We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Berkana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berkana
Ranked #12 of 78 Almaty B&B and Inns
PRINCETON
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel has a run-down look from the outside but was clean and well kept inside. (The toilet plastic toilet seat in my room, I believe 103, appeared to have cigarette ash burns in it and should be replaced.) The prices were very reasonable and included a decent breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They did not speak much English, which made finding information difficult, but we found limited English to be the rule throughout Almaty (in contrast to Astana, where English was fairly widespread).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincetonianMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
2
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

If you are planning to stay for a while in Almaty I highy recommend this hotel due to the large size of the rooms which come with a large lounge room area in addition to the bedroom. The rooms arent luxurious but are comfortable enough. Wifi is available and good quality and free. The breakfasts served are modest, and if you want some laundry done allow 36 hours to have it returned. Also you will have to pay to have any clothes ironed and it isnt an option to do it yourself. The downsides to the hotel is that breakfast only starts at 8am so this is a little inconvenient, and no iron in the room is also a little inconvenient.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This place was comfortable and homey. It included a great spacious room, equipped with everything you need and even more (a phone in the wasroom!), an excellent yummy breakfast, prepared in front of you from the freshiest ingredients. I will definitely recommend this cosy B&B hotel, if you visit Almaty!

Room Tip: This place is ona very quiet street, so noise is not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I don't speak Russian, which is somewhat embarassing in a Russian speaking city, so having a clean friendly place to stay is very important to me, so I can relax at home.
I had suite 100, which has a large south facing balcony, seperate living room, foyer, and bedroom. A closet that locks, a huge bath tub, but not a jacuzzi. The bed is a little firm for my taste, but it is a comfortable bed, no sags, clean, no bed bugs, etc. I left my wallet out one day when I went to work, and it was still there, with nothing missing, when I came home that night. The breakfast is pretty basic, but the room is awesome, a large leather sofa, two easy chairs, large coffeetable, the dresser looks like it might be cherry wood. The bed is a King, with a huge ornate wood carved head and foot board..
It has minifridge, with beer, water, cognac, chocolate, cognac, and vodka. I brought in my own water, as it is cheaper, though they don't gouge you, and nobody complained.
The Silkway mall, with grocery store, drycleaner, etc, movie theatre, fast food court, is two blocks uphill away. Half way to the mall is the Firenze Italian restaurant, which has English menus, and decent food. One block down hill is an open air market on weekends, and walking through it leads you to a pedestrian mall, filled with work by local artisans.
They have finally installed street signs with both Russian and English letters, so non Russian speakers have a better chance of finding there way around.
I had a friend stay in one of the hotels mentioned on trip advisor, and he had someone climb onto his balcony and break into his room while sleeping, so I highly recommend keeping balcony doors locked at night.
I hope this helps

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QCseismic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Booked our hotel via email, and really did not know what to expect. When we arrived to Almaty and got to our hotel, it looked a bit simple on the outside and in the lobby (not the 5 star quality we were used to). But when we got to our room...all our worries were gone! VERY spacious, clean, and well-equipped rooms! AMAZING bathrooms...with jacuzzi no less AND an awesome shower! We had a King Size bed, which was very comfy.

Rooms were cleaned every day, and we also had breakfast at the hotel most mornings. They will make you eggs whichever way you want them and you also have a spread of other (mostly local) foods. There is also an adjacent restaurant, where we had a few great meals also!

The location was very convenient for us! Smack dab in the centre of the city and walking distance to most attractions. We actually enjoyed walking around for the most part...getting lost and finding our way back! You can ask for a map of downtown at the reception.

Overall, it was a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StyleBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Kazakhstan was our last stop on a 3 week 4 country vacation. I must say that I did not know what to expect. I found the the information on the internet on hotels in Almaty limited. After searching online we found the Hotel Berkana in our price range (~$150 Canadian per night).

Rooms
Our room was large. It had a balcony, air conditioning, cable tv, phone, hairdryer, and a 3 head shower. I particular liked the bathroom. It was clean and looked newly renovated.

Restaurant
The hotel had a small restaurant in the basement. Since our stay included breakfast we ate there every morning. For dinner and lunch we ate outside the hotel as there are many good restaurant around. There was one just down the street that we enjoyed the most (sorry we forgot the name).

Location
It is located in central Almaty. It is near public transportation (buses and streetcar) but we chose to walk most of the time or take taxis. We felt safe all the time.

Staff
The hotel staff was very nice and friendly. I don't speak Russian so it was nice that most spoke at least a little English.

In summary, we were both happy with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Almaty hotels
0.4 mi away
Voyage
Voyage
#12 of 72 in Almaty
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Uyut Hotel
Uyut Hotel
#39 of 72 in Almaty
95 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iris
Iris
#17 of 72 in Almaty
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kazzhol
Kazzhol
#7 of 72 in Almaty
308 reviews
3.4 mi away
Almaty-Sapar
Almaty-Sapar
#32 of 72 in Almaty
32 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Almaty
Ramada Almaty
#5 of 72 in Almaty
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkana

Property: Berkana
Address: Aiteke Bi St., 83, Almaty 050000, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Almaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkana 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel Berkana is located in the city center close to such landmarks as: Train Station Almaty - 2, Trade House "Zangar" -TSUM, " Children's World "- Detski Mir store", Technodom " shopping center «Silk Way City», 24/7 Gastronom "Jubilee", The Central Post Office, Park Gorky of Culture and Leisure. Park of 28 Gvardeitsev . In the same building as the hotel there is a medical center «INTERTEACH». The Hotel Berkana has 13 comfortable rooms. They are equipped with : air-conditioning ( winter-summer ) refrigerator with mini bar, shower cabin or bath tab, a TV with cable TV Alma-TV, local and long-distance telephone lines, with the ability to connect a personal computer and Internet access (Wi-Fi), single payment for the access code to the Wi-Fi - 500 KZT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Berkana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing