We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NATURE AND COMFORT!”
Review of Sentrim Amboseli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sentrim Amboseli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've spent the last 2 days of my Kenya Safari experience at the Sentrim.
Great location, very cose to the game park and to teh Kilimanjaro viewpoint.

Tends are spacious and comfortable...even though if it is windy at night, curtains will blow all over
as the tent has got windows open nets!!!!!

Food is ok .....even though they allow cats to wonder about int the dining room dueing meal times! (I do not like it!!!); staff is great, all very friendly.

Totally enjoyed the stay!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarisaTuranoDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 387 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We was stay here from 1 night after a safari in Amboseli Park.
Our rooms was very clean and confortable with all the benifits of 4 star hotel (no TV please :-) )
There was also a swimming pool, a little souvenir shop and a good restaurant.
Dinner and breakfast was very good with a wide choices of plates and foods.

A beautifull places to stay and relax after a day of REAL safari!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea_B_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This camp is excellent, we have had such a good time here and even extended our stay. You are welcomed with singing and dancing by all staff, with a drink and fresh juice. Wonderful ambiance, pool and pool bar, spa/massage, delicious plentiful, freshly cooked food, beautiful gardens, lovely and friendly staff, great tent, fully furnished, good quality giftshop, viewing point Kilimanjaro and very close to the Kimani gate of Amboseli. You can hear wildlife at night from your comfortable tent with pretty bathroom, but it is perfectly safely guarded by fences. Can't wait to be back here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoDutchies2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Sentrim is a nice tented lodge with a great view on the Kilimajaro. The tents are very spacious, clean, with a concrete made and comfortable bathroom, then the bedroom area, a small terrace (some of the tents have direct view on the Kilimanjaro). It is nicer than most 4 stars European hotels I visited recently...
Beside the view point, there is a small swimming pool with view on the Kilimanjaro as well, with a bar and sunbeds which might be a bit crowded out of safari hours and as far as I am concerned is too cold to swim in.
The Amboseli park gate is 10 minutes away and at the time of my visit the guide was obliged to drive inside the park all the way to another gate for ticketing and other administrative issues. It means you could lose some safari time.
For a couple of days spent out on safari in Amboseli is a more than decent place, otherwise there are no activities organized in the eveninings and nowhere to go in the neighbourhood, so if travelling alone it can be boring.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AleAllAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed in this tented camp following a "break" in Nairobi after five days on safari. Our earlier tent experience at Siana Springs gave us a valid comparison and although the location (with a great view of Mt. Kilimanjaro) was good, the tired decor inside the tent just didn't stack up. The bedding actually seemed less than pristine.

The tents were all fairly close together and you could hear your neighbors talking (and snoring). We had a problem with the toilet in our tent but it was quickly fixed after I notified the front desk.

The pasta stir fry at lunch and pizza at dinner are superb.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeCOleman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

While on safari to Kenya and Tanzania, we stayed in this lodge for two nights. The grounds are very nice, there is entertainment nightly, and the staff is accommodating. However, the rooms, while roomy, are basic. The bathrooms did not have quality towels (no washcloths) and the room was extremely dimly lit. The major problem with this lodge was the food, which was not good. Bread was stale, there was no coffee available at breakfast for up to 1/2 hour while the staff was making new coffee, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

the lodge is a wonderful place, just outside the Amboselie with a lovely garden which is well tended and the viewing site for the kilimanjaro is fantastic,- there were zebras just behind the gates of the lodge at the water hole next to the kilimajoaro viewing site - the tents are lovely and very confortable and the bar/swimming pool and the restaurant are great places to relax.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talita_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amboseli Eco-system hotels
1.2 mi away
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
#4 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
55 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ol Tukai Lodge
Ol Tukai Lodge
#1 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
820 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kibo Safari Camp
Kibo Safari Camp
#1 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
Amboseli Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
772 reviews
1.7 mi away
AA Lodge Amboseli
AA Lodge Amboseli
#3 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
118 reviews
14 mi away
Tortilis Camp
Tortilis Camp
#3 of 20 in Amboseli Eco-system
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Amboseli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Amboseli

Address: Amboseli National Reserve | P.O. Box 43436, 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Amboseli Eco-system
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amboseli Eco-system
Price Range: $145 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amboseli National Park lies immediately North West of Mt. Kilimanjaro, on the border with Tanzania. The park covers 392 km2 and forms part of the much larger 3,000 km2 Amboseli ecosystem. Large concentrations of wildlife occur here in the dry season, making Amboseli a popular tourist destination. LocationSentrim Amboseli, the latest in guest accommodation is located on the border of Amboseli National Park right next to Kimana gate. The entirely new 60 luxurious and comfortable deluxe tents are evenly spread out with fantastic view of Mt. Kilimanjaro. The main guest area consists of the reception, lounge area, restaurant and bar lounge and a gift shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sentrim Amboseli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentrim Amboseli Hotel Amboseli Eco-System
Amboseli Sentrim National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing