We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tien-Shan
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Almaty
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not a bad option”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Have stayed here twice and at the Hotel Kazakhstan twice. Service is probably slightly better at the Tien-Shan, with more spacious rooms. Restaurant looks elegant but the breakfast buffet is average (and changes little day-to-day). Lunch and dinner menu have many choices. Only one beer on tap. Bathroom shower is by wand and the water smells a bit. Certainly quieter than having the Guns and Roses at the Hotel Kazakhstan. Expensive, but a safe bet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alima B, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Otto K.,


Thank you for staying at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan.

We are pleased to read that you had a good experience with us and mentioned elegant style of the Restaurant, spacious rooms and variety of food for lunch and dinner.

We greatly appreciate your kind words regarding safety in our Hotel, this is what we believe is one of the most important things for a traveler.

Nevertheless, it is unfortunate to read that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Your experience has been communicated to our team, and all necessary measurement has been taken to prevent these episodes to occur again. And we appreciate your taking the time to advise us of this inconvenience. Your feedback is very important to us.

We hope that you will consider staying at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and good service.


Sincerely Yours,
Alima Balgabekova
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    56
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
9
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlino, Germania
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I arrived here, it was an Emergency situation, without having booked in advance, at 01.00 am. They immediately took the advantage and told me that they had only rooms at 43.000 KZT (about 215 Euro)! I had no chance and I took the room. It took 10-15 minutes to have check in, and it was not by chance as it took also 10-15 minutes to have check out: exhausting!
The room was on the street and it was very noisy. Room basic, but with some really annoying matters. (1) The bed was very short. It was about 185/190 cm and I am 185. My feet were outside all night long. But (2) the worst was in the morning: the curtains were almost transparent and, as soon as it rose the sun, it entered totally into the room waking me up. Not nice. Pity: the hotel was fully renovated and they lost a chance to make it fully comfortable. Pity. I think I will not sleep there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VSanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alima B, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Sanna,


On behalf of Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, kindly accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations on the high standard of hospitality and professionalism.

We sincerely regret the inconvenience you have encountered. And I appreciate you taking the time to advise us of this inconvenience, which is the first step towards improvement of our services.

Taking your comments with full and serious attention, I would like to assure you we could not provide you standard rooms in the mid of April, due to the reason that April is one of the busiest months of the year and there were several exhibitions in Almaty city. Hope for your understanding.

We are sorry that you were disturbed with noise from outside of your room and felt uncomfortable during the stay. Please let us know next time details of your visit of Almaty and we shall provide you Superior Double rooms with bigger bed and heavy curtains with free upgrade.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to return to Grand Hotel Tien-Shan and I am very much looking forward to meeting you during your next visit to Almaty to present my apologies and assure you to do our utmost to ensure the full satisfaction of all our guests at all times.



Sincerely Yours,
Alima Balgabekova
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olen
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My first trip to Almaty, arrived at 4.00 am, people were friendly, but the room was very basic and on the street site, traffic, trams, noise etc. prevented me from sleeping. I had to asked for a quite room facing the back. The bed was uncomfortable, thin pillows, carpet were stained and not really clean. Overall, very old fashioned. The room was small, old furniture, the bathroom also basic, on old sink with cracks, the shower was acceptable, but it took a while to get warm water. Once in a while the water temperature went down, when more people were taking a shower.
But the Spa is great.
Breakfast room: when using the chairs it was OK but on the coaches you were setting way to low at the table. I found the breakfast pretty basic. No fresh orange juice.
The people were genuinely friendly.
In terms of value for money, I would say, overpriced.

Room Tip: ask for the quiet room if you decide to stay int his hotel. And if you do, you have to use the Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johan_christel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

One of the probably best options for a longterm stay for business in Almaty. Sure, not a posh place, but with a good location, clean facilities and attentive staff. I stayed for more then 6 months onsite and despite the fact that this whole experience is not exactly cheap i do not regret any spent dollar.

First and foremost, the place is safe. Almaty is the standard joint of a 1.5M inhabitant city....so usual criminality is around and you'd better not walk alone in the parks late. At the TS you are fine as there is abdundant CCTV and onsite security, so no reason to feel uncomfortable.

The rooms are functional allthough i do not consider them overly stylish or modern. Anyway as most of business people are rather looking for the "musts" (clean, good bed; good breakfast and reach to airport and center) you are at the right spot.

There are a restaurant and a cigar club/bar at the venue that both serve their purpose allthough i would recomment to explore the southern (to the hills) are for nice coffee shops and mid-priced restaurants, here again...not that fance but a good deal for longstayers (those unlikely want to blow their dough in Almaty, but at home...)

The SPA is worth for regular workout, but can be busy on weekends. During the week its usual quiet and during day basically dead - which i consider good to have a good 007-style swim in the pool with just the poollighning switched on before breakfast...

Last but not least to mention the GM running it, an original German hustler who is a fountain of local info both for business and pleasure.

One more thing that sets the place apart from most others is the absence of hookers at the place in the evening, which makes it also a good thing to meet with partners.

Room Tip: I would opt for the rooms looking to the yard, those are quiet, but miss the view to the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alima B, Sales Manager at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Clumb,


First of all, we would like to thank you very much indeed for your warm and positive comments and most importantly for selecting our hotel as your accommodations of choice when you visited Almaty for long term stay.

How wonderful to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We are glad to know that you felt safe in our hotel, this is what we believe is one of the most important things for a traveler.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the services of the hotel, your room and the restaurants. Our team strives indeed to make every single guest feel comfortable and satisfied and they will be thrilled to hear that they achieved their goal.

We are very much looking forward to your next visit to Almaty!


Sincerely Yours,
Alima Balgabekova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed 1 night, november 2012 . Hotel is located near at the centre of Almaty. It is convinient for business and tourism. Breakfast was good, traditional European meal... Room were too small for me and furniture were too old. TV didn't work properly

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel several times during my business trips to Almaty. The location of the hotel is convenient, the rooms are clean and comfortable, equipped with a mini bar, TV and A/C. The SPA is very nice and relaxing. The staff is not always efficient, but always very friendly.

The only awkward situation happened to me with a very persisting hotel porter who after insisting to bring my luggage to the room, refused to leave till I gave him a tip, which was not so easy since I had just arrived and did not have local money yet, also it was at 3 am in the morning, while I was barely standing on my feet after the 10 hour flight. So for a sake of serenity, have some change ready.

Nevertheless, I like this hotel, but its real disadvantage is the price, that even having in mind that the average hotel prices in Almaty are high, is way overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PranasFra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for just over a week. My husband for work and I for leisure. We really enjoyed our stay. We arrived in the middle of the night and the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. During our stay he was very keen to give us tips about what to do. He liked to steer us to the more western sites, but we enjoyed the market, the parks, etc. The spa is luxurious, spacious pool and very under-used, a good way to relax at the end of the day. The breakfasts were good, but after a few days I was just looking for some good bread, but this is me.
The location was wonderful. It is opposite a very green area that links several larger gardens through a walkway. Plenty of benches to soak up the autumn sun. We felt safe to walk around at night and went to the theatre several times, saw two great ballets and the tickets were very cheap. So, yes, we can recommend the hotel, its service and location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suus267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
0.7 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
0.8 mi away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 73 in Almaty
641 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kazzhol
Kazzhol
#6 of 73 in Almaty
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#10 of 73 in Almaty
424 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
0.4 mi away
Voyage
Voyage
#12 of 73 in Almaty
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tien-Shan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tien-Shan

Property: Grand Hotel Tien-Shan
Address: Bogenbay Batyra St., 115, Almaty, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tien-Shan 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Grand Hotel Tien-Shan" is located in picturesque area of the central part of Almaty, totals 78 numbers and offers individual service, a wide spectrum of possibilities for business and leisure, as, for instance, business center, high-speed Internet, banquet room, business meetings and conference halls, which area is 460 sq.M. Our redesigned lobby, restaurant and banquet room - are exactly that is necessary to have dinner, supper or carry out unforgettable event. Have a rest in our unique <> after your working day, with exclusive selection of drinks and cigars. The distinctive feature is our magnificent SPA-center "Bali". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Tien-Shan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing