We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional food”

Kazakh Restaurant Gakku
Ranked #20 of 1,972 Restaurants in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
PhilipFo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Traditional food”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Went to Almaty for business and the locals what was the best place for traditional Kazakhstan food. They all recommend Gakku. Went with five co-workers and each of us tried something different. It was all good and we went there again before we left. Next time in town, I will go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilipFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    29
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Ordinary restaurant, with ordinary traditional food. The ‘yurta’ room in the restaurant is quite small ! (even though look large on the photos). On a hot summer day when we went there – the air conditioner in the yurta did not work – it was stuffy and very hot inside. After many complaints, the waiter did try at last to turn on the air conditioner. This time it worked ! Apparently last time he used wrong remote control for it. We left the restaurant being unimpressed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Casandra5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Kazakh cuisine”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

All what I can say about Gakku restaurant, I would recommend this place to visit for all guests of Almaty. This is a really Kazakh cuisine, not Uzbek, as many other "National" restaurants in Kazakhstan.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CruiserA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food and great staff.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I'm so glad we went to this restaurant. 10 days in Kazakhstan and we hadn't had proper Kazakh food- even our Kazakh friends kept recommending other cuisines. I'm not sure why- the food at Gakku was simply amazing. We had the goat cheese salad, Zhovava (best dumplings I've ever had) and Lagman (wonderful). Also tried the bread basket with Kazakh bread (delicious) and the Alma-Ata desert, roasted apple with vanilla and walnut. We could happily recommend everything, and we're quite fussy eaters. Super friendly staff, English speaking and English menus (menu is also on the website). Eat here if you're in Almaty, it's a must.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aga1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“If you want a taste of Kazakhstan, this is the place to go!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you want a taste of Kazakhstan, this is the place to go to, great traditional food and decor, friendly staff, fare price. Totally recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mkrichev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazakh Restaurant Gakku also viewed

Almaty, Kazakhstan
Almaty, Kazakhstan
 
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Almaty, Kazakhstan
 

Been to Kazakh Restaurant Gakku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing