We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Rixos Almaty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rixos Almaty
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This Hotel was recommended by business partner. I have stay two night in Oct. All were very good! The lobby well organized for any kinds of meetings, coffee drinking or weekend dinner. Staff is friendly. I want to thank the staff for hospitality and and for their accuracy in the doing of guest requests.
Definitely I would recommend this Hotel to stay in Almaty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PavelGeo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makhmut Z, Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share the experience of Rixos Almaty during your two nights stay.

We have read your kind words of appreciation and would like to thank you for sharing them. Your appraisal is what motivates our team most to provide excellent service every day.

We look forward to welcoming you to Rixos Almaty again,
Best Regards,
Makhmut Zharimbetov
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations Departments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    173
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
42
40
27
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My stay at the Rixos Almaty included 4 nights, 2 conferences, and a visit to the spa. The courteous front desk was very helpful with airport transfers and quickly resolved my issues with my keycard. The room wasn't very big, but the furnishings were very luxurious. The rainfall shower was amazing, and the huge jacuzzi tub was very relaxing after a long day. The spread at the breakfast buffet was extensive, and I appreciated the kind service. But prices at the terrace restaurant in the atrium were exorbitant.

Though the spa, pool, and fitness center were very well equipped, I found it odd how small the changing room was. Also, only one robe and towel were provided. Note that the saunas and baths are coed.

Room Tip: Rooms are situated on hallways open to the atrium; I expect higher floors aren't as noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbryson08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makhmut Z, Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read about satisfied guests and at the same time we are very thankful to get your honest opinion about some points where we still can become better. We will definitely bear in mind your constructive comments and would like to say thank you for sharing it with us. And, do hope it will not be your last stay with us!

Best Regards,
Makhmut Zharimbetov
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations Departments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishkek, Kırgızistan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The exterior of the hotel fascinates you at the first glance. But once you enter, it's a lot better. The atrium is perfectly designed, the acoustics is so good that the lobby area is quite. The rooms are quite if you keep the sliding windows shut :)
The prices are between 250-450$ which is really good comparing to locally owned, soviet mentality run hotels.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TROPOSHFERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makhmut Z, Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you took the time to write a review about your latest stay with us and would like to thank you for choosing Rixos Almaty Hotel for your trip to Almaty. It would be a pleasure for us to be your host again when travel brings you back to our city.

Best Regards,
Makhmut Zharimbetov
Rooms and Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

After staying for two nights at Rixos Astana, our delegation was put up at Rixos Almaty from 10th to 12th Sep 13. The basic architecture of both the hotels is same. The staff at Almaty was friendly. However unlike Astana, they took a surety of 50000 tenge from our credit cards to complete check-in. The money was refunded to card on check out, but many of us on return to India found our cards either blocked with the said amount or the refund amount being different. Though the matter is being resolved, this has left a bad after taste with respect to this hotel. Otherwise, like Rixos Astana, this hotel is also centrally located. One can find many restaurants close to hotel within 1 km radius. The swimming pool, spa and gym were great, located at -1 level. Breakfast spread was elaborate, I would rate Astana slightly better. Tipping is a norm here and bell boy would expect some dollars/tenge in change. Once again in keeping with the tradition of Rixos chain, nice chocolate were available on the house. The revolving door at the entrance of the hotel was fun. Over all a good stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suvarat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makhmut Z, Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback of our property. It is good to know you were pleased with our hotel service, spa and breakfast buffet. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.
We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future and provide you with a better experience.

Best Regards,
Makhmut Zharimbetov,
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations Departments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The spa facilities are a ''dream'... The are not only beautiful, but also well equipped. Staff is very friendly and service minded and speak all good English. The atrium is well decorated, with comfortable lounge furniture; this is great place to share a drink. Good quality food on the terrace and the breakfast buffet is excellent too.

Room Tip: You can enjoy (good) live music until 11 hrs if you have a room next to the quiet park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTulip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makhmut Z, General Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Rixos Almaty Hotel whilst staying us.
We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed you stay with us as well as the services received in our Spa Center and in general in the overall the hotel.

Your comments have been shared with our Team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ibrahim Celik

Rixos Almaty
506/99, Seifullina Avenue,
Сorner of Kabanbai Batyr Street Almaty Kazakhstan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great central location, wonderful spa with large pool and good gym. Really good staff, friendly, helpful and efficient. The housekeeping could be improved (e.g. not replacing soap and shampoo) but those are minor points.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Bright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makhmut Z, General Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Bright,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Rixos Almaty Hotel whilst staying us.
We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed you stay with us as well as the services received in our Hotel. We are improving Housekeeping services, hope you will see the difference on your next stay.

Your comments have been shared with our Team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ibrahim Celik

Rixos Almaty
506/99, Seifullina Avenue,
Сorner of Kabanbai Batyr Street Almaty Kazakhstan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimbin, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was my 4th stay at the Rixos (work books it) & it was nice touch for a large busy hotel that several of the front desk staff continue to recognise me from earlier stays several months ago & were very welcoming & helpful. Excellent breakfast, good rooms but not sure the rooms are really of a 5-star hotel standard, maybe more like a good 4-star hotel. Great to have the option of two supermarkets & many good restaurants within 15 minutes walk as the hotel catering prices do seem excessive. The underground pool is great though I was a bit disappointed that they no longer offer a male masseur.

My only real complaint is the racial profiling that seems to be happening by the security staff (all male) at the front door. As a westerner I seemed to be able to walk in freely with any size or number of bags but my Ukrainian colleague, who was also staying at the hotel, always had their bags scanned, she laughed at me when I questioned this practice & joked it was because 'she looks like a terrorist', but I find it discriminatory. If they are so worried about security then they should scan everyones bags!

Room Tip: During my last couple of stays I have paid the extra USD20 a night to have a room on the 'park s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makhmut Z, General Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Robert,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Rixos Almaty Hotel whilst staying us.
We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the services with our Front Office, Breakfast, Rooms and Spa Center.

We are improving the services didn't meet your expectation, hope we will be able to accommodate you to show difference.

Your comments have been shared with our Team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Ibrahim Celik

Rixos Almaty
506/99, Seifullina Avenue,
Сorner of Kabanbai Batyr Street Almaty Kazakhstan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#9 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
0.8 mi away
Kazzhol
Kazzhol
#6 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Tulip Almaty
Royal Tulip Almaty
#10 of 72 in Almaty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Almaty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Almaty

Property: Rixos Almaty
Address: Seyfullina 506, Almaty 050012, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Almaty
#2 Spa Hotel in Almaty
#2 Luxury Hotel in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Almaty 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Almaty, half a mile from Nikolai Cathedral. Rixos Almaty Hotel offers modern rooms with free Wi-Fi internet and a spa with swimming pool. All rooms at Rixos Almaty feature air conditioning, a desk and a balcony with impressive views. All bathrooms include a bathtub and shower. A buffet breakfast is served each morning at Rixos Almaty. The restaurant serves international buffets as well as offering varied dining menus. The Lobby Bar & Lounge is open 24 hours a day, and guests can also dine at Wine Bar that has great selections of wines. The 23680 ft² spa also includes a gym, sauna, Turkish bath, indoor gardens and 7 massage rooms. Rixos Hotel is one mile from Almaty Opera House and 3 miles by cable car from Koktobe Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rixos Almaty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Almaty Hotel Almaty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing