We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
11
19
22
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
11
19
22
7
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 65 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of our trip around Central Asia. Firstly, the staff at reception were very friendly, spoke great English and the whole check in/ out process was straight forward.
However, the same cannot be said for the room. Firstly, even though the room had a double bed and there were 2 of us staying, they had brought out enough amenities for only one person. There was one set of towels, one pair of slippers, one toothbrush and so on.
Secondly, the shower. The first time we used it, the hot water was fine but it never came back on again and it was barely lukewarm for the remainder of our stay.
The room itself wasn't big and didn't have a mini bar fridge like most other places that we stayed in during our trip which would have been useful as it was the middle of summer.
Breakfast was plentiful and had a good selection including chicken wings and sandwiches.
Location was fine for our needs as we were on a guided tour and had a driver picking us up for our city tour. The hotel was within walking distance to a number of restaurants and there is a shopping centre next door - however, the supermarket within the shopping centre had either closed or was under renovation but it wasn't too difficult to find another mini market.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Yingster128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2016

Averagely clean, great internet speed very helpful staff, quiet location, not central but with easy transport access to everywhere. Stay there for many years, as I consider this to be the best value for money deal in Almaty.

Room tip: Rooms facing the yard are quieter
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T2088CW_, Директор по продажам at Astra, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Dear, Victor K!Thank you very much for leaving your review. we very much appreciate. We will be glad to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2016

Stayed here for one night and it was very average. Poor bed, dirty and smelled very ordinary too. So dirty in fact that i slept fully clothed. I was glad to grab my bag in the morning and leave.
The corridors were dark and dingy and i felt like it was very poor choice of hotel

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T2088CW_, Директор по продажам at Astra, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Dear, Tom K! Thank you for leaving your review. at the moment there was a full update of bed linen. We will be glad to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2016

We had very early arrival and departure times from Almaty 2 train station, which is literally just around the corner so the location of this hotel was ideal.The main sights of the city were within walking distance too.
There was always at least one English speaker on the Reception desk and they were helpful and friendly.
Our room was large, comfortable and warm.
Breakfast was included and was ample and taken in a relaxed atmosphere.
I would use this hotel again, and recommend it to others. Sadly I do not recognize it from other recent reviews.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mareea77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T2088CW_, Директор по продажам at Astra, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

mareea77! Thank you for leaving your review. We will be glad you and your friends to see again our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stopped for a couple of nights anfd just to reinforce other comments. Room very average. AC did not work. Power cuts although could be normal in Almaty. Poor service in restaurant, very slow everytime. Mistakes with order. The restaurant was empty!
Not a particularly nice location
Breakfast - Very Basic
Sorry Astra. Must do better

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfie054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews