We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Almaty!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
The Sea Ranch, California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Almaty!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was my second stay at the InterContinental Almaty and once again I enjoyed my stay while on vacation with family and friends. We had a Junior Suite which was nice as we had access to the InterContinental Club during our stay. We enjoyed the free happy hour here every night of our stay and it was a good place for access to fast internet services. The hotel was very accommodating putting two rollaway beds in the adjoining room for our teenage kids. The Jr. Suite also has two bathrooms, but only the Master bath has a shower and bathtub. The bathtub is large but the shower is on the small side. The breakfast offered a variety of hot and cold food. The staff spoke good english and was helpful in arranging transport around the city. This hotel has a good location close to the main city park, several shopping malls, and the Natural History Museum. The hotel also offers free airport shuttle services.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors with views of the mountains are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twickski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

I was very happy to read such a delightful review of your stay in InterContinental Almaty hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending us here on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Thank you once again and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next stay.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    172
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
17
28
34
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level 6 Contributor
592 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great hotel to start what was to be a two week trip in the region. Needed a good night's sleep after the trans_atlantic flight and transfers in Europe. Great beds, quality breakfasts, spotty internet access but the Executive center made up for that.

Room Tip: I had a room with a view of Zhaili Alatau mountains, not sure which side, that was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a review of our hotel.
I sincerely appreciate your feedback. We will improve Internet service in our Hotel.
We hope you will be back soon and give us the opportunity to provide you with the complete service.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I recently spent 2 nights here and arranged for the hotel car to collect me at the airport. I arrived very early at the hotel, after an overnight flight, and was quickly advised that my room was ready, five and half hours before scheduled check in time. The check in process was friendly, smooth and efficient and I was quickly in my room. I had club room access which was excellent although the choice of food was a little limited but that could have been down to the fact there were only a few guests in there. The room was excellent, well equipped, very clean and comfortable. There were sufficient power outlets and the wifi connection was free and fast. The toiletries provided were also high quality. The public areas of the hotel were very attractive and comfortable and included 2 bars and 2 restaurants. One of the bars allowed smoking which was not to my liking but obviously appreciated by the smokers as it was very cold outside. The restaurant at the top of the hotel had an excellent menu, with some very interesting local dishes and great views across the city to the mountains that surround the city. All the staff at the hotel were very friendly, efficient and wiling to assist guests. This is a high quality, beautiful hotel that ensures all guests are well looked after when visiting the city.

Room Tip: A high room facing the mountains gives excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyW1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

I was very happy to read such a delightful review of your stay in InterContinental Almaty hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending us here on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed pleasing to read your description of our hotel and to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
Thank you once again and I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next stay.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We recently stayed at this wonderful facility. First stay was one night upon arrival in Kazakhstan which gave us a good opportunity to unwind and get caught up on the 11 hour time difference from home. 10 days later after our tour of the mountains we returned for a 2 night stay and got to further experience this wonderful gem in Almaty. Lobby was beautifully decorated, staff was excellent from start to finish, very good dining options with a wide variety of offerings both local and international, well appointed, clean, quiet and comfortable rooms and no issues whatsoever at check out. What more can one ask for anywhere in the world??....one of our best hotel experiences in our many world wide travels. Do not hesitate to book this hotel for either business or leisure while in Almaty.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing such a delightful review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stays with us.
Also we would like to thank you for rating our hotel as one of the best and recommending us.

Looking forward to welcome you back again.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Intercontinental in Almaty 3 nigths in the end of November.
We arrived by plain Turkish Airlines from istambul to Almaty in morning 07.00.
So we must to pay to the hotel additional 150 USD for the early chek-in. It was not the best for the first opinion. The first room ( N623) I received in front of the lift and the door was not closed the noise from the corridor . Each door of the hotel is shorter 10-15 mm than the door frame. The second room I received in evening was better ( N612) in the SE wing of the hotel. There was a nice view to the mountains.
The heating system and the cooling system is the same ( A/C) so if you wish a warm temperature in the end of November you must turn to maximum the ventilating fan . It will blow the warm air with a noise and it will circulate the small mote in the room 24 hours a day.

We had a two days conference and the catering was very nice and delicious .
The personal of the hotel is very kindly in the reception and the restaurants too.

I was stay in other hotels Almaty 20 years ago only and i can't compare its today with others.

Room Tip: Rooms in the east side has a good wiev to the mountains .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Hidvegi,

We thank you for the time you have taken to write your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are glad that you have mentioned the staff friendliness at the reception as well as at the restaurants. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused by accommodating you in front of the elevator and for Air-conditioner malfunction.
We highly appreciate your comments which are very important for us in further improvement of our performance.
We look forward for an opportunity of welcoming you back again during your next visits to Almaty, Kazakhstan.



Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Nevis
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Intercontinental in Almaty, Kazakhstan last week. It is located within walking distance of the President's Palace and the Museum of Kazakh Nations. It is a great hotel, the rooms are very spacious, the breakfast in morning offers a whole lot of choice between hot, cold, Western and Asian style meals. The staff is very friendly and helpful and they can either arrange a car from the airport or you could take the free shuttle. The view is spectacular, with an amazing scene of the mountains which surround the city, but because it sits in a bowl, its smoggy by afternoon. My one complaint is the lack of internet access in your room, it is hit, miss and miss some more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mihajlovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your delightful review and for recommending us.
We are so happy to see you touched on all the points we pride ourselves on.
We also appreciate your comments about the internet. We will take necessary actions to improve the internet connection.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are nice. Hotel is well maintained. Like Almaty in general, it is expensive. Service is good to fair but never bad. If your staying in Almaty this is a great option upscale and comfortable. The breakfast Buffett is nice was included and worth it for me.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intercontinenta... a, General Manager at InterContinental Almaty Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the InterContinental Almaty Hotel.

I was delighted to read your review and to see that you enjoyed staying at our hotel.
We certainly look forward to welcome you back to InterContinental Almaty Hotel, hopefully in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Hakan Demirceken
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
1.0 mi away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 73 in Almaty
647 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#10 of 73 in Almaty
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
1.6 mi away
Ramada Almaty
Ramada Almaty
#5 of 73 in Almaty
131 reviews
2.9 mi away
Royal Tulip Almaty
Royal Tulip Almaty
#9 of 73 in Almaty
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Almaty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Almaty Hotel

Property: InterContinental Almaty Hotel
Address: Zheltoksan St., 181, Almaty 050000, Kazakhstan
Phone Number:
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Almaty Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 277 well-stocked deluxe rooms and spacious suites provides a breathtaking range of guest services and plenty of space to relax. Stylish, contemporary decor complements deluxe amenities, including luxurious bedding with feather comforters and cotton-rich linens. In your room: tilt-open windows, individual climate control, electronic "Do-not-Disturb / Maid" call system, LCD TV, pay-TV, mini-bar, tea & coffee facilities, in-room safe with a recharging plug, umbrella, iron and board. Telephones with voicemail allow direct dialing both internationally and locally. Each of our rooms has a large desk and high-speed Internet access, so you're able to be productive away from the office. Spacious suites are ideal for guests who need a bit more room to spread out, each with a separate sit-down beauty vanity counter and a separate living room with comfortable sofa and LCD TV. Guests staying in Club rooms benefit from access to the Club Lounge. Marble bathrooms are supplied with weight scales, hairdryer, magnifying cosmetic mirror, bathrobes, slippers and deluxe bath amenities. A separate shower cabin is a feature in every suite. All guests staying in the hotel have a complimentary access to The Ankara Spa. GUEST ROOMS - 203 Deluxe rooms - 49 Club InterContinental rooms - 13 Junior suites - 9 Exclusive suites - 2 Presidential suites - 1 Wheel chair accessible room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Almaty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing