We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst dining place we've visited” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alasha

Alasha
Ranked #4 of 1,952 Restaurants in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Actually an Uzbek restaurant, but you don't have that as an option
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst dining place we've visited”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Noisy, show program starts with the national women dance, after wich dancers ask for money.
Band is playing loud, so it is impossible to talk.
The cost of dinner is high.
Quality of food is not what you can expect from such place.
We had to send ordered meals back to kitchen.
Even waiters ask to excuse their kitchen stuff.
We do not recommend visiting this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Avmironov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    80
    37
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Central Asian cuisine ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I love this restaurant, but I go there rarely, cos of prices. It is located in a posh area of Almaty and I guess prices are posh too. Design is very traditional and impresive. I would highly recommend this place for it's food and show programm in the evening. It is a must try real Central Asian food place. Worth every penny

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yelena10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
617 reviews
447 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“So far my favorite restaurant in Almaty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Alasha is an excellent Uzbek restaurant. My experience was excellent from the decor to the food and the service. However, location did not appear to be very convenient and it felt a little far from downtown. We had a excellent dinner and chose many dishes from a large assortment of Uzbek specialties. Everything was excellent. My favorite dish was the BBQ beef that had a perfect blend of spices. We also shared appetizers includes various salad and cold cuts complemented by the bread that is made on location and tastes so good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to escape from Kazah food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Although Alasha located outside city center, but I think it gave me the best dining experience in my whole Almaty trip especially for ppl want to escape from Kazah horse meat and lamb. Strongly recommend for the BBQ beef and pork in the menu, they were very juicy and well done for cooking. Also apperciate the amtosphere of the restaurant both inside and outside, truly Central Asian style.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
299 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Folkloric icon for foreign guests.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Alasha is not authentic Kazakh restaurant by far but a cocktail of all the central Asian wanders as they are described in One thousand and one night. Exotic food, dancing girrls ( some mix of Asian folklor and modern striptease), fantastic building that looks as a mosque from outside.
All this components together with the really good food make Alasha some sort of must see attraction for any foreign guests one has to entertain in Almaty. But it is not the place for quiet dinner because all the dancing and thinging mentioned above is quite loud and leaves you no choice but to watch till the end putting USD bills into dancers bras.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oleg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alasha also viewed

Almaty, Kazakhstan
Almaty, Kazakhstan
 
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Almaty, Kazakhstan
 

Been to Alasha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing