We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rahat Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rahat Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Almaty
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“It's OK”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It is not a five star hotel, but comfortable, clean and reasonable price. Location is also close to everywhere in the city by car. Breakfast is not serving large variety, but anyway..
After midnight you couldn't find anybody in reception, be careful :)

Room Tip: Choose non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstmoon3142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    86
    82
    24
    5
See reviews for
2
7
20
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here for around three weeks so I know the place reasonably well.

Rooms are of good standard with good bedding and mattress. Also a small balcony is available which is nice with Almaty summer temps.

Breakfast room is of high quality with freshly made eggs and other. Good buffet with good selection of choice. Coffee/tea is served at the table which can take some time when it's busy.

The food court in the lobby of the hotel is excellent. Great quality and good seating area.
Sometimes beautiful music from live pianists. Great atmosphere!

All in all a great place to stay!

Room Tip: I had a double room, with a double bed facing the front garden. Nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

a past midnight check in went quickly and smoothly... because i was the only person to do so i would imagine....a very impressive interior indeed...a magnificent atrium soaring up to the sky....my room was on the 5th floor...unfortunately i had dispensed with assistance to carry my case...or rather wheel it.... this i regretted when i reached my room only to find that my 'key' would not open the door........thus i had to go down to reception again....when i eventually gained entry i found a most attractive room.....the adjoining bathroom was well appointed and everything functioned....an excellent few hours sleep in a most comfortable bed......in the morning the delight of the room was fully realised...a lovely view of the sunrise over the tien shan mountains....and then the autumn sunshine pouring into the room....a little balcony to enjoy the early morning air...with a temperature already in the 20s...in marked contrast to the snow in astana which i had left the previous day....breakfast was copious with a good variety...the coffee was excellent indeed..... really my only grouch was the cost of using the computer in the business centre...20 us dollars an hour....however it was well worth it as i was able to print my lufthansa boarding passes....all in all i can recommend this hotel in almaty....but make sure you get a bell boy to go to the room with you just in case the key doesn t work and he can go back down to reception.....not you....

Room Tip: a room on 4th floor or above looking towards the mountains....there is a busy road but thanks to eff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nealjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Large glamorous hotel near Twin towers, good location, everything proper, good service, lovely swimming pool and relax utilities (sauna, turkish bath, etc), nice hall with yurta included and glazed elevator. It advertises itself as 5 star hotels but rooms, deco, accessories are closer to a 4 star hotels. Specially internet is very slow (although free) and not appropriate for a so-called 5 star hotel. Fitness installation also a bit outdated. In short, nice comfy hotel very good located but i wouldn't rate it as 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to the courtroom are supposed to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The "5 star" hotel is the old Hyatt and is located in town. I used the hotel car service to pick me up which was very good, met at arrivals with a name board and taken to the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful if not a little slow to deal with your requests. The reception area and lobby are impressive with a full height atrium and nice bar/restaurant area. Once you get to your room, that's where the magic starts, cross the thresh and you are whisked from a 5 star to a 3 star hotel. The rooms are tired, basic and are in need of a refresh, as is the bathroom, the bedding and towels are not what you'd expect in a luxury hotel either but the rooms are clean and tidy. My double was 2 singles pushed together, both of which had seen better days and were very saggy...again, not what you expect in a luxury hotel. If that wasn't enough the hotel has another trick up its sleeve, time travel, log on to the free wifi and you are transported back in time to when dinosaurs roamed the earth and checking emails and surfing the net took days (and that's if you can even get connected), The hotel does have a good solution to this, they have another network that you can pay for which apparently works, at least the hotel have something in common with most other 5 stars, rip off internet! breakfast is good with a nice selection of hot and cold foods and drinks, even if it was hard to get a table at times. Overall the hotel is decent and if it was a 3 or maybe even a 4 star it would have got better ratings, but it sells itself as 5 star which it is defiantly not

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWWtraveller1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is not comparable to other 5 star hotels I have stayed in. This does not mean it was a bad experience, though, just a bit less luxury than one would expect. My experience of the wifi reception was positive, even in my second floor room. The network was quite fast and I never had any problems with it suddenly dropping me.

The hotel lobby/lounge area was quite nice to look at, and it was a good experience to sit and enjoy a drink in the evening. The indoor swimming pool is really nice as well. The breakfast was substantial with a wide variety - I especially enjoyed the gooseberries. Egg in all its forms, sausages, beans, potatoes, cold meats, cheese, cereals, bread, yoghurt and fruit were all available. The serving staff at the breakfast were also very friendly, approachable and able to speak good English. The front desk staff were helpful in getting my passport registered with the police as required, however you need to ask them for help on this (only necessary if you stay in Kazakhstan for longer than 5 days).

The furniture in the room is quite dated, but in good condition. The normal amenities of slippers and a bathrobe were available, tv reception was good with a good variety of english-language channels available as well. There were also enough towels, soap, shampoo etc.

My main point of criticism is the fact that the smoking area for the staff seems to be right outside the entrance, so everytime I entered the hotel I encountered some staff members standing there smoking, which did not leave a very good impression. The souvenir shops inside the hotel were adequate but expensive, as one would expect.

The hotel is conveniently located for the Almaty Towers conference centre, and has easy access to the metro. The area around the hotel has wide sidewalks and there are a lot of pedestrian crossings, so that walking around was quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeVictorMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This former Hyatt hotel struggles to keep it up. If you stay here now, it is still good enough to sit somewhere between 3 and 4 star: the atrium design, the really good breakfast, the courtesy of the staff, the size of the rooms, the standard of the bathrooms. But for how long? At reception and the procedures demanded bynthem, you can sniff already a falling back to Soviet style. A certain arrogance and desinterest at the bar personnel. A lack of maintenance. Worries for the near future, for the moment a good and comfortable hotel to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
1.2 mi away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 72 in Almaty
614 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#8 of 72 in Almaty
409 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
1.8 mi away
Kazzhol
Kazzhol
#5 of 72 in Almaty
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rahat Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rahat Palace Hotel

Property: Rahat Palace Hotel
Address: Satpaeva 29/6, Almaty 050040, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rahat Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rahat Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing