We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Almaty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful Almaty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Nice and clean hotel in the center of Almaty. You can take public transportation from there if you are with friends otherwise taxi is available. We enjoyed very good service and good food. My son could not get enough of their excellent Club Sandwich and fries. They also have local cuisine and very nice breakfast. Almaty is the best city to visit in Kazakhstan: it has beautiful nature, interesting history, world known Zelenyi Bazar with freshest fruits and vegetables and everything else. And of course beautiful Medeo, which used to be world’s largest open skating rink that witnessed a lot of world records in speeds skating and other sports. The mountains are breathtaking! And Shashlyk (local meat lamb kebobs) are unbelievable. Almaty offers lots of good restaurants to try traditional Kazakh food and very friendly people that love to host!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    90
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
17
17
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

No wonder this is Almaty's most popular hotel.

Spotless from start to finish.

I arrived 4 hours later than planned, reception rearranged airport pick-up.

Extremely friendly and competent check-in staff, always there to help.

Tidy, well-appointed room, simple and modern.

Great breakfast buffet (albeit a bit slow at times).

Tiny gym and no other spa facilities a small minus, but otherwise great choice.

Central location a big winner too!

Room Tip: Go for one of the top floor rooms facing south (mountains)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melafafon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed at the Worldhotel Saltanat over a weekend in April following a visit to Astana. What a different place Almaty is - there's far more life than in the new capital city in the far, far north of the country.

The Worldhotel Saltanat appears to have been recently renovated. It's situated in a quite central part of Almaty and it's possible to walk to many of the city's main attractions. There's a large lobby with friendly reception staff. I arrived mid morning on a rainy Saturday and my room was ready which was very pleasing. And what a room. I'd opted for the ever so slightly more expensive rooms and it was vast. I had a large area with desk and sofas, and my large bed was at the far end of the open plan room. The bathroom was great with twin basins, a great walk-in shower and good toiletries as well as fluffy towels.

There's a bar in the lobby that serves and a restaurant as well. Having explored some of Almaty in the afternoon after the sun had started to dry out the city, I decided to eat in the hotel. I had the dining room entirely to myself - dining on one's own in an empty restaurant is not the most wonderful experience - and I think the waitress was pleased to see someone! The food I chose was absolutely delicious, so the chef hadn't taken his eye off the ball even though it was a desperately quiet evening! With a few more people, it would have been a great place to be. What was important was the food which was great.

In the morning, I pulled back my curtains to see the sun on the snow-capped peaks of the mountains surrounding the city. A great breakfast in a somewhat busier restaurant with friendly service again and freshly cooked eggs of whatever variety brought by the waiter.

The comfort of this hotel - which was reputedly a guest house for the party elite before the end of the Soviet Union - cannot be overstated. It's one of the best places I've stayed in a middle income country. So go for it if you're considering a hotel in Almaty. But leave a room for me...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon_Hawkhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Nice and clean hotel. Nothing extra, but perfect for business. Very good location, but taxi is necessary. Very quite area, close to the city center. Staff is very helpful, prices are reasonable. A little strange toilet and shower, but you get used to it. Breakfast was ok (starts at 7am). Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We recently went on a trip to Kazakhstan and decided to try a number of hotels (please see other reviews). We stayed at WorldHotel Saltanat for 3 nights. The rooms are big and staff are helpful. The shower, toilet and washbasin are separate (apparently typical CIS style) with the washbasin being in the actual room. The shower pressure is excellent. There are Rituals toiletries which are also very nice.

Location-wise it is possibly one of the best locations for tourists in Almaty. Buffet Breakfast was quite good and varied (eggs, potatoes, sausages, bacon, cereals, breads, desserts, fruits, etc).

Pros:
- Big, clean, comfortable rooms
- Excellent shower
- Excellent Location (5 mins walk to Republic Square, 10 mins walk to Kok Tobe, 25 mins walk to Zenkov's Cathedral)
- Many nice restaurants, bars nearby (e.g. Kurmangazy Street has a number of nice modern places)
- Close to Abay Metro Station (5 min walk)
- Helpful staff in booking day-trips for us
- Free Wi-Fi

Cons:
- Air Conditioning in our room was not very good (operated more like a fan which didn't really cool down the room well)
- Room Service food quality is average. In addition we had an issue where my partner wanted a pasta without beef (which the staff seemed to understand) but ended up serving the pasta with lamb (he is a vegetarian) and removed beef from my club sandwich (which I hadn't requested).
- We requested the front desk to book us a taxi for the airport but when we went to check-out it wasn't booked. The staff on duty was very helpful in promptly booking us a taxi however if we were in a rush it may have been an awkward situation

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gomtokshae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldhotel_Saltanat, Manager at Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us!
We are very glad to hear that you pointed out main features of the hotel like rooms, location, room amenities, free wi-fi, helpful staff and variable breakfast.

I shared your comments regarding the air-condition, room-service and taxi-service with my colleagues and we took all necessary actions to avoid such situatuions in the future.
However, we greatly appreciate if you can contact us directly at sales@worldhotelsaltanat.com and we may discuss your stay experience in more detail.

With best regards,
Aidos Abdibekov
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

I wholeheartedly agree with all the good reviews. Nice, spacious rooms, fast internet, extremely courteous and helpful staff. The toilet/shower arrangement in separate boxes was a bit weird, I have to admit, but hey, it worked. Good breakfast - notice you can order omelets/eggs before you start loading your plate with the food from the buffet. Fresh orange juice. The restaurant design is not very welcoming though so I'd recommend going somewhere else for dinner.

Another great thing about the hotel is that because of big property it manages to stay quiet even though it is located right in the city center. The bed was very comfortable too, so I slept very well both nights of my stay.

Also, there is a gym in the hotel. It's very small, but it's there. A good Kinesis machine for strength training in addition to two treadmills, although this means only one person can do strength training at a time. I went there at 6.30 to 7.30 in the morning though and there were no other volunteers.

Will definitely return here and recommend this place to others. Well done, team Worldhotel Saltanat, keep it up!

Room Tip: Rooms ending with even numbers face the mountains (you can't see much of them, but it's bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great little hotel, felt homey. tucked in a quiet area, very peaceful. Check in was great, all of my inquiries were handled on time. Restaurant area was very nice, breakfast buffet was great. Lunch wasn't as awesome, but maybe I just ordered something I didn't like )
Another plus is that Metro is near by, and you can walk over to Kok-Tebe.
What I missed there is a pool, spa etc. But overall, very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#7 of 70 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
5.7 mi away
Saraichik
Saraichik
#14 of 70 in Almaty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 70 in Almaty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kazzhol
Kazzhol
#5 of 70 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty

Property: Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
Address: Furmanova St., 164, Almaty 050021, Kazakhstan (Formerly Saltanat Residence)
Phone Number:
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Almaty
#4 Luxury Hotel in Almaty
#6 Best Value Hotel in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical heart of Almaty Worldhotel Saltanat opens its doors after complete renovation and offers state-of-the-art and tastefully furnished rooms and suites, the finest culinary delights and modern meeting facilities. Worldhotel Saltanat is the ideal place to work and relax, offering its guests excellent service and exclusive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltanat Residence Almaty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing