We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An equally good Rixos Hotel (Vis-a-Vis) Rixos Astana”
Review of Rixos Almaty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixos Almaty
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

After staying for two nights at Rixos Astana, our delegation was put up at Rixos Almaty from 10th to 12th Sep 13. The basic architecture of both the hotels is same. The staff at Almaty was friendly. However unlike Astana, they took a surety of 50000 tenge from our credit cards to complete check-in. The money was refunded to card on check out, but many of us on return to India found our cards either blocked with the said amount or the refund amount being different. Though the matter is being resolved, this has left a bad after taste with respect to this hotel. Otherwise, like Rixos Astana, this hotel is also centrally located. One can find many restaurants close to hotel within 1 km radius. The swimming pool, spa and gym were great, located at -1 level. Breakfast spread was elaborate, I would rate Astana slightly better. Tipping is a norm here and bell boy would expect some dollars/tenge in change. Once again in keeping with the tradition of Rixos chain, nice chocolate were available on the house. The revolving door at the entrance of the hotel was fun. Over all a good stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suvarat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makhmut Z, Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback of our property. It is good to know you were pleased with our hotel service, spa and breakfast buffet. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.
We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future and provide you with a better experience.

Best Regards,
Makhmut Zharimbetov,
Director of Rooms and Guest Relations Departments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 672 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

The spa facilities are a ''dream'... The are not only beautiful, but also well equipped. Staff is very friendly and service minded and speak all good English. The atrium is well decorated, with comfortable lounge furniture; this is great place to share a drink. Good quality food on the terrace and the breakfast buffet is excellent too.

Room Tip: You can enjoy (good) live music until 11 hrs if you have a room next to the quiet park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTulip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makhmut Z, General Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Rixos Almaty Hotel whilst staying us.
We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed you stay with us as well as the services received in our Spa Center and in general in the overall the hotel.

Your comments have been shared with our Team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ibrahim Celik

Rixos Almaty
506/99, Seifullina Avenue,
Сorner of Kabanbai Batyr Street Almaty Kazakhstan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great central location, wonderful spa with large pool and good gym. Really good staff, friendly, helpful and efficient. The housekeeping could be improved (e.g. not replacing soap and shampoo) but those are minor points.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim_Bright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makhmut Z, General Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Mr. Bright,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Rixos Almaty Hotel whilst staying us.
We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed you stay with us as well as the services received in our Hotel. We are improving Housekeeping services, hope you will see the difference on your next stay.

Your comments have been shared with our Team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ibrahim Celik

Rixos Almaty
506/99, Seifullina Avenue,
Сorner of Kabanbai Batyr Street Almaty Kazakhstan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was my 4th stay at the Rixos (work books it) & it was nice touch for a large busy hotel that several of the front desk staff continue to recognise me from earlier stays several months ago & were very welcoming & helpful. Excellent breakfast, good rooms but not sure the rooms are really of a 5-star hotel standard, maybe more like a good 4-star hotel. Great to have the option of two supermarkets & many good restaurants within 15 minutes walk as the hotel catering prices do seem excessive. The underground pool is great though I was a bit disappointed that they no longer offer a male masseur.

My only real complaint is the racial profiling that seems to be happening by the security staff (all male) at the front door. As a westerner I seemed to be able to walk in freely with any size or number of bags but my Ukrainian colleague, who was also staying at the hotel, always had their bags scanned, she laughed at me when I questioned this practice & joked it was because 'she looks like a terrorist', but I find it discriminatory. If they are so worried about security then they should scan everyones bags!

Room Tip: During my last couple of stays I have paid the extra USD20 a night to have a room on the 'park s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makhmut Z, General Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Robert,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Rixos Almaty Hotel whilst staying us.
We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the services with our Front Office, Breakfast, Rooms and Spa Center.

We are improving the services didn't meet your expectation, hope we will be able to accommodate you to show difference.

Your comments have been shared with our Team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Ibrahim Celik

Rixos Almaty
506/99, Seifullina Avenue,
Сorner of Kabanbai Batyr Street Almaty Kazakhstan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Short stay for business, but I've appreciated the hotel for several reasons:
-) very very kind staff, speaking excellent english, always ready to give help.
-) excellent breakfast
-) amazing building. One of a kind.

I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauliferus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makhmut Z, General Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Paul,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Rixos Almaty Hotel whilst staying us.
We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed you stay with us as well as the services received in our Hotel.

Your comments have been shared with our Team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ibrahim Celik

Rixos Almaty
506/99, Seifullina Avenue,
Сorner of Kabanbai Batyr Street Almaty Kazakhstan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Will not be going back. Ended up here because my office booked it. When are folk in this region going to understand and act on the basics of customer service? The lobby is policed by aggressive looking young thugs in monkey suits who look like they want to punch you in the face rather than welcome you. None of the other staff, particularly the males, make eye contact, let alone ask if they can be of help. Where do these people get trained? Have they been trained? One wonders. My room stank of sewage, and so I had to move to another one. If you book a taxi, they call a hotel taxi and add $20 to you already massive bill, just for being conveyed 10 minutes round the block. My colleague and I simply walked to the restaurants, that offered much better value for money than the rip-off Rixos prices. Massage: $100, shirt washed: $12, bottle of Heineken: $12.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makhmut Z, General Manager at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Mr. Sean C.
We would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your experience at the Rixos Almaty Hotel.
We are extremely sorry about the unsatisfactory level of service that you experienced during your stay and we can assure you that all your comments have been thoroughly reviewed and will take actions.
We do hope that we will be in a position to Welcome you back at the Rixos Almaty Hotel and redeem ourselves.
Once again, thank you very much for bringing your dissatisfaction with the levels of service to our attention.

Sincerely Yours

Ibrahim Celik
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very Nice Hotel has a bit of a wow! Factor when you walk in. Good Location, Next to a Park.
Rooms Quite Large, Heated Bathroom Floor.. Very Nice, Separate toilet cubical in Bathroom.
Has Bath and Shower. Great Breakfast. Amazing Lobby. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makhmut Z, Director of Rooms & Guest Relations at Rixos Almaty, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your five star review here on TripAdvisor after your last stay with us. It is great to know how just one first stay with us can turn out to become a "true love". Don´t let us wait too long until your next visit to the beautiful city Almaty and your as well as our beloved Rixos Almaty. With best regards,

Anara Kospanova

Director of Rooms and Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Almaty
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Almaty Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Almaty
Holiday Inn Almaty
#9 of 75 in Almaty
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Worldhotel Saltanat Almaty
5.1 mi away
Saraichik
Saraichik
#12 of 75 in Almaty
40 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Tulip Almaty
Royal Tulip Almaty
#10 of 75 in Almaty
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Almaty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Almaty

Address: Seyfullina 506-99, Almaty 050012, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Almaty
#2 Spa Hotel in Almaty
#2 Luxury Hotel in Almaty
Price Range: $173 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Almaty 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Almaty, half a mile from Nikolai Cathedral. Rixos Almaty Hotel offers modern rooms with free Wi-Fi internet and a spa with swimming pool. All rooms at Rixos Almaty feature air conditioning, a desk and a balcony with impressive views. All bathrooms include a bathtub and shower. A buffet breakfast is served each morning at Rixos Almaty. The restaurant serves international buffets as well as offering varied dining menus. The Lobby Bar & Lounge is open 24 hours a day, and guests can also dine at Wine Bar that has great selections of wines. The 23680 ft² spa also includes a gym, sauna, Turkish bath, indoor gardens and 7 massage rooms. Rixos Hotel is one mile from Almaty Opera House and 3 miles by cable car from Koktobe Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Rixos Almaty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Almaty Hotel Almaty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing