We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling!!!”
Review of Almaty Zoo

Almaty Zoo
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Appalling!!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My only visit to Almaty Zoo was on a fact-finding tour in July 2008 before moving here with my family. Having lived in South Africa for years with access to their great national parks I am no great fan of zoos but this one is just terrible.

The animal cages / enclosures are small and poorly maintained and the bears appear to be suffering from mental illness due to the tiny size of the cages they are crammed-in. It is like walking into one of those wildlife programmes showing how badly people treat animals.

I am just glad I went there myself and saw it before I went with my family as I would not want to have upset them with the state of the place....

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank WaywardScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    44
    50
    31
    29
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big zoo”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our zoo is good enough to check this place when visit our beautiful city first time. But for constant residents there is no many changes during last 15 years.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnatoliyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir Province, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Considering the esteem the Soviets give bears, the manner in which bears are kept in Almaty zoo is horrendous. I thought the big cats had it rough, then I saw the monkeys and that was enough to bring a tear to a hard man's eye, but the bears, both brown and polar, I could not look at them. Words fail me here to describe the conditions and lifestyle they have to endure. Go to Gorkey park and enjoy its attractions, but don't cross the road to the zoo, it will spoil the memory of a good day out.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank minerman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“dirty poor animals”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Though the Almaty zoo is considered one of the biggest in the ex USSR, with plenty of space, the cages of many of the animals are in a bad condition, as well as the animals themselves. Dirty, stinky, shabby constructions dont let the animals feel good and they look sooo sad and hungry. Every time we visit it, I see no improvements, unfortunately. We stopped going there for not being depressed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Argia-kz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventspils, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not for everyone”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just not very attractive or appealing. I love animals and don't like zoos in general, and this one is not one of the best, so not a draw unless you really need to see live examples of (e.g., yaks). Actually, for me it was more enjoyable to see the thronging families and get off on their pleasure.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank twisted?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almaty Zoo also viewed

 
Almaty, Kazakhstan
 

Been to Almaty Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing