We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
5
32
57
18
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5
32
57
18
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 115 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2017

The room is very small and not very clean. The breakfast is inedible for Westerners as the hygiene standard is very poor (no cooling, no covers). Aircondition works rather poor. We would not stay at this hotel again. However the staff was very friendly and helpful and their caring attitude made up for some of the inconveniences.
Looked to us as the managment is quite greedy and they seem to sell a lot to tourgroups for one night only.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paspy7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017

Big Sovjet style old hotel with halls and stairs with lots of marble, red carpet and stuff like that. But it really has seen better days. The rooms are a bit small and have a tiny balcony that looked like it would fall of at any minute. Everything in the rooms looks (and probably is) old. The airconditioning unit might be mid 70's and makes more noise than that it actually cools. The bed had a thin spring mattres, I could feel the wooden plate beneath it everytime I moved.

The view on the mountains from the rooms is magnificient though and the location of the hotel is also very good, opposite of a nice park where the beautiful Zenkov's Cathedral is located.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kees1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017

Named after a destroyed and abandoned city of yore, on paper the Hotel Otrar looked to have it all - the location, the classic asian tinged sovblok concrete architecture, a nightbar and a perfectly acceptable price as an alternate to the supply by numbers global brand hotels that travellers usually stay in.

What let the Ortrar down is the reality - some of it anyway. The staff are great and assist with everything, check in was straightforward even though it was an internet booking. Even the budget room has a boxy prefabricated charm. The location is spot on - right on the park, up the hill above the Market & 300 m from the metro station.

We arrived early after an overnight flight - normal in this neck of the woods - and dumped our bags to get down to the restaurant to sate our travel hunger. I admit I am a very picky eater but I can usually find something the focus on each morning. With the Otrar buffet, it was difficult to look forward to breakfast. One day, I had blinis and crumbly cheese that were delightful with some honey, the next day, the filling was grey and smelled of sewerage. Random greyed fried meats seemed to be the core of the buffet most days. Piles of fied eggs seemed to emerge at half hourly intervals - the knowing and experienced diners would avoid the rest of the buffet , wait until the eggs appeared and shovel down 5 or 6 each without pausing to breathe. No coffee apart from one sad instant jar with no label. Bread was yesterdays, or maybe the day before, it was certainly uneatable, even when plastered with Turkish jam.

I can live without breakfast though, I am a picky eater, so always manage to elicit a grumble at the proffered spread. The dining room was a delight though - a concrete Yurt decorated with murals of Kaz horsemen and folk stories.

There was no disco or night club - I was looking forward to this, but were comforted with the news that the night bar was open. But no one was behind the counter. A fellow bar attendee ( the only other person at the bar ) declared that he was waiting for a beer as well. The bar staff were nowhere to be seen. we got a warm beer about 20 minutes later, but the euphoria of the moment was lost. A disappointment as an end to a night.

But look - this is like £40 a night or something, it is safe - there were a couple of traditional Russian floor ladies on guard all night on our floor. There was no noise from the surrounding rooms, the aircon worked enough to take the heat out of the air and a couple of 24h kiosks outside on the road were available for supplies- which was useful as the minibar was totally empty and room service did not seem to be offered. WiFi was easy to connect and proper fast.

So what do i reckon ? at a cost of third or less than the big chains entry pricing, this is good enough for most people. The location is fantastic, safe and convenient. If you want the full room service and flunkeys at your beck and call, then pay10x and go to the Intercontinental with the rest of the salarymen on expenses. For a independent or budget minded traveller who doesn't mind the odd rough edge, bad grouting, mismatched doors and want a bit of old skool ex Intourist Soviet authenticity, then I would recommend this place. Just give the breakfast a body swerve completely and fill your boots for a fiver at one of the hundreds of decent cafes that are springing up in the 'hood. Or you could just spend the difference on exquisitely presented local craft beer. I know what I prefer. Food is overrated anyway.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mojjj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017

Recently spent 4 nights in Almaty at the Hotel Otrar. It is certainly well positioned just opposite the Panfilov park and a few minutes from Gorky Park, the central Market and Arbat Street. That is about it. Reception staff were fine although not speaking very good English. My room number 508 was ok but has a very old air conditioning unit which served only to blow around already warm air. I detected Soviet Style in most things. The bar was a joke. The one close to reception doesn't seem to function any more and the night bar situated on the second floor and supposed to open at 9pm was only open on 1 of my 3 visits. Even then, if you want the toilet, there aren't any and you just have to go back to your room!!!

I probably won't go back to Almaty again but if I did, I would chose another Hotel

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Davefel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017

Nice, cozy, soviet style hotel, Rooms are clean spacious. They offer a beautiful breakfast. Location of the hotel is well connected with public transport and 5 min walk to Zenkov cathedral, 10 min to Arbat street.
Very helpful personnel.

Room tip: Rooms on second floor are better
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulnoza U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews