We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite the 5 star, but friendly nonetheless”
Review of Dostyk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dostyk Hotel
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not quite the 5 star, but friendly nonetheless”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel was selected for us by local colleagues in Almaty. It has made a good transition from being the hotel formerly used by Soviet-era dignitaries to a good quality business and leisure travel hotel. Although the outside of the hotel displays 5 stars, the hotel sometimes falls short of a true 5 star, and equates more to a very good 3 or a good 4 star hotel you may expect to find in Europe, for example. The rooms are clean and comfortable - points are lost for the sparse decor (despite aims at a boutique style), the lack of towels in an otherwise top notch bathroom, and an initially extremely confusing control panel. On arriving at 3 AM, it was a bit tricky to get the hang of this, but once done, it was not really a problem. Having read previous reviews of unfriendly service, I was generally impressed by the friendliness of the reception. The breakfast staff (in the rather grand but ultimately sad dining room) were on the surly side on first impression, but this was probably more a language issue than anything else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB_Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    66
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
6
14
14
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Upon arrival to this hotel I was faced with a steep climb of stairs with my 3 bags with no other route to entry or support from any door attendees (I am of course only a second-rate young female). Given the lack of escalator, trolleys or helping-hand on my arrival this didnt leave me with a very good first impression of this hotel. I had never encountered a hotel that was not designed for people with luggage before until arriving at the Dostyk. After check-in by the somewhat pleasant Reception staff, I faced another climb of stairs to the lift. Hello....can someone please help? No?

Room was very large and bathroom was quite impressive, however I did not feel it was 5 star status and it was lacking the added touches that would make a guests stay comfortable i.e. heat (freezing air-conditioning), a kettle and some tea-bags would have been nice, and even just a blanket given that the one thin bed sheet was not quite sufficient for an autumnal Almaty and with the air-conditioning to contend with.

Breakfast appeared to be served in a wedding venue. A large bright white and soul-less conference room was set up for breakfast and again lacked any feeling of warmth or appeal to eat there. A 5 star breakfast it was certainly not.

Although the stay was pleasant enough and in a convenient location the check-out left a bad taste in my mouth with us having booked a taxi to the airport for 6.30am, having agreed a price in the evening prior. We arrive to the car wanting to charge us double the price and the hotel staff (whom booked it for us) shrugging their shoulders. The taxi driver decided to fit 3 of us into one small car (we all had minimum 2 items of luggage) stuffing my suitcase in the front and consequently breaking it and its handle.

So thank-you Dostyk for the back-ache. If my back didnt hurt after lobbing the suitcase up the stairs upon arrival it most certainly does now having had to negotiate a 23kg suitcase with no handle around Almaty airport there-after. A pain that will remind me not to stay in the Dostyk ever again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goychay, Azerbaijan
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had reservations (pun intended) before arriving here but there were some pleasant surprises. First of all the staff whom I found to be very welcoming and accommodating. Service with a smile is not generally the norm in Central Asia but this was an exception.

The hotel itself has been recently refurbished to quite a high standard. Quite liked the room as it was big, comfortable and quiet. Excellent bathroom as well. The bar downstairs is open 24 hours and the room service menu was quite extensive. Good location for central Almaty and for restaurants.

All of the technology in the room from the AC to the lights to the television can be controlled through two wall remotes, one of which is located by the bed. It took a few minutes to figure out how to use it and this might be confusing for those of us who are not very tech savy and/or elderly.

The negatives were that although there was free WiFi and it was generally okay there were still some inconsistencies. Also the shower (though powerful) had some temperature difficulties.

Room Tip: Not the parking lot side if you want to avoid bright lights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daymannightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I didnt enjoy my stay at the Dostyk and after a three-night stay all I can say is it isn't a 5-star and I wouldn't recommend it.

Guests are offered a buffet style breakfast which is average. What I didn't like was we had an early flight and checked out at 6.30 but the hotel did not offer an early breakfast option and it wasnt even possible to have a cup of coffee. The price quoted by reception for the taxi doubled and after a heated discussion the porter rammed my colleague's suitcase in the vehicle so hard it broke.

The rooms are ok, the shower was lukewarm at best and on my last day I was forced to have a cold shower. The rooms are not very well equipped and lack tea and coffee making facilities and the air con was really difficult to switch off.

However, the gym and spa are great and about the best thing about the hotel.


Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for a week. Our first visit to Almaty and Kazakhstan. Hotel is modern, clean and well located. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a good variety, and wifi was free and had good connection all the time. Could not really fault anything about the place. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would opt to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PollyinCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotels looks nice and has good looking appointments but nothing really works right. The hotel has WiFi but the router is at the reception desk, if you are on the 3rd or 4th floor you get no reception. The rain showers look great but the drains don't work and partially flood the bathrooms. There are no blackout curtains and when you try and close the curtains that are there they, in both rooms we had, they fall off the rod, The walls are thin. The restaurant looks nice but the food is mediocre. The Saltanant is next door and much better location.

Room Tip: You wan to face the road if possible because the parking lot has very bright lights and a second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed one night on business. Had large room at end of corridor with shower and separate bathtub. Comfortable bed but noisy aircon. Free wifi throughout hotel was appreciated. Breakfast was adequate with usual cold meat and cheese selection but certainly not five star.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moneyfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
0.9 mi away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 73 in Almaty
646 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#10 of 73 in Almaty
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tien-Shan
Grand Hotel Tien-Shan
#13 of 73 in Almaty
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dostyk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dostyk Hotel

Property: Dostyk Hotel
Address: Kurmangazy St., 36, Almaty 050021, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dostyk Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dostyk Hotel is located in the very heart of Almaty in the immediate proximity to the most important business, administrative and cultural centers of the city. The central avenues, museums and theaters, bank and offices, the best shops, restaurants and clubs are located practically a few steps away from the hotel. As our guests say, the Dostyk Hotel is always near. While you’re staying in the Dostyk Hotel you won’t only fully realize that you are staying at the elite and gorgeous district of the city but also you will feel your involvement into the spirit and old traditions of the most beautiful city of Kazakhstan. The Dostyk Hotel is located in the so-called "Gold Square" covering some of the most significant quarters of the city. This is the historical center retaining and preserving the spirit of the former Alma-Ata. The Dostyk Hotel, as the architectural monument protected by law, is one of the valuable and unique symbols of such a spirit. Keeping up the best traditions and retaining the breath of the past, currently the hotel along with the fifth star has obtained a new content by having implemented under the old Dostyk roof a comfortable interior of Century XXI, with involvement of the fascination of the new design freshness and creation of the model of technological perfection. The Dostyk Hotel, which is grand and monumental on the outside, incarnates by its interior the spirit of the Eurasian steppes – boundless / limitless expanse, freedom, warmth and generosity. Thanks to plenty of a natural light, high-ceilinged and large rooms, as well as the advanced design in the style of the classic modern, the feeling of expanse, freedom, peace and relaxation, love and care for neighbors is aroused in the Hotel halls. The "Dostyk" is a prestigious hotel located in the prestigious district. The Dostyk Hotel is a pearl in the crown of the Southern Capital of Kazakhstan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dostyk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing