit. Oh, electricity cuts out at 10pm and resumes early in the morning before sunrise :), so don't forget to charge your phones and cameras when you go for dinner or immediately afterwards if you are palling on leaving early next morning

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asdaghar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here in Nov 2013 for a couple of days. The place is decent enough but some of the tents show their age. They also seemd to lack window flaps so the wind and dust tends to blow in. The other problem we had was that coming from Arusha to Amboseli we had to pass thru one gate and exit at the other to get to the camp which counts as one entry into the park - you are allowed two entries in a 24 hour period per ticket. So we had to buy additional ticktes for the next day.

I also did not care for the food being left uncovered in the dining area and the desserts being attacked by flies and ants. The staff did not seem to understand or care when this was pointed out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gvsuresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Very nice stay of 4 nights, a bit older but well equipped tents, very good meals and wonderfull staff. Nice swimmingpool, cheap spa... Views to Mt Kili, 5' drive from gate into Amboseli NP. Very good value for price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmarivoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent there one night in March. We liked the place very much. The tent was really nice, clean and really spacious with modern clean bathroom. The tent was well equipped (even a tea-set and a little fridge!) with a comfortable king bed. The shower cabin was big enough for two. We had a great view – for the Mount Kilimanjaro. The camp is big so there are many places inside the camp to go. There is a pool, a place for evening entertainment, a Kilimanjaro view point, a restaurant, and a bar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
7.8 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#2 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
3.0 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
18.3 mi away
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
Amboseli Sopa Lodge
#7 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
13.6 mi away
Satao Elerai
Satao Elerai
#6 of 19 in Amboseli Eco-system
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Amboseli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Amboseli

Property: Sentrim Amboseli
Address: Amboseli National Reserve | P.O. Box 43436, 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amboseli National Park lies immediately North West of Mt. Kilimanjaro, on the border with Tanzania. The park covers 392 km2 and forms part of the much larger 3,000 km2 Amboseli ecosystem. Large concentrations of wildlife occur here in the dry season, making Amboseli a popular tourist destination. LocationSentrim Amboseli, the latest in guest accommodation is located on the border of Amboseli National Park right next to Kimana gate. The entirely new 60 luxurious and comfortable deluxe tents are evenly spread out with fantastic view of Mt. Kilimanjaro. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, restaurant and bar lounge and a gift shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sentrim Amboseli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentrim Amboseli Hotel Amboseli Eco-System
Amboseli Sentrim National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing