We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shaggy, run-down place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Eastern Astana International Hotel
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel, as usual was booked by my partner here in Kazakhstan. It is clean - no complaints there, but that is probably all the positive I can say.
My room was rather small, with terrible beds with only a woolen blanket on ti and everything has a certain 80s-style to it.
Mini Bar was empty but still on check-out the wanted to charge me some water and potatoe chips. The room door does not close (no. 228) but can only be locked.
Bathroom: clean but in terrible condition. The rack for the towels on the wall is nearly coming out and the toilet seat is damaged. It is pretty small and one should not forget to mention the water stains on the ceilling.
Oh yes - should not forget to mention the power sockets. All over the building and also in my room, many sockets are nearly falling out of the walls.
Breakfast is okay, but not more.

To make a long story short - stayed in worse places. Not in many and these were in rural India.

Room Tip: Best room choice is probably down the road in the Holiday Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benson1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 43 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a very average hotel. Rooms are clean and generaly ok and staff are polite. Breakfast is not always good with small selection of food. Restaurant for lunch and dinner is a very bad joke. Terrible food, very expensive and totally not worth the money. Languages in Kazakhstan are Kazakh and Russian and it is almost impossible to find someone who speaks another European language, let alone English. Communication is very difficult anywhere you go if you don't speak any of the two local languages.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yannis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Typical dry and emotionless hosptitality of Soviet era can be best seen in this place. Avoid to stay in this hotel and find many better places in Almaty.

I stayed here one month before I moved into my own apartment and find it not a nicest place in town.

If you like call girsl they will knock your door or even give you sharp looks with glare when waiting for the elevators. Just keep away from this

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tariq_Hasany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed only one night here, and it was forgettable. The only redeeming factor was an eager staff and the cheap rate. The rooms are dated and smell. The bathroom was tiny and the water came out hot and cold. I recommend spending the extra money and going to a nicer place, which I will do next time I'm in Almaty

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrazierSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights while on business. Rooms were clean and comfortable enough. Room service was good quality, as was the breakfast and 'business lunch' in the cafe.
Free wifi in room, however you have to change your computers dns settings to get it to connect. I didn't find this a problem as I have a lot of experience with computers but I can imagine this would cause problems for others. I could not connect my smart phone as the phone was unable to change the dns settings, so another downside.
The toilet seat was broken (snapped connection where the seat is fixed to the ceramic). I suspect this had been broken for a while given the nature of the problem, but the cleaners would have to have noticed this and yet nothing had been done about it.
The worst problem by far was the official notice on the desk in my room that stated 'due to reasons beyond the hotels control, you have to turn the hot tap / shower on for 5-10 minutes before any hot will come out'. First shower was luke-warm, second was ok and the third took ages to heat up. Not very impressive and how can this be beyond the hotels control ???
Given the above, if I visit Almaty again, I would have to consider other hotels.....

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our tour company booked us in this hotel and our expectations were not high...but after staying here 3 nights our impression was quite different.

The hotel was built in Soviet times and is not in the "newest" part of the city but the area is fine and located next to the sports arena.

The current management has implement the best of European standards. The rooms have been refurbished, the beds comfortable, the rooms impeccably clean, the staff helpful, the WiFi fast and the food excellent. And unlike the other major hotels in the city, there is a new Metro located at the end of the block.

Included in room rate is free airport pickup (which is good since most flights arrive in the middle of the night) and a complete American breakfast each morning.

It appears the majority of guests are business people from Russia and the former Republics in addition to tourist from Europe and the Americas.

I would rate this a 3 Star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HikingLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Positives include: friendly, helpful staff; good wifi in lobby, location near major shopping mall, robe/slippers and nice towels. Negatives include NO hot water, limited food selection, limited bar service. I do think a 4 star hotel should have hot water.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGE2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Aiser Hotel
Grand Aiser Hotel
#52 of 75 in Almaty
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Voyage
Grand Voyage
#16 of 75 in Almaty
23 reviews
1.2 mi away
Almaty Hotel
Almaty Hotel
#18 of 75 in Almaty
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Otrar
Otrar
#31 of 75 in Almaty
101 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shera Park Inn
Shera Park Inn
#24 of 75 in Almaty
40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rahat Palace Hotel
Rahat Palace Hotel
#11 of 75 in Almaty
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Eastern Astana International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Eastern Astana International Hotel

Address: 113 Baitursynov Street, Almaty 480072, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range: $53 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Eastern Astana International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Eastern Astana International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing