We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
7
45
31
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
7
45
31
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boiled eggs turkish restaurant good size metro station balik bi cucumber tole airport wardrobe hairdryer accommodation desk supermarket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 101 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2018

As with a lot of places in parts of Asia, paying just a little extra often gets you a better standard of accommodation. This applies to the Ambassador. I opted for Suite accommodation and thought it was ok. Nothing special but better than the standard double which I also saw on arrival.

I think the "Boutique" description that is given for the hotel is a bit of wishful thinking but I did not book the place based on that so was not disappointed.

The staff were very helpful even though English was not their strong point but they went out of their way to assist with the many questions I had.

The included breakfast was interesting. It was presented on a tray with compartments and had more or less the same every day. Hard boiled egg, cheese, veg, yoghurt, some sort of fruit compote and butter. The butter was a mystery as no bread was given. I took my own on the following days, so all worked out ok.

I liked this place for what it was and for the help I was given by the staff. Thanks to all at the Ambassador. I would return.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Igirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

I stayed 2 nights for KZT28600 given that the hotel was a bit old and not so well maintained. It was about 700 meter apart from Almaty metro station. Buffer breakfast served food in local taste that could be problem for tourists. There was no supermarket but were many good quality cafe nearby.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wilfred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the ambassador hotel for 2 days. Overall a good hotel. We booked from The Netherlands. 2 night 2 people 100 euro icluding breakfest. Not bad but Not the best almaty had to offer. Friendly staff, lousy breakfest. The room a good.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 127twanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

Room is fine for the price we paid (€50 per night), breakfast is not fourstar quality, not intercontinental and they serve you the same stuf that's left over from the day before. Personnel is friendly and they speak english at the front desk.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Dreamer738590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile

Great hotel with all facilities available as described - due to size of city, nothing can be described as "in centre" but many places within walking distance or cheap taxi ride away. A great "tea room" serving a range of meals and Harat's Irish Pub next door just over 5" walk away with live music definitely not to be missed!

When using lifts (anywhere in Kazakhstan) beware!

The ground floor is not "G" or "0" but "1".

So the first floor is actually "2" etc. A bit confusing at first, especially in hotels where kept getting off on the wrong floor!!!

If returning via Astana airport, the facilities and seating is far better in the domeatic terminal 1 rather than Intl Terminal 2.

Wifi with Internet can be found once in T2 , turn right after going through security on 1st floor before going to gate and another floor up is a nice cafe/snack bar with electric and wifi with internet - ask counter staff for password!!

Try taking the new Talgo train to Astana - personal showers and toilet etc (see my review of Brown Hotel for a great place in Astana) for more details!!

Thanks to Raschid on reception at Ambassador - great service and excellent English!!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank chrisDoncaster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews