We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel to stay”
Review of Rahat Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rahat Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have stayed a few timesin Rahat Palace in Almaty. It has always been a pleasant stay for me. The hotel provides good service and reasonable prie. Breakfast is good with a comprehensive choice. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Other servies are quite good. Highly recommended for a stay in Almaty.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farshad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 266 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

If placed any other city it would be 3stars. In Almaty it's 5. Prices are extremely high. Never take taxi or have coffee in a hotel. It is 3-5 times more expensive than if you literally walk 100 steps. Beds are very good there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is Rahat Palace hotel (not Hyatt anymore since quite a while).
The good things: excellent breakfast (great egg-lady), mostly friendly and professional staff, nice sauna/steam/indoor pool/gym, reasonable bed/cleanliness; tv has BBC world and even BVN; toiletries OK
The downside: a cappuchino in the lobby costs 10 Euro, roomservice food is very expensive; Hotel transport to/from airport is exrtremely expensive and unreliable (some colleagues were not picked up); internet costs 30 euro a day (cable) - and then you ahve to pay extra to use wifi in the lobby!; The rooms are rather old and in need of refurbishment; Internet in room (cable) was faulty and had to switch rooms - took them hours to find out; new room blowdryer was defect; also TV was increasing volume by itself every 10 minutes before switching off and on, all by itslef as well; no information in room re. hotel, no roomservice menu.

Room rates are very negotiable for groups.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BarbaraGenevaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

It was overall lower than average for a 5 stars hotel. Reasons:

1.Room decor is kinda outdated n old
2. No iron n ironing board. U gotta ask n return once u used it
3. No kettle
4. Never refill complimentary drinking water
5. Bed wasn't very comfy
6. Internet is expensive. No wifi in room n lobby wifi is chargeable by devices. Even if u pay cable Internet in room, using the wifi is addiotional charged.
7. Breakfast selection weren't great and I stayed 3 nights with no changes at all even one dish.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheery66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

this hotel is fairly priced relative to the expensive properties in Almaty...
location is really good and the rooms are very clean and spacious. service is really good and staff is very hospitable.. and they knwo ENGLISH !

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadz1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I've stayed in hotels in many of the world's most populous cities: Seoul, Mexico City, New York, Mumbai, Shanghai, Osaka, etc.  With that in mind, I've experienced some significant air pollution, but never anything like what I recently experienced in Almaty, Kazahstan.

I awoke in the hotel at about 0100 local time in February 2012 to the sensation that my nostrils were filled with smoke.  I immediately got out of bed to check to see if the hotel was burning.  The hotel was not burning, but Almaty was.  Or perhaps I should say "does".  As in, Almaty 'does burn'.

This is an intriguing place to visit and it can be beautiful, but know-before-you-go that in the winter, with a temperature inversion keeping the air pollution squished against the mountains and compressed toward the earth in town, the air quality becomes nearly unbearably awful.

You might think you could use the hotel's air-conditioning system to filter the air and that is certainly worth a try, but in my case on that stay it did not work.  I stood on my chair to sniff the air coming out of the vent near the ceiling and it was as smoky as a raucous German beer hall on a Friday night.  I turned it off.  I opened the door to the balcony to let in "fresh" air (even though it was about -11 degrees fahrenheit) and that just made it worse.  Like I say, it's not the hotel; it's the city.

All that said, I'm staying at the hotel as I type this review and the pollution is not quite as bad as it was a couple of weeks ago--at least not in my room.  I won't be going for a jog, but at least my nostrils are not filled with the smell of smoke inside my room.  It does smell like smoke outside, though, so perhaps changing rooms is worth a try.

Speaking of the rooms, here's a quick review of the hotel...

This property used to be a Hyatt and I like the design.  It features a ten-story atrium that peaks with a glass dome.  Glass-enclosed elevators take you to your floor.  The rooms themselves show signs of wear but are clean and reasonably nice.  I find the beds very comfortable and the climate controls reasonably adequate.  It's tough the get the right temperature inside no matter where you stay when it's below zero (F) outside!

The rooms have in-room safes, a mini-bar and fridge, and internet for a fee via a cable.  Wi-Fi is available in the lobby.

In the half-dozen or so times I've stayed here I've never seen any children.  The breakfast buffet spread is extensive and very good.  The restaurant staff is attentive.  There's a decent gym and pool/spa area.

The city recently completely a subway system you can access just a block away from the hotel.  We rode it and it worked great.

This is the only place I've stayed in the city so I can't compare it to other hotels here, but other than the pollution controls I consider this a nice place to stay.  It's clean and comfortable with good service from the staff.  It's a bit of a drive from the airport in what is apparently always crazy traffic.

One final note and it's based on hearsay, but take care to protect your valuables no matter where you are in Almaty.    

Overall, I'd give the hotel three-to-four stars relative to the whole spectrum of hotels available worldwide.  In its class, which is itself a cut above, I'd call it average.  

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ANCtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

For work I travel to Almaty quite frequently. I will admit that I never cared for this place when it was the Hyatt because it was overpriced and bland. I was forced to stay at the Rahat Palace due to an oil and gas exhibition which caused the other "good" hotels to be fully booked. This place has made a dramatic turn for the worse. The hotel is dated and my room was in very bad shape. Extremely worn and stained carpeting, a boxy television from a bygone era, and the distinct stench of smoke in my non-smoking room. The breakfast is standard and nothing to celebrate. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Intercontinental. It is a superior hotel experience in every possible way, including: service, ambiance, dining and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warhorse09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
1.3 mi away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 75 in Almaty
692 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#9 of 75 in Almaty
456 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
2.1 mi away
Kazakhstan
Kazakhstan
#19 of 75 in Almaty
284 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Almaty
Ramada Almaty
#5 of 75 in Almaty
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rahat Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rahat Palace Hotel

Address: Satpaeva 29/6, Almaty 050040, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Price Range: $88 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rahat Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rahat Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing