We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go anywhere else”
Review of A Club Hotel

A Club Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Almaty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Club Hotel
Ranked #66 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel was booked for me by the local Government, and clearly there must have been something in it for them. The hotel is a 15 min taxi ride from any form of civilianisation and the receptionist insisted we pay for the whole stay on arrival. This meant I was trapped and could not book an alternative hotel as getting a refund would have been met with the usual loss of language skills. In summary: there was no hot water for the whole week; the internet they promised was intermitent at best and the food was poor and no breakfast choice - one morning there was nothing to eat as the chef didn't turn up. Complaining to the reception staff had no effect as she would not pass problems through the 4 or 5 layers of management for fear of reprisals. I received notification that the manager had a greed a 20% refund; however, getting this was a story on its own as all the staff tried to give me the runaround - I waiting for 3 hours for the manager because he was busy and then he failed to turn up. In the end I got a Government official to come to the hotel to sort it out and even then the management had taken a 'handling fee' off the 20%! Please please please go somewhere else, if all the other hotels are full, book a different date rather than stay here.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel - if it is offered for free, think hard, and then don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is just awful. Location - in the middle of nowhere, rude staff, no-service, terrible rooms. I was promised with a room with balcony and flat TV, got a room with no balcony and small ancient TV.

There are some plusses here, hotel rooms are quite clean and spacious. So if you want to come and some things in prive and quiet.. come here! But do not expect for any service or quality!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very few staff could speak English. I was given a large room, which was comfortable, my colleagues were all given shoe boxes. I had to keep asking for toilet rolls but they never arrived. The hotel is a long way from anywhere and if you cannot speak the language you are rather stuck. The restaurant is a rip off joint, with rude service and ridiculously unhelpful attitude: "if you order a minimum of 10 shashliks we may serve them within 1.5. hours." A fellow guest was made to wash her own bedsheets because of her female condition! We would have preferred to pay a bit more but be in town with everything within walking distance.

Room Tip: I had a superior old school room. Bring your own toilet paper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Babette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bk003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andreto25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
0.0 mi away
International Hostel City Center
0.0 mi away
Almaty-Sapar
Almaty-Sapar
#32 of 75 in Almaty
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kuze Hotel
Kuze Hotel
#3 of 91 in Almaty
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tahar
Tahar
#27 of 75 in Almaty
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saraichik
Saraichik
#12 of 75 in Almaty
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nomad's Guest House
Nomad's Guest House
#3 of 285 in Almaty
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Club Hotel

Address: Remizovskoye Gorge, Almaty 040900, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Number of rooms: 58

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing