We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Brande new hotel, everything perfect in the rooms. Service still in the early stages, but lots of goodwill. Flexible on check in (flights from Europe land very early) and check out times. Much better than other options, in all aspects.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Macou13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 353 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed a couple of night in tho hotel. This was a new hotel in the city for me and i need to confess that this is the best option among the couple of other hotels where I stayed - Intercontinental and Rixos. The only down side of this hotel is staff. The reception check in is so slow - unbelievable, they seem do not know what they are doing. Also room service is something beyond imagination - so bad - they can not make a simple omlete without burning or over salting it. I had to send it back twice.
Any other your request will be done with the same result - need significant improvement.

Other than that - rooms, amenities etc. are very good - no complaints. The only inconvenient thing is how to get to your rooms and lobby of the hotel. You need first go to the lobby - 30th floor and then going down to your rooms at 21-29 floors. A bit wired system but what you can do.

Overall, i would recommend to stay in this hotel but be aware that any service request will not be done at the level of Ritz or any other good business hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmitryvulkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is a high quality hotel. Rooms are modern and comfortable (avoid "deluxe" rooms which are too small, and book an "executive room"), with a very comfortable bad and outstanding bathroom facilites. The table for the laptop was very small with no place left to use a note-book and a few inches away from the TV screen (probably designed by an architect who does not often sleep in hotels). The gym is very modern and well maintained. I rented a conference room and I was surprised by their excellent installations and beverage diversity. Their food quality on breakfast and lunch buffets, as well as room service, is not really top and should be improved. The staff is young, friendly and efficient. The main draw-back is its location, far away from everything.

Room Tip: Avoid "deluxe" rooms. Book "executive" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ALEX R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay! Spa was great, the bed was very comfortable. the staff was very helpful. Particularly Balhash Sagindykova was a lot of help in organising my stay. I also enjoyed the brunch in the Vista Restaurant. However, we found that the cupboards in the room were too small, although the room was huge with an amazing view.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDiyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I normally stay at the Intercontinental when I travel to Almaty for business as it is a very nice hotel, but a friend convinced me to try the Ritz this time around. What can I say, the Ritz is definitely a cut above. Pretty much everything you would expect from a hotel of this caliber with prices to match. The level of service and the quality of the facilities are first rate. I do, however, prefer the location of the Intercontinental as it is more centrally located and within walking distance of many restaurants and stores. The Ritz is located right next door to the Essentai Mall, an upscale shopping mall, but beyond that you'll need to hail a cab to get anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BackRowSeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed at Ritz Carlton Almaty 26th to the 28th of March, it is the best hotel in the city. I also stayed at Intercontinental and Ritz Carlton is for me by far the best. I stayed in a standard room category but it felt like a suite, spacious, comfortable, with a nice city view being on a high floor. All the facilities you can expect as a modern traveller are there. The views are fantastic, especially in the restaurant - the mountains hypnotise you. And the breakfast is a true feast. The staff is what you call anticipate your needs, and very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belesya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The hotel is brand new and has outstanding design and quality of interiors. It is an iconic property - once inside you could feel being in Tokyo, or New York. It is located on the top floors of the high rise building which also has serviced apartments and office below the hotel, so once you enter on the ground floor you need to go to the reception on the 30th floor. It can be a bit confusing, since there is no reception at all on the ground floor and if there is nobody there, you would not know where to go. Fortunately there were bell boys helping with the luggage. The very generous ceiling height in the rooms provides this extra space feeling. The hotel has striking contemporary design and the materials used are of the highest quality - marble, wood and all other finishes are tastefully selected. The hotel presents a striking contrast to the city it was built in. Once you land in a relatively new but very dated and poor quality airport and drive through very much 3rd world city with poor dwellings and chaotically built ugly houses, nothing prepares you for the first world luxury and luxury it is.
There are two restaurants in the hotel - Mediterranean and a steak house. We looked at the menu at the Mediterranean restaurant, and were not impressed. In fact there was not much Mediterranean there, with horse meat, some Middle Eastern and a couple pasta dishes. The restaurant was empty and we decided that we would better go to the steak house. Prices are staggering, but then you should expect prices to be similar to those on the island, since in a way it is no different from a tropical island - everything you eat is 100% imported and there is no competition, so you have to accept the prices and enjoy the food. Australian fillet mignon was excellent and prepared just like we ordered. The restaurant interior is sophisticated with very high ceilings and very well decorated. It does lack atmosphere, since you are eating in an empty dining room. Service is good, although everyone is trying too hard and it feels a bit imposing. Breakfast was a bit disappointing - fruits were not very fresh, selection was limited and service was a bit slow and uncoordinated. Generally, the staff is not very experienced and it is hard to expect much given the fact that hotel is new and vacancy is high. Concierge has no knowledge of the restaurants or clubs, so could not offer us any recommendations, but this is also understandable. When you look out of the window you feel that this hotel is like an alien object that landed in the middle of nowhere, so it is an island of civilisation that you do not want to leave.There is Six Senses spa, which is amazing and very well equipped gym. The linen and bedding is very high quality and the rooms are equipped with everything you can think of. I only with there was a bit more buzz in the common areas, but that would come eventually.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oleg_Myshkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
2.1 mi away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 75 in Almaty
690 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
2.7 mi away
Royal Tulip Almaty
Royal Tulip Almaty
#10 of 75 in Almaty
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#9 of 75 in Almaty
456 reviews
1.5 mi away
Almaty-Sapar
Almaty-Sapar
#34 of 75 in Almaty
32 reviews
2 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty

Address: Esentai Tower, 77/7 Al Farabi Avenue, Almaty 050040, Kazakhstan
Phone Number:
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range: $225 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty as the first true luxury hotel in Almaty, Kazakhstan. We offer unparalleled Ritz-Carlton service in the best location in city on the footsteps of the Alatau Mountains with the most spacious rooms and suites. Stay with us and experience restaurants and bars on the upper floors of the Hotel providing guests unique culinary experience, SPA facilities. The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty is the meeting point for all appreciating design and esthetics and brings together people from culture, fashion, design, media, and arts contributing to the reputation of Almaty as an attractive destination both for tourists and business travelers. Our hotel offers 145 spacious guest rooms and suites and features: - Five-star, luxury hotel on 10 upper floors of Esentai Tower, the highest building in Almaty - Guest rooms and public areas featuring various decor such as Asian cherry, maple, oak and walnut - Bathrooms finished with marble from Portugal and Zimbabwe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing